LibGuides: Organic Chemistry: Natural Products

MarinLit is a natural marine products database (text and structure searchable) with some powerful and unique dereplication tools. Searchable by:

Bibliographic information: author, title, abstract, journal, article category, and trivial name
Location: latitude/longitude, map
Taxonomy: species, genus, family, etc.
Compound: structure/substructure, molecular formula, functional groups, NMR shifts, exact mass, UV maxima

The Dictionary of Natural Products and Dictionary of Marine Natural Products provide basic data on thousands of compounds. Searchable by name/CAS, as well as biological source, property data values, and compound/organism type.

Other Databases:

You can search for natural products information in SciFinder and Reaxys the way you would with any other organic compound: by topic searching (including isolation of, synthesis of, etc.), by substance name or structure, or by reaction.

For Reaxys, you can also search by Isolation from Natural Product. In the Query Builder, you'll see this option in the "Other" category. search the same way: topics (isolation of, synthesis of, etc.) or substances. For Reaxys, there's a Query Builder option (category: other) for Isolation from Natural Product.

Other good databases for searching the natural products literature: PubMed, Web of Science, and Google Scholar.

Reviews and Reference Works

Comprehensive Natural Products III: Chemistry and Biology by Tadhg Begley, Hung-Wen Liu (Editors-In-Chief)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780081026915
Publication Date: 2020-07-22
From 2020. Updates and complements the previous two editions, including recent advances in cofactor chemistry, structural diversity of natural products and secondary metabolites, enzymes and enzyme mechanisms and new bioinformatics tools. This book reviews the accumulated efforts of chemical and biological research to understand living organisms and their distinctive effects on health and medicine and to stimulate new ideas among the established natural products community. In-depth review of current natural products research and a critical insight into the future direction of the field. See also: Comprehensive Natural Products II.
Handbook of Active Marine Natural Products by Jiaju Zhou
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9783110653243
Publication Date: 2019-09-23
This 8-volume set provides a systematic description on 8,350 active marine natural products from 3,025 various kinds of marine organisms. The diversity of structures, biological resources and pharmacological activities are discussed in detail. Molecular structural classification system with 264 structural types are developed in the book as well. Covers (terpenoids, alkaloids, polyketides and steroids, aliphatic metabolites, o-heterocycles and aromatics, and peptides.
Studies in Natural Products Chemistry
Call Number: EBOOK SERIES
ISBN: 9780444641809
Publication Date: 2018-08-31
Book series of review articles on natural products chemistry, multiple volumes published annually. You can browse or search within the series.

We have access to volumes 39 to date online and some of the older volumes in print QD415.A2 S78 1988), but other articles can be requested via interlibrary loan.
Handbook of Marine Natural Products
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9789048138340
Publication Date: 2012-04-24
From 2012. 2-volume reference handbook on developments in marine natural products research. Sections: Natural Product Trends in Different Groups of Marine Life, Structure Elucidation, Chemical Ecology, Biosynthesis, Biomedical Potential, and Marine Toxins. Written with upper-level undergraduates and new graduate student researchers in mind.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0470048670
Authoritative reference work illuminating the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences, and is essential for academic researchers and advanced students looking for timely review-type information in this field. The reference reflects the multidimensional character of chemical biology, focusing in particular on the fundamental science of biological structures and systems, the use of chemical and biological techniques to elucidate that science, and the applications of this knowledge in areas as diverse as drug discovery, sensor technology, and catalysis.
Progress in the Chemistry of Organic Natural Products
Call Number: EBOOK SERIES
ISBN: 3319935062
Another series of review articles on natural products chemistry (origin, distribution, chemistry, synthesis, biochemistry, function or use of various classes of naturally occurring substances ranging from small molecules to biopolymers.) Online back to volume 72 of Fortschritte der Chemie Organischer Naturstoffe, with print volumes back to volume 1.
