Industry associations frequently are useful sources of news about market size and trends within an industry. The easiest way to identify potential publications from these sources is through using ProQuest Statistical Insight. Search by topic or association name (if known).
Industry reports highlights from OECD iLibrary and ProQuest Statistical Insight. and other sources (IEEE, Nature), which frequently have specialized reports.
World Energy Outlook by
The World Energy Outlook series is a leading source of strategic insight on the future of energy and energy-related emissions, providing detailed scenarios that map out the consequences of different energy policy and investment choices.
This year's edition updates the outlooks for all fuels, technologies and regions, based on the latest market data, policy initiatives and cost trends.
These resources cover background on industries or companies from a risk analysis perspective.
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, economic and industrial statistics, and political news with a focus on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.
Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. Workspace is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
NOTE: When you register for Refinitiv Workspace to do market research and company research, here are the licenses to ask for: Workspace for Students; AMR add-on for Students. (AMR="advanced market research" package).
Country reports, risk ratings, industry analysis, daily alerts, and data. **First time users should follow the Create a New Account link, and use your @ucsd.edu email to register. An activation code will be sent to your @ucsd.edu email in order for you to complete the registration. Once your account is activated, login happens via UCSD’s Single Sign On.
BMI provides proprietary data, analyst reports, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Login path: choose SSO > Organization ID = UCSD. BMI includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts.
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports. **This resource will be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas in June 2025.
Includes reports, news sources, and other in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, global economies and industries, and trends.
An easy to use mapping, analytics, and data visualization app with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census, and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), 2020 Election Data, and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory providing access to over 5 million US business profiles. The included MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset contains data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories, the MOSAIC segmentation system, and detailed lifestyle information. Community Lifestages presents data based on Householder Age, Income and Household Family Status. Users also have access to the CDC PLACES health dataset which includes 27 diverse health measures, such as Health Outcomes, Prevention, Risk Behaviors, and Health Status. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) and Simmons LOCAL data packages. Data is downloadable in GIS-ready shapefiles. Users may log in as a Guest, or create an account to save their work. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. (formerly known as SimplyMap).
Commercializing successful biomedical technologies: basic principles for the development of drugs, diagnostics, and devices, 2nd ed. by Try these subject searches in UC Library Search:
The Economics of Big Science: Essays by Leading Scientists and Policymakers by 
