Skip to main content
Reference works are a good place to begin your research, as they generally provide background information and often cite longer, more authoritative research works on the topic.
Tip: keep an eye out for important words and phrases to try in your keyword searches.
The Oxford Handbook of International Human Rights Law by
Publication Date: 2013-12-17
The Oxford Handbook of International Human Rights Law provides a comprehensive and original overview of one of the fundamental topics within international law. It contains substantial new essays by over forty leading experts in the field, giving students, scholars, and practitioners a completeoverview of the issues that inform research and a "map" of the debates that animate the field. Each chapter features critical and up-to-date analysis of the current state of debate and discussion, assessing recent work, and advancing the understanding of all aspects of this developing area ofinternational law.Addressing all aspects of international human rights law, the Handbook consists of over forty chapters, divided into seven parts. The first two sections explore the foundational theories and the historical antecedents of human rights law from a diverse set of disciplines, including thephilosophical, religious, biological, and psychological origins of moral development and altruism, and sociological findings about cooperation and conflict. They also trace the historical sources of human rights through comparative and international law by conducting a case study of the anti-slaverymovement. Section III focuses on the law-making process and certain categories of rights. Sections IV and V examine the normative and institutional evolution of human rights, and discuss its impact on various doctrines of general international law. The final two sections are more speculative,examining whether there is an advantage to considering major social problems from a human rights perspective and, if so, how that might be done. Section VI analyses several current problems that are being addressed by governments both domestically and through international organizations, and issuesthat have been placed on the human rights agenda of the United Nations, such as state responsibility for human rights violations and economic sanctions to enforce human rights. The final section then evaluates the impact of international human rights law over the past six decades from a variety ofperspectives.The Handbook will be an invaluable resource for scholars, students, and practitioners of international human rights law. It provides the reader with new perspectives on international human rights law that are both multidisciplinary and geographically and culturally diverse. It should become the newstandard reference work in this area.
Research Methods in Human Rights by
Publication Date: 2017-05-26
Methodological discussion has largely been neglected in human rights research, with legal scholars in particular tending to address research methods and methodological reflection implicitly rather than explicitly. This book advances thinking on human rights methodology, offering instruction and guidance on the methodological approaches to human rights research.Seeking to bridge the methodological deficit often compounded by the interdisciplinary nature of human rights research, contributions by leading scholars in a range of evolving fields, provide an up-to-date assessment of human rights methods. The various chapters apply these methods to different substantive areas including discrimination, the right to food, the right to water, public health and gender. This book gives a comprehensive treatment of disciplinary approaches, discusses methodological options and provides advice on how best to conduct human rights research in the crossroads of different academic disciplines.Accessible and engaging, this book will be of keen interest to students and scholars working in human rights research, both those approaching it from a legal standpoint and those of other social science disciplines. Both practical and timely, the book will also lend itself to human rights practitioners and policy-makers.
The Palgrave Handbook of Bondage and Human Rights in Africa and Asia by
Publication Date: 2020-01-15
In the West, human bondage remains synonymous with the Atlantic slave trade. But large slave systems in Africa and Asia predated, co-existed, and overlapped with the Atlantic system--and have persisted in modified forms well into the twenty-first century, posing major threats to political and economic stability within those regions and worldwide. This handbook examines the deep historical roots of unfree labour in Africa and Asia along with its contemporary manifestations. It takes an innovative longue durée perspective in order to link the local and global, the past and present. Contributors trace shifting forms of forced labour in the region since circa 1800, connecting punctual shocks such as environmental crisis, conflict, market instability, and crop failure to human security threats such as impoverishment, violence, migration, kidnapping, and enslavement. Together, these chapters illuminate the historical and contemporary dimensions of bondage in Africa and Asia, with important implications for the fight against modern-day bondage and human trafficking.
Routledge Handbook of Disability Law and Human Rights by
Publication Date: 2016-07-07
This handbook provides a comprehensive and authoritative state-of-the-art review of the current and emerging research and policy on disability law. Bringing together a team of respected and experienced experts, the handbook offers a range of jurisdictional and multidisciplinary perspectives. The authors consider historical and contemporary, as well as comparative perspectives of disability law. Divided into three parts, the contributors provide a comprehensive reference to the theoretical underpinnings, ongoing debates and emerging fields within the subject. The study provides a strong basis for consideration of contemporary disability law, its research foundations, and progressive developments in the area. The book incorporates interdisciplinary and comparative country perspectives to capture the breadth of current discourse on disability law. This handbook provides a valuable resource for a wide range of scholars, public and private researchers, NGOs, and practitioners working in the area of disability law, and across national and transnational disability schemes. The work will be of important interest to those in the fields of sociology, history, psychology, economics, political science, rehabilitation sciences, medicine, technology, and law, among others.
Atlas of Human Rights by
Call Number: Maps, Atlases, Geisel Floor2 West JC571 .F23 2010
Publication Date: 2010-08-02
In the post-9/11 world, governments are using the threat of terrorism to justify tightening national security and restricting basic human rights. This timely book addresses the implications of this trend, revealing human rights inequities from nation to nation and the consequences of these inequities worldwide. Inspired by the United Nations' Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Andrew Fagan considers the nature of the state, national identity, and citizenship. His comprehensive and succinct text explores judicial violations and legal restrictions that permit state-sponsored torture, indefinite detention, capital punishment, and police brutality. Vividly illustrated with colorful maps and charts, The Atlas of Human Rights charts both the progress and limitation of free expression and media censorship. It displays the areas that are beset with wars, conflict, migration, and genocide; details the geographic status of sexual freedom, racism, religious freedom, and the rights of the disabled; focuses on women's rights, sex slavery, and the rights of the child. As intolerance threatens diversity on a global scale, The Atlas of Human Rights serves as a crucial intervention to preserving and extending freedom.