RÖMPP Encyclopedia Natural Products
Call Number: EBOOK and print (QD415.A25 N3813 2000)
ISBN: 0865779880
Publication Date: 2000-08-09
Online encyclopedia of 6,000 natural products. Entries include literature references, chemical structure, stereochemistry, biological properties, physical properties, biological source, and medical applications.

Selected Books on Natural Products

Asymmetric Synthesis of Natural Products Natural product synthesis has played a key role in the development of many synthetic methods and will continue to do so in the future. Many recent advances in such diverse fields as immunology, cellular biology and materials science have been achieved through the synthetic chemist's ability to construct often very complicated structures in one enantiomeric form. Asymmetric Synthesis of Natural Products, 2nd Edition introduces students to this rapidly growing field of organic chemistry. The initial chapters present the foundations of asymmetric synthesis, including the theory and applications of individual asymmetric reactions. This is followed by chapters on each of the major individual classes of natural products; their structures, biosynthesis and interrelationships as well as examples of asymmetric syntheses and the practical value of these compounds. Natural product classes covered include carbohydrates, amino acids, peptides, proteins, nucleosides, nucleotides, nucleic acids, polyketides, isoprenoids, shikamic acid derivatives and alkaloids. For this second edition the text has been thoroughly updated and expanded, and includes new discussions and examples covering atom and redox economies, practical aspects and environmental awareness. Organocatalysis has emerged completely in the last ten years, and has been fully integrated into this new edition. Asymmetric Synthesis of Natural Products, 2nd Edition will find a place on the bookshelves of advanced undergraduates and postgraduates working in natural products chemistry, organic synthesis, medicinal chemistry and drug discovery. It is also useful for practising researchers who want to refresh their knowledge of the field
Bioactive Natural Products : Chemistry and Biology Natural compounds, which have evolved their function over millions of years, are often more efficient than man-made compounds if a specific biological activity is needed, e.g. as an enzyme inhibitor or as a toxin to kill a cancer cell. This book comprising of sixteen technical chapters, highlights the chemical and biological aspects of potential natural products with an intention of unravelling their pharmaceutical applicability in modern drug discovery processes. Key features: Covers the synthesis, semi-synthesis and also biosynthesis of potentially bioactive natural products
Bioactive Natural Products in Drug Discovery This book highlights different natural products that are derived from the plants and microbes that have shown potential as the lead compounds against infectious diseases and cancer. Natural products represent an untapped source of strikingly diverse chemotypes with novel mechanisms of action and the potential to serve as anticancer and anti-infective agents. The book discusses a range of biotechnologically valuable bioactive compounds and secondary metabolites that have been derived from plant and microorganisms from various ecological niches. It also reviews the latest developments in the field of genomics, bioinformatics and industrial fermentation for harnessing the microbial products for commercial applications. In turn, the books closing section reviews important biotechnological applications of various natural products. Combining the expertise of specialists in this field, the books goal is to promote the further investigation of natural sources for the development of standardized, safe and effective therapies
Blue Biotechnology: Production and Use of Marine Molecules, Volume 1 With its integral treatment of ecosystem and resource management, this is the only overview of the field to address current thinking and future trends. All contributions have been written with the novice in mind, explaining the basics and highlighting recent developments and achievements. Unmatched in scope, this two-volume reference covers both traditional and well-established areas of marine biotechnology, such as biomass production, alongside such novel ones as biofuels, biological protection of structures and bioinspired materials. In so doing, it ties together information usually only found in widely dispersed sources to assemble a grand unified view of the current state of and prospects for this multi-faceted discipline. The combination of the breadth of topics and the focus on modern ideas make this introductory book especially suitable for teaching purposes and for guiding newcomers to the many possibilities offered by this booming field.
