Religion: Encyclopedias+

Online version of encyclopedic work (published 1643-1940) on the lives of Christian saints. Key resource for the history of Christianity and the Latin Middle Ages.

Seven volume series includes the titles: Early Jewish Writings, Faith and Feminism in Nineteenth-Century Religious Communities, Feminist Biblical Studies in the Twentieth Century: Scholarship and Movement, Gospels: Narrative and History, The High Middle Ages, Torah, and The Writings and Later Wisdom Books

Print book only, in Geisel Library (5th Floor, BX880 .B53 2007).

Print book only, in Geisel Library (Geisel 5th Floor, BX106.23 .B53 2007).

Print book only, in Geisel Library (5th Floor, BX4811.3 .B57 2004).

Online version of 1907-1912 encyclopedia with extensive articles on worldwide history of Catholic church, doctrines, biographical entries, maps, and more.

3rd edition, 2013. Longer versions and additional entries are available in Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church (below).

Print book only, in Geisel Library Reference Collection (2nd Floor West, BR95 .E8913 1999).

The 20th and 21st Centuries have been characterized by theologians and philosophers rethinking theology and revitalizing the tradition. This unique anthology presents contributions from leading contemporary theologians who offer portraits of over fifty key theological thinkers in the modern and postmodern era.

15 volume print encyclopedia, in Geisel Library (Reference, 2nd Floor West, BX841 .N44 2003).

Concise accounts of every officially recognized pope in history, from St Peter to Pope Benedict XVI, as well as all of their irregularly elected rivals, the so-called antipopes. Each pope and antipope's entry covers his family and social background and pre-papal career as well as his activities in office.

Covers the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.

Print set only, 21 volumes, in Geisel Library Reference Collection (BF 1407 .M34 1995).

This book is a reference for understanding world religious societies in their contemporary global diversity. The contributors are leading scholars of world religions, many of whom are also members of the communities they study. Comprising sixty articles, the book focuses on communities rather than beliefs, symbols, or rites. It is organized into six sections corresponding to the major living religious traditions: the Indic cultural region, the Buddhist/Confucian, the Jewish, Christian, and Muslim regions, and the African cultural region.

Cross-search fulltext of 40 encyclopedias and dictionaries for religion.

In 1,800 pages across 3 volumes, Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.

Print book also available, in Geisel Library (2nd floor west, atlas area, G1046.E4 O2 2007).

Print book also available, in Geisel Library (5th floor, BT83.597 .B53 2001).

Print book, in Geisel Library (5th floor, BJ1188 .B57 2005 ).

Print book, in Geisel Library (5th floor, BL48 .B53 2006).

Print book also available, in Geisel Library (5th floor, BL51 .C634 2010).

Print book only, in Geisel Library (Reference High Use Shelves, 2nd floor West, BX2320.5.E85 E53 2010).

Over 3,000 articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. It explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history.

The Oxford Handbook series are not precisely reference books, but are collections of approximately two dozen articles by specialists surveying the current trends and literature on specific aspects of the book's topic.

This book is a reference for understanding world religious societies in their contemporary global diversity. The contributors are leading scholars of world religions, many of whom are also members of the communities they study. Comprising sixty articles, the book focuses on communities rather than beliefs, symbols, or rites. It is organized into six sections corresponding to the major living religious traditions: the Indic cultural region, the Buddhist/Confucian, the Jewish, Christian, and Muslim regions, and the African cultural region.