Skip to main content
Dictionaries & Handbooks
These resources are great for quick look-ups of concepts and definitions.
Statistical Applications for the Behavioral Sciences, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: Wiley e-book
Publication Date: 2019
An updated edition of a classic text on applying statistical analyses to the social sciences, with reviews, new chapters, an expanded set of post-hoc analyses, and information on computing in Excel and SPSS Designed to be accessible, the text contains an applications-oriented, step-by-step presentation of the statistical theories and formulas most often used by the social sciences.
Data Envelopment Analysis and Effective Performance Assessment by
Call Number: IGI e-book
Publication Date: 2017
DEA is a popular, effective method that can be used to measure productive efficiency in operations management assessment. Emphasizing the importance of analyzing productivity by measuring inputs, goals, economic growth, and performance, this book covers a wide breadth of DEA innovative knowledge.
Oxford Reference Online
Search these dictionaries for quick definitions to terms in economics, statistics, business and more. Some of the most useful titles include:
Springer's Concise Encyclopedia of Statistics
This resource covers important terminology in statistics and includes definitions, history, mathematical details, examples and where to go for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Database Systems, 2nd ed. by This multi-volume reference work serves as a gateway to information on all aspects of very large databases.
Call Number: Springer e-book
Publication Date: 2017
Practical Statistics for Data Scientists by This practical guide explains how to apply various statistical methods to data science, tells you how to avoid their misuse, and gives you advice on what's important and what's not.... If you're familiar with the R programming language, and have some exposure to statistics, this quick reference bridges the gap in an accessible, readable format.
Call Number: Safari ebook
Publication Date: 2017
Introduction to the Mathematics of Finance by The modern subject of mathematical finance has undergone considerable development, both in theory and practice, since the seminal work of Black and Scholes appeared a third of a century ago. This book is intended as an introduction to some elements of the theory that will enable students and researchers to go on to read more advanced texts and research papers.
Geisel also has the print edition. UC San Diego author.
Call Number: AMS e-book
Publication Date: 2006
The Oxford Handbook of Panel Data by This handbook examines new developments in the theory and applications of panel data. It includes basic topics like non-stationary panels, co-integration in panels, multifactor panel models, panel unit roots, measurement error in panels, incidental parameters and dynamicpanels, spatial panels, nonparametric panel data, random coefficients, treatment effects, sample selection, count panel data, limited dependent variable panel models, unbalanced panel models with interactive effects and influential observations in panel data.
Call Number: Oxford ebooks
Publication Date: 2015
Find topics and/or reviews of research
Items here provide theoretical background, point to models, and provide definitions.
Elsevier Handbooks of Economics & Finance
These handbooks contain thorough background on the research and theory of a multitude of economics topics written and edited by experts in the field.
Elsevier Handbooks in Mathematics
Our Elsevier/ScienceDirect ebook collection includes handbooks with background in mathematics and statistical methods.
Wiley Online Library - Books on Finance, Investments and Statistical Methods
This publisher offers reference titles and other books. California Digital Library has licensed most of the Wiley Interscience books for 2011, and UCSD Libraries purchased selected individual volumes from prior years, including major reference works. Suggest a purchase if a desired title doesn't display the unlocked icon via http://bit.ly/i8bPfU.
CRC Press produces reference & regular books in the sciences. This subset points to the online statistics resources in business, finance, operations research and economics, including Introduction to Spatial Econometrics, Linear Model Methodology and Diagnostic Checks in Time Series. Example:
AR provides scholarly review articles that may serve as starting points for research, or to keep up with research trends in a field. Each article attempts to convey the research output of a discipline or topic, and reports the nature of the research, in terms of its empirical findings, theoretical development, methodology or historical development.
What if you find a reference in the bibliography of one of these background sources, and want to find out where it is in our collections in order to read the original?
Use the UC-eLinks Citation Linker!