Chemical Biology of Natural Products Chemical Biology of Natural Products This unique, long-awaited volume is designed to address contemporary aspects of natural product chemistry and its influence on biological systems, not solely on human interactions. The subjects covered include discovery, isolation and characterization, biosynthesis, biosynthetic engineering, pharmaceutical, and other applications of these compounds.?Each chapter begins with a brief and simple introduction to the subject matter, and then proceeds to guide the reader towards the more contemporary, cutting-edge research in the field, with the contributing authors presenting current examples from their own work in order to exemplify key themes.?Topics covered in the text include genome mining, heterologous expression, natural product synthesis, biosynthesis, glycosylation, chemical ecology, and therapeutic applications of natural products, both current and potential.
Chemical Ecology: The Ecological Impacts of Marine Natural Products During the past 20 years, marine chemical ecology has emerged as a respected field of study providing a better understanding of the role natural products play in organisms and their environments. Ample data in this book advocates the conservation of marine environments for future drug discovery efforts while sustaining their overall health. Marine chemical ecology has expanded to include research in the areas of predator-prey interactions, marine microbial chemical ecology, and seasonal and geographical distribution of marine natural products
Chemistry of Plant Natural Products: Stereochemistry, Conformation, Synthesis, Biology, and Medicine Aimed at advanced undergraduate and graduate students and researchers working with natural products, Professors Sunil and Bani Talapatra provide a highly accessible compilation describing all aspects of plant natural products. Beginning with a general introduction to set the context, the authors then go on to carefully detail nomenclature, occurrence, isolation, detection, structure elucidation (by both degradation and spectroscopic techniques) stereochemistry, conformation, synthesis, biosynthesis, biological activity and commercial applications of the most important natural products of plant origin. Each chapter also includes detailed references (with titles) and a list of recommended books for additional study making this outstanding treatise a useful resource for teachers of chemistry and researchers working in universities, research institutes and industry.
Classical Methods in Structure Elucidation of Natural Products The structures of many natural products are given in standard textbooks on organic chemistry as 'established facts'. Yet for those natural products whose structures were determined between 1860 and 1960 by classical chemical methods, the lines of evidence are frequently buried under any number of investigations that led to dead ends and to revised structure assignments. Since very little is known about the structure clarification of these products at present, this volume serves to shed light once again on the achievements of previous generations of chemists, who worked with minimal experimental tools. The selection of the 25 representative examples is subjective and arbitrary, dictated by the author's pleasure in recovering fundamental milestones in organic chemistry, with each chapter devoted to one organic compound. The time period covered, however, is more precisely defined: 1860 represents the advent of structure theory, prior to which there was no conceptual framework to address the 'structure' of a compound. One hundred years later, 1960 approximately marks the change from classical structure elucidation to the era in which structure elucidation is mainly based on spectroscopic evidence and X-ray crystallography. Since the emphasis of this work is on classical structure elucidation, work performed later than 1960 is only considered in exceptional cases. Rather than simply provide a history of structure elucidation of particular natural products, the author combines results from historic experiments to trace a line of evidence for those structures that are nowadays accepted as established. This line of evidence may follow the path put forward by the original contributors, yet in some cases the experimental facts have been combined to form another, hopefully shorter, line of evidence. As a result, readers are able to ascertain for themselves the 'facts behind the established structure assignments' of a number of important natural products.
Classics in Spectroscopy : Isolation and Structure Elucidation of Natural Products his textbook will not only fascinate students wanting to learn about the topic, but also those experienced analytical chemists who are still inspired by their profession. The contents provide for easy reading by using natural products that everyone knows, such as caffeine, backed by an attractive layout with many pictures to visualize the topics. In addition, an in-depth analytical part makes the book a valuable teaching tool, or for self-learning using the questions and answers at the end of each chapter.
