Organic Chemistry: Reagents, Functional Groups, Name Reactions

An up-to-date survey of the reagent literature. Reagents are listed in alphabetical order, with concise descriptions, illustrations of chemical reactions, and selected examples of applications with literature references. There's a cumulative index for vol. 1-22, and the rest have their own index.

From the American Chemical Society (ACS) Committee on Analytical Reagents, purity specifications for almost 500 reagent chemicals and over 500 standard-grade reference materials. The Library also has the print volume (REF QD77 .A54 2015)
The Knovel version is not being updated. The copy on the ACS Publications Website is the only version with the updates and corrections (list here). ACS members can download updated chapters as part of their "50 article/year" member benefits.

Reference work reviewing 700 organic name reactions and reagents. Reaction summaries provide basic information include a general description and reaction scheme, proposed mechanisms, modifications, related reactions, applications, and cited experimental examples.

An encyclopedic and systematic collection of useful synthetic methodology, including tens of thousands of reactions and synthetic transformations.
There is a 3rd edition online, published in 2018. You can browse or search the chapters; if there's a chapter you want, we can try to request via interlibrary loan.

Organized by the functional group formed, an encyclopedia reference of 144 specialist reviews covering organic synthesis in terms of the introduction and interconversion of all known functional groups. Covers the literature from 1995-2003.

A practical handbook for chemists performing bond forming reactions, this book features useful information on the synthesis of common functional groups in organic chemistry.

Guidebook on functional groups for pharmacy students in medicinal chemistry courses. Covers nomenclature, physical properties, chemical properties, and metabolism. Skills: drawing chemical structures and predicting the solubility, instabilities, and metabolism of each organic functional group.

Textbook on chemistry of functional groups with an emphasis on patterns of reactivity, the consequences of the relative electronegativity of the atoms that constitute functional groups, the role of lone pairs and the stereochemistry of reactions at a particular group. With problem sets.

Multi-volume reference work covering all aspects of functional group chemistry, including "physical organic chemistry, analytical chemistry and techniques, reaction mechanisms, chapters on synthetic pathways, reactions and strategies as well as applications." This is an ongoing series and we do not have the later volumes. You can browse or search them. Some may be available online; otherwise we should be able to get you a chapter via interlibrary loan.

Handbook/guide for Patai's Chemistry of Functional Groups, from 1964-1991.

Discusses the reactions used in organic synthesis, showing the value and scope of these reactions and how they are used in the synthesis of organic molecules. Presenting an accounting of the traditional methods used, as well as the latest details on the advances made in synthetic chemistry research, the named reactions of carbonyl compounds, alcohols, amines, heterocyclic molecules, rearrangements and coupling reactions are all included. Explaining the established research and including detailed mechanism information, step-by-step descriptions, problems and the applications of named reactions in industry, this book also discusses emerging aspects. Additional sections cover present and future research directions.

Reference work covering more than 300 name reactions, delineated by its detailed step-by-step, electron-pushing mechanism and supplemented with the original and the latest references, especially from review articles.

Reference work reviewing 750 reactions, including stereoselective and regioselective reactions. Each A-Z entry provides a carefully condensed summary of valuable information that a chemist needs to understand and utilize these fundamental reactions in their work, including brief practical details. The book is illustrated with real synthetic examples from the literature and about 3,400 references to the primary literature to aid further reading. Indexes: name, reagent, reaction, functional group transformation.

Reference work reviewing 700 organic name reactions and reagents. Reaction summaries provide basic information include a general description and reaction scheme, proposed mechanisms, modifications, related reactions, applications, and cited experimental examples.

More detailed review articles of name reactions, organized into sections on asymmetric synthesis, reduction, oxidation, olefination, amine synthesis, carboxylic acid derivatives synthesis, and miscellaneous functional group manipulations. Each section includes a description of the functional group transformation, the historical perspective, mechanisms, variations and improvements on the reaction, synthetic utilities and applications for the reaction, experimental details, and references to the primary literature.