Skip to main content
Fall 2020 Librarian Support
For Research Consultations, Reference Assistance, and Ebook Purchase Recommendations for Summer 2020.
Off-Campus Access to Journals, Ebooks, and Databases: Use AnyConnect VPN. When logging in, select the 2 Step Secured - althruucsd option (click to see an example). Duo two-step login also required.
- I can also help with VPN/remote access troubleshooting.
- On campus? Use the UCSD-Protected wifi network.
LOOKING FOR JOURNAL ARTICLES? START HERE.
SciFinder Regstration: read the setup instructions, and click SciFinder Registration. SciFinder requires a one-time registration, and you'll need to create a username and password when you login to use it.
For examples of searching in Web of Science and SciFinder, refer to Find Articles (Examples).
Web of Science
Indexes 18,000+ journals and 180,000 conference proceedings, heavily in the sciences and engineering. Easy interface for building and/or searches to include alternative keywords. Article records include cited and citing references, with related articles identified based on common citations. Good place to being your search.
Comprehensive index to the chemical literature. Use the Research Topic search to find articles related to your lab experiments.
Indexes journals and conference proceedings in engineering and physics (including physical chemistry).
A better alternative to searching Google because it searches the scholarly literature rather than "everything." Very limited tools for refining searches, but you can go into the advanced search to limit a word or phrase be found in the title only. Indexes at the full text article level so it may identify articles not found in other databases.
ACS Style Guide
The ACS Style Guide, 3rd edition
Covers all aspects of writing papers in ACS style, from grammar to nomenclature. For formatting citations, consult Chapter 14.
How do I get the article?
In most of our databases, you'll see this button next to each reference. Clicking this button may open up the article automatically, or you will see options to get the article:
- Online, if available
- Request from another library
For SciFinder, just use "Find Full Text."