Efficiency in Natural Products Total Synthesis Uniting the key organic topics of total synthesis and efficient synthetic methodologies, this book clearly overviews synthetic strategies and tactics applied in total synthesis, demonstrating how the total synthesis of natural products enables scientific and drug discovery. * Focuses on efficiency, a fundamental and important issue in natural products synthesis that makes natural product synthesis a powerful tool in biological and pharmaceutical science * Describes new methods like organocatalysis, multicomponent and cascade reactions, and biomimetic synthesis * Appeals to graduate students with two sections at the end of each chapter illustrating key reactions, strategies, tactics, and concepts; and good but unfinished total synthesis (synthesis of core structure) before the last section * Compiles examples of solid phase synthesis and continuing flow chemistry-based total synthesis which are very relevant and attractive to industry R&D professionals
Medicinal Natural Products: A Biosynthetic Approach (Also print: RS160 .D48 2009) Medicinal Natural Products: A Biosynthetic Approach, Third Edition, provides a comprehensive and balanced introduction to natural products from a biosynthetic perspective, focusing on the metabolic sequences leading to various classes of natural products. The book builds upon fundamental chemical principles and guides the reader through a wealth of diverse natural metabolites with particular emphasis on those used in medicine. There have been rapid advances in biosynthetic understanding over the past decade through enzymology, gene isolation, and genetic engineering. Medicinal Natural Products has been extended and fully updated in this new edition to reflect and explain the developments and other advances in the field. It retains the user-friendly style and highly acclaimed features of previous editions: a comprehensive treatment of plant, microbial, and natural products in one volume extensive use of chemical schemes with annotated mechanistic explanations cross-referencing to emphasize links and similarities boxed topics giving further details of medicinal materials, covering sources, production methods, use as drugs, semi-synthetic derivatives and synthetic analogues, and modes of action.
Modern NMR Approaches to the Structure Elucidation of Natural Products: Volume 1: Instrumentation and Software Volume 1 discusses contemporary NMR approaches including optimized and future hardware and experimental approaches to obtain both the highest quality and most appropriate spectral data for analysis. These books, bringing together acknowledged experts, uniquely focus on the combination of experimental approaches and modern hardware and software applied to the structure elucidation of natural products. The volumes will be an essential resource for NMR spectroscopists, natural product chemists and industrial researchers working on natural product analysis or the characterization of impurities and degradation products of pharmaceuticals that can be scarce as natural product samples.
Modern NMR Approaches to the Structure Elucidation of Natural Products: Volume 2: Data Acquisition and Applications to Compound Classes Volume 2 considers data processing and algorithmic based analyses tailored to natural product structure elucidation and reviews the application of NMR to the analysis of a series of different natural product families including marine natural products, terpenes, steroids, alkaloids and carbohydrates. VThese books, bringing together acknowledged experts, uniquely focus on the combination of experimental approaches and modern hardware and software applied to the structure elucidation of natural products. The volumes will be an essential resource for NMR spectroscopists, natural product chemists and industrial researchers working on natural product analysis or the characterization of impurities and degradation products of pharmaceuticals that can be as scarce as natural product samples.
Natural Product Chemistry for Drug Discovery Natural Product Chemistry for Drug Discovery provides a comprehensive summary of where natural product chemistry is today in drug discovery. The book covers emerging technologies and case studies and is a source of up-to-date information on the topical subject of natural products. Natural products are once again considered important tools in the drug discovery toolbox. The authors are all experts in their respective fields of natural product chemistry. The book will appeal across the board from scientists to professionals, postgraduates and industrial chemists. The case studies selected for inclusion highlight recently marketed drugs and development candidates that have been derived from natural products. These 'real-life' examples show how new technologies, such as advances in screening, isolation, dereplication and prefractionation, have significantly enhanced the discovery process.
Natural Product Extraction: Principles and Applications Natural products are used by the food, pharmaceutical and cosmetics industries, and extraction technologies and potential applications for plant extracts are of interest to many industrial sectors. Extraction of natural products in an economic and environmentally friendly way is of high importance to all industries involved. The second edition of this book presents an updated, holistic, in-depth view of the more environmentally benign techniques available for the extraction of natural products, along with their newest applications and case studies. Conventional and emerging extraction techniques are discussed in detail. New topics include enzymes, pulsed electric energy, and on-line/in-line analysis. Written for academics and industrialists working in both natural product extraction and green chemistry, this new edition provides a valuable update on current trends in the field.
