Skip to main content
Wireless & Off-Campus Access
Off-campus and on-campus/wifi access to most of the databases, ebooks, and journals licensed by the Library is restricted to UC San Diego students, faculty and staff.
VPN AnyConnect Client - Off-Campus Access
Follow the download and installation instructions for your operating system. IMPORTANT: when connecting, make sure to select 2 Step Secured - althruucsd for the group setting. Duo Two-Step Login required.
UCSD-PROTECTED Wireless Network
Use the UCSD-PROTECTED wifi network to access UCSD-licensed resources on your laptop, tablet, or smartphone anywhere on campus.
How do I get the article?
In most of our databases, you'll see this button next to each reference. Clicking this button may open up the article automatically, or you will see options to get the article:
- Online, if available
- Request from another library
For SciFinder, just use "Find Full Text."
LOOKING FOR JOURNAL ARTICLES? START HERE.
SciFinder Regstration: read the setup instructions, and click SciFinder Registration. SciFinder requires a one-time registration, and you'll need to create a username and password when you login to use it.
For examples of searching in Web of Science and SciFinder, refer to Find Articles (Examples).
Web of Science
Often the best place to start your search for journal articles for science and engineering. Indexes 12,000+ journals in all subjects, with heavy emphasis in the sciences. For each record, you can view what the authors cited, who has since cited the article, and look for related articles based on common citations.
Comprehensive index to the chemical literature. Use the Research Topic search to find articles related to your lab experiments.
Indexes journals and conference proceedings in engineering and physics (including physical chemistry).
A better alternative to searching Google because it searches the scholarly literature rather than "everything." Very limited tools for refining searches, but you can go into the advanced search to limit a word or phrase be found in the title only. Indexes at the full text article level so it may identify articles not found in other databases.
ACS Style Guide
The ACS Style Guide, 3rd edition
Covers all aspects of writing papers in ACS style, from grammar to nomenclature. For formatting citations, consult Chapter 14.