Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A selection of some key books in our collection on spectroscopy and organic compounds. For more textbooks, handbooks, and print spectra collectionsw, consult our Spectra Research Guide.
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
Covers fundamentals, technology and applications of atomic, electronic, high energy, magnetic, mass, vibrational and raman spectroscopy. [3rd ed., 2017]
Handbook of Spectroscopy
Reference work that serves as an introduction to spectroscopy methods (NMR, mass, optical, etc) and applications (biological, polymer, environmental, etc). (2014)
High-Resolution NMR Techniques in Organic Chemistry
Describes the most important NMR spectroscopy techniques for the structure elucidation of organic molecules and the investigation of their behaviour in solution, covers practical aspects of NMR techniques and instrumentation, data collection, and spectrum interpretation. (2016)
Guide to Spectroscopic Identification of Organic Compounds
A practical "how-to" book with a general problem-solving algorithm for determining the structure of a molecule from complementary spectra or spectral data obtained from MS, IR, NMR, or UV spectrophotometers. (2017)
Organic Structures from 2D NMR Spectra
Textbook for learning how to identify organic structures efficiently using UV, IR, NMR, and mass spectroscopy. Also available: solutions manual
Organic Structures from Spectra
An organic spectroscopy workbook with over 300 structural problems, combining basic theory, practical advice and sensible approaches to solving spectra problems.
Spectrometric Identification of Organic Compounds (Print)
All editions: QD272.S6 S55. Most recent edition: 2015.
This text presents a unified approach to the structure determination of organic compounds based largely on mass spectrometry, infrared (IR) spectroscopy, as well as multinuclear and multidimensional nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy. Includes an extensive set of practice and real-data problems
Key Databases for Locating Spectra
SpectraBase (IR, M, NMR, R, UV)
Free databases of hundreds of thousands of spectra, including NMR, IR (including ATR-IR), Raman, UV-Vis, and Mass. Search by chemical name, CAS-RN, or InChiKey. You can upload and overlay your own spectrum for comparison. [Free, but registration is required. Some ads as well.]
SciFindern (IR, M, NMR, R, UV)
Largest online collection of spectra available for UCSD: 1.4 million experimental (mostly MS, IR, 13C-NMR, H-NMR) spectra for 983K compounds, and 109 million predicted H-NMR and 13C-NMR spectra.
Use the "Substance Identifier" option to search for your chemical, then from the substance (CAS Registry) record, look for the Experimental Spectra list. A "See Spectrum" link means the spectrum is available. Otherwise you will be directed to an article where you'll find the spectrum and/or numeric data. First-time users will need to register for a SciFinder account.
Reaxys (IR, M, NMR, R, UV)
Literature references for spectra for many of the 32 million substances indexed. From the substance record, select Spectra for NMR, IR, Mass, UV/VIS, Raman, Fluorescence and more.
There are no actual spectra, but you will get references to journal articles where you will find the spectrum and/or numeric information (peaks, shifts, etc).
SDBS - Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (IR, M, NMR, R)
Spectra for 34,600 organic compounds, mostly FT-IR (54K), MS (25K), 13C-NMR (14K), and H-NMR (16K), and Raman (3.5K). Good for an initial quick search.
PubChem (IR, M, NMR, R, UV)
Open database of millions of chemical substances, with spectral information for about 300K substances (found in the Chemical and Physical Properties section of the substance record). The data is sourced from several organizations, primarily SpectraBase, the NIST/EPA/NIH Mass Spectral Library, the Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), and the Human Metabolome Database (HMDB).
NIST Chemistry Webbook (IR, M, UV)
16K gas phase IR spectra, 15K mass spectra, and 1.6 UV/Vis spectra.
Properties of Organic Compounds (IR, M, NMR, R, UV)
Property data and numerical NMR, MS, UV and IR peaks for 29,000 organic compounds, with references to the handbooks where the spectra can be located. No actual spectra, but you can get NMR chemical shifts, mass spectral peaks and intensities, and peak values for IR, Raman, and UV/Vis.
[Free] Search for NMR spectra, structures and properties of organic compounds. Also allows for spectrum prediction and submission of NMR shift datasets for peer review.