Natural Products: Isolation, Structure Elucidation, History Presents numerous natural everyday products with a high range of structural diversity. Twenty natural products have been arranged in five sections, describing three alkaloids, five colored compounds, three carbohydrates and glycosides, seven terpenoids, and two aromatic compounds. (Also in print: QD96.N8 S53 2019)
Natural Products Analysis: Instrumentation, Methods, and Applications This book highlights analytical chemistry instrumentation andpractices applied to the analysis of natural products and theircomplex mixtures, describing techniques for isolating andcharacterizing natural products. * Applies analytical techniques to natural productsresearch - an area of critical importance to drugdiscovery * Offers a one-stop shop for most analytical methods:x-ray diffraction, NMR analysis, mass spectrometry, and chemicalgenetics * Includes coverage of natural products basics andhighlights antibacterial research, particularly important asefforts to combat drug resistance gain prominence * Covers instrumental techniques with enough detail forboth current practitioners and beginning researchers
Natural Products and Drug Discovery: An Integrated Approach Natural Products and Drug Discovery: An Integrated Approach provides an applied overview of the field, from traditional medicinal targets, to cutting-edge molecular techniques. Natural products have always been of key importance to drug discovery, but as modern techniques and technologies have allowed researchers to identify, isolate, extract and synthesize their active compounds in new ways, they are once again coming to the forefront of drug discovery. Combining the potential of traditional medicine with the refinement of modern chemical technology, the use of natural products as the basis for drugs can help in the development of more environmentally sound, economical, and effective drug discovery processes. Natural Products & Drug Discovery: An Integrated Approach reflects on the current changes in this field, giving context to the current shift and using supportive case studies to highlight the challenges and successes faced by researchers in integrating traditional medicinal sources with modern chemical technologies. It therefore acts as a useful reference to medicinal chemists, phytochemists, biochemists, pharma R&D professionals, and drug discovery students and researchers.
Natural Products as Source of Molecules with Therapeutic Potential: Research & Development, Challenges and Perspectives This book addresses the highly relevant and complex subject of research on drugs from natural products, discussing the current hot topics in the field. It also provides a detailed overview of the strategies used to research and develop these drugs. Respected experts explore issues involved in the production chain and when looking for new medicinal agents, including aspects such as therapeutic potential, functional foods, ethnopharmacology, metabolomics, virtual screening and regulatory scenarios. Further, the book describes strategic methods of isolation and characterization of active principles, biological assays, biotechnology of plants, synthesis, clinical trials and the use of tools to identity active principles.
Natural Products Chemistry : Sources, Separations and Structures This book presents a practical guide to gathering, isolating, and discovering new pharmaceuticals from nature. It emphasizes the challenges and advantages of products acquired from nature over traditional compounds such as those arising from combinatorial chemistry
Natural Products: Discourse, Diversity, and Design an informative and accessible overview of discoveries in the area of natural products in the genomic era, bringing together advances across the kingdoms. As genomics data makes it increasingly clear that the genomes of microbes and plants contain far more genes for natural product synthesis than had been predicted from the numbers of previously identified metabolites, the potential of these organisms to synthesize diverse natural products is likely to be far greater than previously envisaged. Natural Products addresses not only the philosophical questions of the natural role of these metabolites, but also the evolution of single and multiple pathways, and how these pathways and products may be harnessed to aid discovery of new bioactives and modes of action.
