Chemistry & Biochemistry: Chemical & Lab Safety

UC San Diego & UC Safety Resources

Please consult UC San Diego's Department of Environment, Health & Safety website for official information about UC San Diego's safety policies, procedures, and training, as well as guidelines set forth in your labs and research groups. See also: Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

Environment, Health & Safety (EH&S)
Campus safety resources, including My Research Safety portal, Chemical Hygiene Plan, and the Lab Safety Manual.
UC Laboratory Safety Policies
UC systemwide safety policy information.
Safety Resources - Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
From the UCSD Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. Includes information about lab safety education and the safety exam.
UC Center for Laboratory Safety
"..created to improve the practice of laboratory safety through the performance of scientific research and implementation of best safety practices in the laboratory."
UC Safety Data Sheet Resources
Database of safety data sheets. When prompted, enter your ucsd.edu email address to login through the campus single sign-on.
- Safety Data Sheets (SDS) are guides to hazardous materials, often provided by chemical manufacturers and distributors. The sheets include: hazard ratings; physical and chemical properties; toxicological information; regulatory information; first aid, accidental release, and firefighting measures; handling, storage, transport, and disposal guidelines and considerations; and exposure controls, personal precautions, protective equipment and emergency procedures.

Databases, Ebooks, and Websites

Additional chemical safety resources, including library-licensed and free databases.

PubChem
Free, massive database of chemical information, with each record containing extensive safety and toxicity information, extracted from multiple sources (including US and international) like: Hazardous Substances Data Bank, ILO-WHO, International Chemical Safety Cards (ICSCs), CAMEO Chemicals, Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (CDC), Haz-Map, Information on Hazardous Chemicals and Occupational Diseases, Plus resources from the FDA, OSHA, NIOSH, EPA, and DOT.
SciFinder
Extensive collection of safety/toxicity data on millions of chemical substances through the CAS Registry substance records. Within the record, you'll find data under the Experimental Properties (Biological), Toxicity, and GHS Hazard Statements sections. Each data point has a source, such as a reference to an article indexed in SciFinder, or regulatory information (e.g. European Chemical Agency (ECHA) Classification & Labelling Inventory). First-time users will need to register (VPN required if off-campus).

Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards (8th ed)
Latest updates on the unexpected, but predictable, loss of containment and explosion hazards from chemicals and their admixtures and actual accidents. Cross-referenced with primary and specialized sources.
Destruction of Hazardous Chemicals in the Laboratory (4th ed)
A practical reference that describes procedures for the destruction of a comprehensive list of hazardous chemicals and provides general methods for the destruction of hazardous chemicals in the laboratory without the need for exotic reagents and equipment.
Laboratory Safety for Chemistry Students (3rd ed)
Most recent edition of the Finster/Hill textbook, available free as an ebook from ACS, with quizzes and learning materials. A free ACS ID is required to access.
Laboratory Safety for Chemistry Students (2nd ed)
2016 edition of the Finster/Hill textbook, available in print and as an ebook
Safety in the Chemical Laboratory and Industry: A Practical Guide
Practical guide on chemical safety procedures and the handling and disposal of chemicals at both the laboratory and industrial level.
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
General industrial hygiene information on several hundred chemicals/classes. Presents key information: NIOSH recommended exposure limits, OSHA permissible exposure limits, and NIOSH immediately dangerous to life and health values (IDLH)--with linkouts to these databases. Also physical properties, personal protection recommendations, incompatibilities and reactivities, exposure routes, symptoms and more.
Process Safety for Engineers: An Introduction
A comprehensive book showing how process safety concepts are used to reduce operational risks, using case studies. From the Center for Chemical Process Safety.