LibGuides: South Asian Studies: Statistics/Data Sets

Data Sets/Public Opinion Polls

Business Monitor International (BMI) is a leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 22 industry sectors. Includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts.

Cross National Time-Series (CNTS)

The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive was launched by Arthur S. Banks in the fall of 1968 at the State University of New York at Binghamton. The archive was, in part, the outcome of an effort initiated some years earlier to assemble, in machine readable, longitudinal format, certain of the aggregate data resources of The Statesman's Yearbook, published since 1864. The archive has almost 200 variables and contains data for over 200 country units, with provision for entries from 1815 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945)

Data Citation Index

Indexes research data, including data studies and data sets, and links them to the scientific literature to track data citation. Part of Web of Science.

IPUMS International Integrated Public Use Microdata Samples

world's largest archive of publicly available census samples. Data coded across countries and over time. Data is available free of charge. Includes most Latin American countries.

Economist Intelligence Unit

Country reports incorporate economic data on currency exchange, industry, and trade; calculate investment risk; and provide information political forecasts and analyses. To access relevant information, hover over "The EIU" tab and select EIU Content to explore by a particular country or industry or Special Reports to look for a report on a given topic.

Statistical Resources

CEIC Data
CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. The Global Database covers India macroeconomic and industry statistics. The High Frequency Data section also include Health data (Covid-19 and other outbreak statistics), and an Alternative Data section that includes economic activity and business statistics, labor, supply chain, consumption, mobility trends and social sentiment and behavior.Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused.
Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet)
Provides easy access to statistical data. Data is downloadable in Excel and CSV, and shapefiles when multiple geographies are covered. Sources include: Bombay Stock Exchange, British Bankers' Association, Chicago Board Options, Exchange, China Data Center, D&B (Dun & Bradstreet), Dave Leip's Atlas of US Presidential Elections, Defense Manpower Data Center, Deutsche Börse Group, Dow Jones, Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI), Eurostat, FTSE Group, HSI Services Limited (Hong Kong), International Monetary Fund, London Bullion Market Association , London Platinum & Palladium Market, NASDAQ OMX Group, National Bureau of Economic Research, Nikkei, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Shanghai Stock Exchange, Standard & Poor's, World Bank, World Resource Institute, Xignite, and many US Federal agencies. See the Data-Planet Libguides for more detail. If you are having trouble connecting, check the status page to see if Sage Data is down.
Indiastat.com
Comprehensive portal to economic, social, political, and related statistics about India. Over half-a-million pages of statistical data are presented in a user-friendly Web format. Our subscription permits two (2) concurrent user connections. Try again later if refused.

International Organizations and Statistics
Links to statistics from international organizations and other bodies. Not all sites are free. Maintained at UC Berkeley.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Excellent online book resource that includes essays and statistical tables on many topics. Useful for any topic on South Asia affecting the United States.
International Historical Statistics
Ebook bringing together historical statistics from many non-US countries
International Montetary Fund eLibrary Data
Collection of IMF databases, including the flagship International Financial Statistics (IFS) database with exchange rates, balance of payments, money supply, total imports and exports, and GDP, as well as Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), Government Finance Statistics (GFS), and new foreign investment and financial soundness indicators.
The MacroDataGuide
The MacroDataGuide is a tool that has been especially developed by the Norwegian Social Science Data Services to save researchers and students time and energy in their search for high quality social science macro data. While the main distinction is most often drawn between micro and macro data, the term 'meso data' is also sometimes used. Meso data generally refers to data on collective and cooperative actors such as commercial companies, organizations or political parties.
Military Balance
Annual publication with detailed statistical information about the world's militaries including budget, enlisted personnel, and firepower.
UN Data
Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
World Development Indicators (WDI)
The primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources is now augmented with external debt and financial flows statistics. This new merged WDI/GDF product contains over 1200 series dating as far back as 1960.

Print Sets of Statistical Abstracts for South Asia

Statistical Abstract, India by Delhi: Manager of Publications, 1969-
Call Number: Offsite (SRLF) and Geisel Floor 6 for recent volumes: HA1713.A732
Statistical Yearbook of India by Goveernment of India, Ministry of Statistics & Programme Implementation
Call Number: Geisel Floor 2 W: Ref HA1713.A732
East India (Statistical Abstract), Statistical Abstract for British India with Statistics by London: HMSO, 1924-
Open Access via Hathi Trust