Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Are you looking for chemical prices, or information about companies or industries? Here are some starting places, with more resources on our guide for chemical business information. You can find chemical prices in SciFinder's chemical catalogs database, or on the company websites themselves, but usually not bulk prices unless you contact a company for a quote. You may also find prices in news articles or trade publications. NOTE: databases may sort results by relevance or by the most recent articles, but you can switch back and forth.
When searching the larger news/newspaper databases, consider adding words like price, cost (or costs), profile, outlook, and/or economics if you need to refine your search results.
Starting Places for Chemical Business Information
From the chemical substance (CAS Registry) record, you can find commercial suppliers, which you can customize to see preferred vendors first. Other information included: purity, stock status and shipping times. There may be some pricing, but more often there's a link back to the original supplier catalog where you can check prices. Suppliers that offer bulk quantities are indicated, but you usually have to request a quote for the pricing. First-time users will need to register for a SciFinder account
ICIS Chemical Business (via ProQuest)
Chemical industry trade magazine. Browse issues, or search within the publication for chemical profiles (US, Europe, Latin America, Asia) for ~75 chemicals. Last issue online is October 2020.
Business Source Complete
Key index to the business literature, with lots of full text. Includes trade publications, scholarly journals, magazines, and company and industry profiles. Similar to ABI/Inform Trade & Industry and Business Insights: Global.
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry
Indexes scholarly, popular, and trade business sources. Includes reports, news sources, and other in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, global economies and industries, and trends.
Business Insights: Global
Information about companies and industries, pulled from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, market research and market share reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business resources.
U.S. Major Dailies
Full-text New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Chicago Tribune, 1980-present.
Monthly trade publication for the chemical engineering industry. Includes the Chemical Engineering Plant Cost Index (CEPCI), a composite index assembled from four sub-indexes: Equipment; Construction Labor; Buildings; and Engineering & Supervision.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Full text database for newspapers, trade journals, industry news, and company information. Includes Chemical Week and ICIS Chemical News. Note: some of the articles are press releases announcing new market research reports that the library cannot access due to their very high costs.
Formerly known as the Thomas Register. Extensive database of supplier catalogs and products, including chemicals. Free to search, but some features require a registration.
USGS Minerals Information
A wealth of economic information on minerals
, including historic data and mineral industry reports by country. Publications include: Mineral Commodity Summaries, Mineral Industry Surveys, Minerals Yearbook and Metal Industry Indicators, Nonmetallic Mineral Products Industry Indexes.
C&EN Global Enterprise / Chemical & Engineering News (ACS)
Professional magazine of the American Chemical Society, covering US and international chemistry news in industry, academia, and the government. Now available on the ACS Publications website as C&EN Global Enterprise, while access to the existing C&EN News
website now requires an ACS membership ID login/password.