LibGuides: Rady Career Center Support: Library Resources: Home

We are here to help!

24/7 Chat Email us Schedule a Research Consultation Request Library Instruction

Other Useful Guides

Market Research Resources @ UCSD
Economics Resources Guide
Finding Data Guide This guide has links to the broadest range of data resources you have access to.
Career Choice & Change
Learning Excel Guide Although this guide originally was for undergraduates, it contains links to materials of interest to a range of readers who range from beginner through advanced level with Excel.
Project Management Resources Guide
Searching Patents
Business Ethics & CSR

New Resources

Mergent Market Atlas has arrived. This platform replaces Mergent Online, but it will provide the same information and then some. Mergent Market Atlas still provides easy access to current and historical company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. There are added ESG and economic data contents. It is especially useful for company, industry, index, SEC filings, and other reports.

It's here: A new interface for all EBSCO databases, and a special Business Searching Interface upgrade for Business Source Complete. The new interface for BSC is fresh-looking and arranged better for efficient searching and finding most-requested magazines and journals. There is also an upgrade for Regional Business News.

Business Journals (Bizjournals.com)

Would you like to read the business news from Silicon Valley, San Francisco or Seattle? What about Boston, Pittsburgh or Atlanta? We now have access to the 44 U.S. geographies published by the American City Business Journals. They come with their associated Book of Lists, rankings of top organizations across many business categories for their respective cities. Regional business news is especially useful for job hunters, those doing market research on companies and studying economic development. Co-funded by the Library and the Rady School of Management. Featured contents:

Career and Workplace, a feed of selected articles and profiles featured in the regional publications that help you get, keep and grow on the job
News Feeds by Industry for articles selected from across the U.S.

Note: The San Diego Business Journal is sourced from a different publisher and online vendor, as is a few of the other Southern California titles. See this dedicated link for SoCal business news feeds and Books of Lists.

Accessing Electronic Resources?

You can access thousands of e-journals, e-books, databases, and more through UC San Diego Library.

For on-campus access, make sure that you are connected to the UCSD-Protected wifi.

To access library resources from off-campus:

Option 1: Connect through UC Library Search

Option 2: Sign in at a Publisher or Resource Site

Look for 'Sign in Through My Institution' or 'Access via OpenAthens'.
Select 'University of California San Diego' and choose OpenAthens Federation if prompted.

Option 3: Connect through Campus VPN

Download and open the VPN AnyConnect
Select "2- Step-Secured - all thru UCSD" when prompted for connection type
Approve your sign-in through Duo

For help with troubleshooting, visit our Connect to Library Resources page.

Frequently Used Resources

Vault
This resource offers company profiles, rankings, and industry and profession profiles. Find career advice using the career guides, résumé templates, and sample cover letters. Search for jobs and internships, and find graduate programs
Factiva
Provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Nexis Uni
Contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, news wires, television news transcripts, newsletters, magazines, and trade journals. Business sources include company information, industry news, and biographical information. Legal sources include law reviews, legal reference works, and federal and state caselaw (court decisions), statutes, and regulations. Also includes select international court opinions and municipal ordinances. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources.

WSJ.com
The Wall Street Journal now available from their website for all UCSD students and employees with single sign-on authentication.

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) (1984-present)
Includes coverage of WSJ Eastern Edition, 1984-present; WSJ Online, 2010-present; and WSJ: The Magazine, 2011-present. This PQ version has a powerful and precise search engine for finding specific items or topics.
Los Angeles Times (1881-present)
Combined full-run search of the Los Angeles Times, both historical and current.
New York Times (1851-present)
Custom combined full-runs search of three ProQuest versions of New York Times.

Financial Times (Newsbank)
Popular source of global business news, commentary and analysis on business, finance, and related topics for executives, students and researchers. Stay up-to-date on the world's economic changes. We have several options for you: Most Popular is FT.com access via FT.com (latest coverage, one-time sign up); Financial Times via Newsbank, (1982-current minus latest 30 days; power searching features, text only) or Financial Times via Gale Business Insights (1999-current - 30 days; power search, downloadable audio format for each article; also offers a link to browse by daily issue). For deep historical content use Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2020).
The Economist
Offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology.

U.S. Major Dailies
Provides access to current content and significant archives dating back to the 1980s for the nation’s most respected national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal, in full-text format.
Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more

Chronicle of Higher Education
CHE is the trade journal for all aspects of higher ed, and a rich site for people working in or considering a job in this field. The main site publishes a weekly update for news, and their daily newsletters, like Academe Today, are great for keeping current (register using your @ucsd email). Their Jobs site is the leading notice board for U.S.-based faculty positions, administrative and other non-instructional jobs. The Data/Almanac section contains details on pay, employment and individual institutional demographics that helps job seekers with relocation and salary negotiation. There are two sections with career advancement and skills development content – career resources and free guides & reports.

Research Help

Adele Barsh

Email Me

Contact:

Business & Entrepreneurship Librarian

UC San Diego Library

University of California, San Diego

9500 Gilman Dr. 0175R

La Jolla, CA 92093-0175

Subjects: Business

E-books

Selected subjects for easy browsing:

TIPS: Don't see your favorite topic listed above? You can search your own topics and titles by using UC Library Search. For best results, sign in to UC Library Search using SSO and your @ucsd.edu email address. To limit to the most recent ebooks, choose the radio button that says "UC San Diego Library Catalog" for your search, then filter the results to online only. Changing the results order from "relevance" to "date: newest first" will show the most recent additions to the ebook collection.

Featured items from among these searches:

Vault Guide to Behavioral Interviews: a step-by-step guide to preparing for and acing behavioral interview questions
Call Number: Vault e-book

ISBN: 9781438198590

Publication Date: 2020

This publication contains essential tips for preparing for and acing behavioral interview questions. These questions (which often begin with the phrase 'Tell me about a time when...') are now used by organizations in nearly every industry. This means that, no matter your desired role or company, you'll need to know how to deliver excellent answers to these questions in order to get hired.
The Handbook of Communication Skills, 4th ed. by Owen Hargie (Editor)
ISBN: 9781315436135

Publication Date: 2019

The Handbook of Communication Skills is recognized as one of the core texts in the field of communication, offering a state-of-the-art overview of this rapidly evolving field of study. It covers topics such as non-verbal behavior, listening, negotiation and persuasion, and situates communication in a range of different contexts, from interacting in groups to the counselling interview.
Disrupt Yourself: master relentless change and speed up your learning curve by Whitney Johnson
Call Number: HBR Press e-book

ISBN: 9781633698789

Publication Date: 2020

Disrupt Yourself helps high-growth individuals--and those trying to attain this status--learn the tools and frameworks necessary to make changes that matter. We are living in an era of accelerating disruption, and no one is immune. Johnson makes the compelling case that managing the S-curve waves of learning and mastery is a requisite skill for the future. If you want to be successful in unexpected ways and achieve your wildest goals, follow your own disruptive path. Dare to innovate. Do something astonishing. Disrupt yourself.
English for Academic CVs, Resumes, and Online Profiles by Adrian Wallwork
Call Number: Springer ebook

ISBN: 3030110893

Publication Date: 2019

Are you a graduate, postgraduate or PhD student? Building a CV or profile can be difficult for anyone, but especially for those whose first language is not English. This book is essential for those looking to promote themselves in the academic community. It is structured as a series of FAQs, and its contents are based on interviews with recruiters and an analysis of hundreds of CVs from around 40 different countries.