Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The ENCYLOPEDIAS contain authoritative articles (and some data) on topics in chemical engineering and related science and engineering disciplines. The chemical engineering HANDBOOKS are more practical in nature, containing data, calculations, information about design and processes, and other topics relevant to senior design projects. These are online unless otherwise noted.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Covers all aspects of chemistry and chemical engineering. Good complement to Ullmann's. Adds/updates articles quarterly.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Covers all aspects of chemistry and chemical engineering. Good complement to Kirk-Othmer. Adds/updates articles quarterly.
Comprehensive Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of every aspect of modern nanoscience and nanotechnology, including nanomaterials, nanochemistry and nanofabrication, biological nanoscience, spectroscopy and microscopy, and nanoscience applications. [2nd ed, 2019]
Comprehensive Energy Systems
Covers a spectrum of energy topics: fundamentals, materials, production, conversion, and management. 
Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology (13th ed)
Reference work on topics in industrial chemistry and biotechnology. Sections on: raw materials for chemical process industries, industrial organic chemistry, industrial inorganic chemistry, polymer chemistry, biochemistry, emerging fields, industrial processing and engineering, 
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology
Reference work covering topics on sustainability, with a focus on science and engineering rather than policy. 
Handbook of Solid State Chemistry
Articles on the chemistry of solids, nanoparticles, and hybrid materials. Covers: materials and structure of solids, synthesis, characterization, nano and hybrid materials, theoretical description, and functional materials. 
Encyclopedia of Applied Electrochemistry
Reference work covering all aspects of applied electrochemistry, including theoretical concepts, instrumentation, and new materials and technologies. 
Comprehensive Renewable Energy
Covers renewable energy resources (solar/photovoltaics, biomass/biofuels, fuel cells, etc.), focusing on history, science/technology, applications, and future potential. 
Polymer Science: A Comprehensive Reference
Fundamental concepts to new findings and applications of polymers, including characterization, polymerization, nanostructured polymer materials, and polymer applications. 
Covers biotechnology topics, including fundamentals, commodity products like biofuels, agricultural, biomedical, and environmental biotechnology. 
Handbook of Fuel Cells
Fuel cell fundamentals, principles, technology, materials, and applications. 
Handbook of Combustion
Reference work on energy-efficient gas, liquid, and solid combustion. Topics include new technologies, modelling of combustion processes, CO2 formation and capture, biomass and waste as fuels, and catalytic combustion. 
Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing
Articles on chemical processing: processing novel materials, emerging process technologies and resultant materials, and manufacturing organic and inorganic chemicals. 
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 9th Edition
One of the core reference handbooks for chemical engineers, with comprehensive details on chemical processes and data, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more. New features include coverage of bioreactions and bioprocessing, a practical presentation of thermodynamics fundamentals, and new and updated chemical property data.
Chemical Engineering Design: Principles, Practice and Economics of Plant and Process Design (3rd ed)
Covers applications of chemical engineering principles to the design of chemical processes and equipment. Provides providing the latest US codes and standards, including API, ASME and ISA design codes and ANSI standards, as well as coverage of the latest aspects of process design, operations, safety, loss prevention, equipment selection, and more. 
Chemical Engineering Design, SI Edition (6th ed)
Chemical engineering textbook, with coverage of the latest aspects of process design, operations, safety, loss prevention, equipment selection, and much more, including updates on plant and equipment costs, regulations and technical standards. Updated edition of Colson & Richardson's Chemical Engineering vol. 6. 
Bioprocess Engineering: Kinetics, Sustainability, and Reactor Design (3rd ed)
Comprehensive textbook on bioprocess kinetics, molecular transformation, bioprocess systems, sustainability and reaction engineering.
Chemical Process Design and Simulation: Aspen Plus and Aspen Hysys Applications
Information on the most important principles of chemical engineering design and includes illustrative examples of their application that uses simulation software. 
Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers (6th ed)
Solutions, common sense techniques, shortcuts, and calculations to help chemical and process engineers deal with practical on-the-job problems. 
Coulson & Richardson's Chemical Engineering
Practitioner-focused chemical engineering reference series, providing clear explanations of theory and thorough coverage of practical applications, supported by case studies. VOLUMES: 1A: Fluid Flow, Fundamentals and Applications, 7th ed 
--- 1B: Heat and Mass Transfer: Fundamentals and Applications, 7th ed 
--- 2A: Particulate Systems and Particle Technology, 6th ed 
--- 2B: Separation Process,
6th ed is not yet published. The 5th ed is available via Knovel.
--- 3A: Chemical and Biochemical Reactors and Reaction Engineering, 4th ed 
--- 3B: Process Control, 4th ed 
--- 6: Chemical Engineering Design, 6th ed 
Analysis, Synthesis and Design of Chemical Processes (5th ed)
Presents design as a creative process that integrates both the big picture and the small details–and knows which to stress when, and why. With chapters introducing dynamic process simulation; advanced concepts in steady-state simulation; extensive coverage of thermodynamics packages for modeling processes containing electrolyte solutions and solids; and a concise introduction to logic control. 
Experimental Methods and Instrumentation for Chemical Engineers (2nd ed)
Practical guide for instrumentation and experimental methods necessary for chemical engineers, combining experimental measurements and instrumentation together with statistics with pertinent examples. 
Process Modeling and Simulation for Chemical Engineers: Theory and Practice
Fundamental concepts and techniques involved in process modeling and simulation. Chapters: fundamental relations, constitutive relations, model formulation, model transformation, model simplification and approximation, process simulation, and mathematical review. 
Aspen Plus: Chemical Engineering Applications
Step-by-step textbook for identifying solutions to various process engineering problems via screenshots of the Aspen Plus platforms in parallel with the related text. Includes end-of-chapter problems, to help you learn and later master Aspen Plus. 
Chemical Engineering Process Simulation
Chemical processes and unit operations using the main simulation softwares used in the industrial sector. Will help you predict the characteristics of a process using mathematical models and computer-aided process simulation tools, as well as model and simulate process performance before detailed process design takes place. 
Chemical Process Design and Integration (2nd ed)
Provides a practical guide to chemical process design and integration for students and practicing process engineers in industry. The book includes a new section on sustainable energy, with sections on carbon capture and sequestration, as a result of increasing environmental awareness; and a companion website that includes problems and worked solutions. 
Teach Yourself the Basics of Aspen Plus (2nd ed)
Designed to enable chemical engineers to go through a step-by-step process of learning the basic ideas underlying chemical process simulation, by studying the primary functions of the Aspen Plus software. 
Additional reference works. Hover over the title for a description.