Natural Products in Chemical Biology Based on the award winning Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology, this book provides a general overview of the unique features of the small molecules referred to as "natural products", explores how this traditionally organic chemistry-based field was transformed by insights from genetics and biochemistry, and highlights some promising future directions. The book begins by introducing natural products from different origins, moves on to presenting and discussing biosynthesis of various classes of natural products, and then looks at natural products as models and the possibilities of using them in medicine
Natural Products in Medicinal Chemistry The inspiration provided by biologically active natural products to conceive of hybrids, congeners, analogs and unnatural variants is discussed by experts in the field in 15 highly informative chapters. Using well-documented case studies from drug development projects over the past decade, this handbook and ready reference demonstrates the current importance and future potential of natural products as drug precursors, highlighting the lessons learned and pointing to future directions in the field. The examples are carefully chosen so as to represent a wide range of chemical structures as well as therapeutic indications and include such "classical" cases as taxol and the vinca alkaloids as well the latest developments in protease inhibitors, antimicrobials, antifungals, antisense nucleosides, and epothilones.
Natural Products in the Chemical Industry Natural Products in the Chemical Industry is not a conventional textbook, but rather an invitation to join an entertaining journey that takes you into the fascinating world of natural products. This book features diverse compound classes from a number of areas: colour?ants, fragrances and flavourings, amino acids, pharmaceuticals, hormones, vitamins and agrochemicals. Whether you are a teacher or a scholar, an undergraduate or gradu?ate student, a professional chemist in industry or academia, or someone just interested in natural sciences, this book allows you to be inspired and entertained by facts and information along with enjoyable anecdotes, historical, economic, political, biologi?cal and social considerations. Experts in the field can have a pleasurable time cruis?ing through captivating synthesis methods, which enable the generation of complex molecules on industrial scale. This book · deals with the manufacturing of larger quantities of complex molecules (asymmetric and heterocyclic compounds, polycyclic structures, macrocycles and small rings) · displays all reaction schemes in colour, which makes them easy to read · highlights aesthetics and elegance in modern industrial organic chemistry
Natural Products Isolation With significant developments in the areas of chromatography and spectroscopy as well as the unique inherent chemical diversity of natural products, vital in drug research, natural products research has gained new momentum. Fully updating and adding to the previous two editions, Natural Products Isolation, Third Edition documents the latest methods and technologies for natural products isolation with a combination of all new chapters and revised and expanded classic methods. Written in the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible laboratory protocols, and expert tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Authoritative and up-to-date, Natural Products Isolation, Third Edition provides the substantial background information needed by budding natural product researchers as well offering an invaluable reference guide to available methodologies and techniques for the more experienced researchers
Natural Products : Phytochemistry, Botany and Metabolism of Alkaloids, Phenolics and Terpenes The present reference work encompasses the information about well established phytochemicals, biology and biotechnology of medicinal plants or their products, their biosynthesis, novel production strategies, demand and uses, metabolism and bioavailability.
Nature's Chemicals: The Natural Products That Shaped Our World This is the first book to describe Natural Products (NPs) in an evolutionary context, distilling the few simple principles that govern the way in which organisms (including humans) have evolved to produce, cope with, or respond to NPs. It neatly synthesizes a widely dispersed literature and provides a general picture of NPs, encompassing evolution, history, ecology, and environmental issues (along with some deeper theory relevant to biochemistry), with the goal of enabling a wider section of the scientific community to fully appreciate the crucial importance of Natural Products to human culture and future survival.
Optimizing NMR Methods for Structure Elucidation: Characterizing Natural Products and Other Organic Compounds This book is aimed at informing organic chemists and natural products chemists on the use of NMR for structure elucidation to enable them to ensure they yield the most reliable possible data in the minimum possible time. It covers the latest pulse sequences, acquisition and processing methods, practical areas not covered in most texts e.g. detailed consideration of the relative advantages and disadvantages of different pulse sequences, choosing acquisition and processing parameters to get the best possible data in the least possible time, pitfalls to avoid and how to minimize the risks of getting wrong structures. Useful in industrial, pharma or research environments, this reference book is for anyone involved with organic chemistry research and, in particular, natural products research requiring advice for getting the best results from the NMR facilities.
