Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We have an extensive collection of books (print and ebooks) that cover chemical engineering and related disciplines.
UC Library Search, accessible from the search box on the library's homepage, helps you locate books, film, music, maps, and various other materials at the UC San Diego Library and beyond. It also contains a limited number of online journal and newspaper articles. You may search by keyword, title, and author, and filter your search to what is available online, or peer-reviewed articles. You can also place an interlibrary loan request through UC Library Search for materials at other UC campuses or libraries worldwide using your Single Sign-On credentials.
UC Library Search does not include all the content to which the Library subscribes. To extend your search for articles, use databases like Web of Science or SciFindern.
Looking for Dissertations?
Use UC Library Search to find dissertations and theses by UC San Diego and UC students. Limit results by selecting Dissertations from the Resource Type facet. Most UC dissertations from 1996 to date are freely available in the UC eScholarship repository.
Use Dissertations and Theses to find dissertations from other universities. If the dissertations is available full text, go ahead and download it.
- If it's not, you might want to Google it first since many universities have made their theses and dissertations freely available.
- If you can't find the full text, use the button in the Dissertations and Theses record to request a copy through interlibrary loan.
Key Ebook Collections at UCSD
Key UCSD ebook collections with chemical engineering titles. You can search for titles in Roger or search title/full-text at the publisher websites. Searching within the ebook collections means you can search the full text of the books.
Database of McGraw-Hill engineering handbooks, textbooks, and videos, plus interactive graphs, downloadable tables, and a data visualization tool for properties of materials. Includes Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, Heat and Mass Transfer for Chemical Engineers, Handbook of Chemical Engineering Calculations, and Chemical Process and Design Handbook, (Also called AccessEngineering)
Hundreds of texts, handbooks, encyclopedias and databases for chemistry and engineering, across multiple publishers (use AccessEngineering for McGraw-Hill). Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables. Excellent resource for chemical/physical property & engineering data; accessed through the Property Search option.
Science Direct / Elsevier
Extensive collection from Elsevier, Academic Press, Butterworth-Heinemann, and Woodhead for chemistry, chemical engineering, and related subjects. Includes core chemical engineering handbooks like Chemical Engineering Design, Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers and the recently updated volumes of Coulson and Richardson's Chemical Engineering. as well as the Advances in Chemical Engineering and Computer-Aided Chemical Engineering series. [2014 to present, with heavy selected coverage of earlier years]
Ebook collection with a number of chemical engineering books and conference proceedings. Includes Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology, Encyclopedia of Applied Electrochemistry, and Springer Series on Chemical Sensors and Biosensors. Some books can be purchased for individual use for $25. [2012 to present, with heavy selected coverage of earlier years and many series back to vol. 1]
Wiley Online Library
Ebook collection that includes a large number of STEM titles, including chemical engineering. [2011 to present, with selected coverage of earlier years]
O'Reilly for Higher Education
40,000+ computing and IT ebooks, videos, case studies, and interactive tutorials from O'Reilly and other publishers. Covers desktop/web applications, data science/management, engineering (including some Prentice-Hall chemical engineering titles), information technology/software development & architecture, math & science, and personal/professional development. ** To connect, select UCSD from the institutions, then login with your AD username/password. **
CRCnetBASE (now Taylor & Francis)
CRC Press' ebook collections for science and engineering. [Access varies depending on collection. Some collections, including chemistry and chemical engineering, weren't licensed until 2017. The core ENGnetBASE, which has some titles of interest to chemical engineering, goes back to the 1990s.]
Cambridge University Press
Growing collection of ebooks from Cambridge University Press. Includes chemistry, chemical engineering, and materials science. [2012 to present, with selected coverage of earlier years]
Royal Society of Chemistry
RSC ebooks collection of chemistry and related titles in chemical engineering and industrial chemistry, materials/polymers; nanoscience; biomolecular and biomedicine, environmental and food sciences; pharmacology, toxicology, and drug discovery. Includes the Specialist Periodical Reports and Tutorial Chemistry Texts. [1968 to present]
American Chemical Society Symposium Series
Peer-reviewed books developed from the technical symposia of the ACS national and regional meetings. Along with chemistry, covers nanoscience, chemical education, polymers, renewable materials, medicinal chemistry, food and agricultural chemistry, and environmental science. Includes the earlier Advances in Chemistry series. [1950 to present]