Science of Synthesis provides critical reviews of the organic and organometallic synthetic literature, with full-text descriptions of organic transformations and synthetic methods, experimental procedures, and citations back to the primary literature. The collection can be searched by text or chemical structure. This also includes access to the Houben-Weyl Methods of Organic Chemistry, covering the synthetic literature back to 1834. (Most of this series is in German, with some English volumes published in the 1980s and 1990s. The entire current Science of Synthesis collection is in English.)
For more information about using Science of Synthesis, Thieme has provided some case studies and teaching resources (including an index of name reactions with links to SoS content).
Example volumes:
|
|
 |
 |
Organic Syntheses (1921-present) is an annual collection of "detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures" for synthesizing organic compounds. Each detailed procedure repeated and "carefully checked" for reproducibility. Articles include notes, photographs, literature references, and safety information. Articles can be searched by text/author, and structure or substructure. Sample articles:
|
Organic Reactions (1942-present) is a database of more than 300 important organic synthetic reactions. Each reaction includes an in-depth discussion of the reaction mechanism, the reaction scope and limitations, comparison with other reactions, experimental procedures and conditions, applications, and examples of the reaction from the primary literature. You can browse the series by title and volume, or search by author/text. Sample articles:
|
Organic Reaction Mechanisms An annual series that surveys the organic reaction literature for a given year (the volume published in 2023 covers the 2019 journal literature). Sample chapters include:
|
