Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We have an extensive collection of books (print and ebooks) that cover chemistry, biochemistry, and related disciplines.
UC Library Search, accessible from the search box on the library's homepage, helps you locate books, film, music, maps, and various other materials at the UC San Diego Library and beyond. It also contains a limited number of online journal and newspaper articles. You may search by keyword, title, and author, and filter your search to what is available online, or peer-reviewed articles. You can also place an interlibrary loan request through UC Library Search for materials at other UC campuses or libraries worldwide using your Single Sign-On credentials.
UC Library Search does not include all the content to which the Library subscribes. To extend your search for articles, use databases like Web of Science or SciFindern.
The Roger and Melvyl catalogs were retired on July 27, 2021.
Looking for Dissertations?
Use UC Library Search to find dissertations and theses by UC San Diego and UC students. Limit results by selecting Dissertations from the Resource Type facet. Most UC dissertations from 1996 to date are freely available in the UC eScholarship repository.
Use Dissertations and Theses to find dissertations from other universities. If the dissertations is available full text, go ahead and download it.
- If it's not, you might want to Google it first since many universities have made their theses and dissertations freely available.
- If you can't find the full text, use the button in the Dissertations and Theses record to request a copy through interlibrary loan.
Key Chemistry E-Book Collections at UCSD
Key UCSD ebook collections with chemistry and biochemistry titles. You can search for titles in UC Library Search or at the publisher websites. title/full-text at the publisher websites.
- If you search at the publisher websites, expect large sets of search results, due to the full-text book searching (and journals if applicable). Searches have to be more specific.
- Unless otherwise specified, we don't have access to all ebooks from a particular publisher. Check the catalog for a print copy, or request via Interlibrary Loan.
Wiley Online Library
Ebook collection that includes a large number of STEM titles, including chemistry and biochemistry. [2011 to present, with selected coverage of earlier years]
Science Direct / Elsevier
Extensive collection from Elsevier, Academic Press, and Woodhead for chemistry, biochemistry, and related subjects. Includes multiple "Advances in..." series. [2014 to present, with heavy selected coverage of earlier years]
Ebook collection heavy with titles in chemistry and related subjects. Includes series like Topics in Current Chemistry and Structure and Bonding. Some books can be purchased for individual use for $25. [2012 to present, with heavy selected coverage of earlier years and many series back to vol. 1]
Royal Society of Chemistry Ebooks
RSC ebooks collection of chemistry and related titles in chemical engineering and industrial chemistry, materials/polymers; nanoscience; biomolecular and biomedicine, environmental and food sciences; pharmacology, toxicology, and drug discovery. Includes the Specialist Periodical Reports and Tutorial Chemistry Texts. [1968 to present]
American Chemical Society Symposium Series
Peer-reviewed books developed from the technical symposia of the ACS national and regional meetings. Along with chemistry, covers nanoscience, chemical education, polymers, renewable materials, medicinal chemistry, food and agricultural chemistry, and environmental science. Includes the earlier Advances in Chemistry series. [1950 to present]
CRCnetBASE (now Taylor & Francis)
CRC Press' ebook collections for science and engineering, (now available on the Taylor & Francis website). [Access varies depending on collection. Some like the CHEMLIBnetBASE collections are 2017 to present, but the core ENGnetBASE collection goes back to the 1990s]
7.200+ texts, handbooks, encyclopedias and databases for chemistry and engineering. Unlike these other collections, Knovel searches across multiple publishers. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables. Excellent resource for chemical/physical property & engineering data; accessed through the Property Search option.
Cambridge University Press
Contains fewer, but still quality chemistry ebooks in their STEM collection. [2012 to present, with selected coverage of earlier years]