Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Protocols are detailed, reproducible procedures for laboratory techniques and methods, mostly in the biomedical/life sciences, including biochemistry. Protocols include materials, step-by-step instructions, and safety considerations, and they are peer-reviewed and written so others can follow to replicate the experiment. Below is a list of are main collections of protocols. Most of these are indexed in PubMed and Embase; some are also indexed in Web of Science, BIOSIS Citation Index, and/or SciFinder.
Searching for Protocols
Along with searching these individually, you can also search PubMed and the other article databases by including works like protocol, method, and/or technique in your search, which will may also retrieve relevant articles outside these collections.
To locate protocols in Roger, include laboratory manuals in your search (green fluorescent protein* laboratory manual*)
Springer Nature Experiments
Searchable database of 60,000+ protocols and methods published in: Springer Protocols (which includes Methods in Molecular Biology), Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, and Protocols Exchange.
Wiley's protocols collection. UC San Diego subscribes to 12 of the 19 titles, including: Current Protocols in Protein Science, Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry, and Current Protocols in Bioinformatics.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Protocols collection from Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, searchable and browsable (by subject: Imaging/Microscopy, Proteins and Proteomics, RNA Interference, etc).
Journal of Visualized Experiments: JOVE
JOVE is a journal that publishes protocols in video format, accompanied by PDF version of the article. UC San Diego subscribes to many of the JOVE titles, including JOVE Chemistry, JOVE Biology, JOVE Biochemistry, JOVE Environment, and JOVE Medicine. (Access to a particular title only goes back to when we actually licensed it, not necessarily back to the first issue.)
Methods in Enzymology
The 600+ volume series of research methods in biochemistry and biomedical sciences. Each volume focuses on a particular theme, like Marine Enzymes and Specialized Metabolism, and Peptide, Protein and Enzyme Design.
An online protocol journal, from Stanford University.