Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Search Tools for Archival Material
Includes nearly a million collection descriptions provided by thousands of libraries, museums, and archives from around the world.
Archive Finder This link opens in a new window
Current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 archival collections across the US. Includes Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the US (DAMRUS) and National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC).
Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States
1995 Print Version available in :
US Docs, Geisel Floor2 West AE 1.108:G 94 (3 vol.)
The index to this guide is very helpful in identifying relevant collections in microfilm and other formats which can be used at the Archives themselves, or, in many cases, at other libraries. UCSD holds some of these and many others can borrowed through inter-library loan. Such holdings include copies of many collections from foreign archives.
Online Archive of California (OAC)
Provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections at 150 institutions throughout California, including all ten UC campuses.
American Historical Association's Archive Wiki
Information on some South Asian archives can be found here -- if your country of interest is not listed -- join the wiki team!