Dictionary of International Human Rights by
Publication Date: 2013-07-01
'Constance de la Vega's Dictionary of International Human Rights Law is a marvellous new human rights resource. It provides concise definitions and explanations of key human rights phrases, including specific recognised and emerging rights, relevant concepts, institutions and instruments. Human rights law has not grown in a vacuum, so some related concepts, such as from international criminal law and the law of armed conflict, are wisely included. This book will be an important addition to the libraries of human rights scholars, practitioners and advocates throughout the world.'- Sarah Joseph, Monash University, Australia
Encyclopedia of Human Rights in the United States by
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West KF4747.5 .C37 2011
Publication Date: 2010-12-15
This two-volume set offers easy to grasp explanations of the basic concepts and laws in the field, with emphasis on human rights in the historical, political, and legal experience of the United States. This indispensable resource surveys the legal protection of human dignity in the United States, examines the sources of human rights norms, cites key legal cases, explains the role of international governmental and non-governmental organizations, and charts global, regional, and UN human rights measures. Features include: New second edition offers up-to-date data on Guantanamo Detention Centre, immigrant rights, the Torture Bill and many more current event topics; Comprehensive Introduction places the history of human rights in the United States in an international context; Details over 300 human rights terms, ranging from asylum and cultural relativism to hate crimes and torture, with a discussion of the significance of the term, examples, and citations of appropriate documents and court decisions; Provides expanded coverage of over 60 Primary Documents, including conventions, treaties, and protocols related to the most up-to-date international action on ethnic cleansing, freedom of expression and religion, violence against women, and much more; New Historical Timeline; Nine Appendices, with additional sources of information; a comprehensive Bibliography, to expand research on this interesting topic; and Comprehensive Index. This comprehensive, timely volume is a must for large public libraries, university libraries and social science departments, along with high school libraries.
Human Rights in the United States by
Publication Date: 2000-10-28
This two volume set offers easy to grasp explanations of the basic concepts, laws, and case law in the field, with emphasis on human rights in the historical, political, and legal experience of the United States. * Offers 240 dictionary entries of human rights terms--ranging from asylum and cultural relativism to hate crimes and torture. Each entry discusses the significance of the term, gives examples, and cites appropriate documents and court decisions * Provides a documents section containing 59 conventions, treaties, and protocols related to the most up to date international action on ethnic cleansing; freedom of expression and religion; violence against women; and much more * Includes a bibliography * A comprehensive introduction provides an overview of the coverage
Handbook of Human Rights by
Call Number: Geisel Floor6 JC571 .H34755 2012
Publication Date: 2011-10-12
In mapping out the field of human rights for those studying and researching within both humanities and social science disciplines, the Handbook of Human Rights not only provides a solid foundation for the reader who wants to learn the basic parameters of the field, but also promotes new thinking and frameworks for the study of human rights in the twenty-first century. The Handbook comprises over sixty individual contributions from key figures around the world, which are grouped according to eight key areas of discussion: foundations and critiques; new frameworks for understanding human rights; world religious traditions and human rights; social, economic, group, and collective rights; critical perspectives on human rights organizations, institutions, and practices; law and human rights; narrative and aesthetic dimension of rights; geographies of rights. In its presentation and analysis of the traditional core history and topics, critical perspectives, human rights culture, and current practice, this Handbook proves a valuable resource for all students and researchers with an interest in human rights.
Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations by
Call Number: Geisel Floor6 JC571 .G655 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-16
While the idea of human rights and humanitarian assistance has ancient roots--evidence can be seen in such examples as the Ten Commandments, the Bhagavad Gita, and the teachings of Confucius and Socrates--it wasn't until the 1800s that the first modern humanitarian and human rights organizations came to be. The 19th century saw the beginning of the abolitionist movement, the forming of a variety of women's suffrage organizations, the formation and consolidation of national labor unions, and the founding of the Red Cross. This was followed by the inextricably intertwined story of war, persecution, violence, and the growth of human rights and humanitarian organizations in the 20th century. Bearing witness to some of the most horrific and blatant violations of human dignity, the 20th century also beheld the first sustained global efforts to promote human rights at the international level. The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations thoroughly revises the first edition, following major new developments in the arena of human rights since its publication, including the emergence of terrorism and international responses to it; the establishment of an international criminal court; the evolution of regional human rights bodies in Africa, Europe, and Latin America; and the proliferation of new non-governmental organizations and foundations dedicated to the promotion of human rights. This is accomplished through a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, photographs, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries covering many of the key treaties, agreements, and definitions of human rights concepts; important humanitarian organizations, whether private, governmental, national, or international; and significant persons and events. This realistic assessment of the advances in protection of human rights and the major difficulties still facing them is an excellent tool for students, practitioners, and libraries.
Research Handbook on Human Rights and Humanitarian Law by
Call Number: Geisel Floor6 K3240 .R47 2014
Publication Date: 2013-01-30
'This volume by Robert Kolb and Gloria Gaggioli, contributed by some of the most renowned experts in the field, devotes an impressive amount of legal analysis to the most diverse aspects of the interplay between international humanitarian law and international human rights law in situations of violence, in theory and practice. It is bound to become an indispensable tool for scholars and practitioners alike.'- Marco Pedrazzi, University of Milan, Italy