Outstanding Marine Molecules Using a number of outstanding examples, this text introduces readers to the immense variety of marine natural compounds, the methodologies to characterize them and the approaches to explore their industrial potential. Care is also taken to discuss the function and ecological context of the compounds. Carefully produced and easy to read, this book serves students and professionals wishing to familiarize themselves with the field, and is ideally suited as a course book for both industry to academia.
Plant‐Based Natural Products: Derivatives and Applications Intense research has been started all around the world in the past few decades to exploit different agents from natural products as eco-friendly alternative to synthetic and toxic chemicals. Natural products and their derivatives have received increasing attention for their use in many everyday applications ranging from food, medicine, textiles, and healthcare.This new book presents significant research advances about the use of natural products, mainly plant colorants, bioactive compounds and other plant extracts in the textile coloration, food, bioremediation and environmental applications. There are total eight chapters contributed by leading researchers covering the topics such as potential resurgence of natural dyes in applied fields, natural colorants from indigoid plants, phytochemistry of dye yielding plants, irradiation as novel pretreatment methods, dyeing studies with henna plant, phytoremediation of arsenic, and synthesis of curcumin complexes for medicinal and other industrial uses
Retrosynthetic Analysis and Synthesis of Natural Products 1: Synthetic Methods and Applications his book is structured around the study of a dozen target products (butyrolactone, macrolide, indole compound, cyclobutanic terpene, spiro- and polycyclic derivatives, etc.). For each product, the different disconnections are presented and the associated syntheses are analyzed step by step. The key reactions are described explicitly, followed by diagrams showing the range of impact of certain transformations. This set of data alone is conducive to understanding syntheses and indulging in this difficult, but worthwhile activity.
Synthesis of Medicinal Agents from Plants Synthesis of Medicinal Agents from Plants highlights the importance of synthesizing medicinal agents from plants and outlines methods for performing it effectively. Beginning with an introduction to the significance of medicinal plants, the book goes on to provide a historical overview of drug synthesis before exploring how this can be used to successfully replicate and adapt the active agents from natural sources. Chapters then explore the medicinal properties of a number of important plants, before concluding with a discussion of the future of drugs from medicinal plants. Illustrated with real-world examples, it is a practical resource for researchers in this field. In an age of rapid environmental destruction, hundreds of medicinal plants are at risk of extinction from over collection and deforestation, limiting the amount of natural resources available for active agent extraction and threatening the discovery of future cures for diseases. Simultaneously, the demand for certain drugs occasionally outstrips the amount of an active agent that can be extracted from the source plant, threatening production. The ability to synthetically replicate the active compounds from these plants is therefore essential in creating an ecologically-aware, sustainable future for drug design
Total Synthesis of Bioactive Natural Products Provides step-by-step guidelines for effectively synthesizing the most promising bioactive agents from a broad range of natural products. Beginning with a concise background that outlines the benefits and challenges faced in effective synthesis, the book goes on to provide individual outlines for approximately 100 of the most promising bioactive agents. Taking a logical, user-friendly approach, the systematic name, compound class, structure, natural source, pharmaceutical potential and synthetic routes for each structure are detailed, with clear illustrations throughout, making this book an essential and practical guide for anyone working with both synthesis and natural products
Total Synthesis of Natural Products: At the Frontiers of Organic Chemistry 'Total Synthesis of Natural Products' is written and edited by some of today's leaders in organic chemistry. Eleven chapters cover a range of natural products, from steroids to alkaloids. Each chapter contains an introduction to the natural product in question, descriptions of its biological and pharmacological properties and outlines of total synthesis procedures already carried out. Particular emphasis is placed on novel methodologies developed by the respective authors and their research groups. This text is ideal for graduate and advanced undergraduate students, as well as organic chemists in academia and industry.