Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Library Search, accessible from the search box on the library's homepage, helps you locate books, film, music, maps, and various other materials at the UC San Diego Library and beyond. It also contains a limited number of online journal and newspaper articles. You may search by keyword, title, and author, and filter your search to what is available online, or peer-reviewed articles. You can also place an interlibrary loan request through UC Library Search for materials at other UC campuses or libraries worldwide using your Single Sign-On credentials.
UC Library Search does not include all the content to which the Library subscribes. To extend your search for articles, try a database like Web of Science or Academic Search Complete.
The Roger and Melvyl catalogs were retired on July 27, 2021.
Below are the largest collections of science/engineering ebooks. More subject specific ebook collections are listed on their associated subject guides (for example: mathematics, computer science and electrical engineering). Some collections also include journals, and they all search down to the book/article text, so simple 1-2 word searches will bring up too many results.
Major collection of science/engineering journals and books, including handbooks. Limit results to books, chapters or reference work entries, and/or "Include Preview-Only content" to exclude anything we don't have online.
Database of McGraw-Hill engineering handbooks, textbooks, and videos, plus interactive graphs, downloadable tables, and a data visualization tool for properties of materials. Covers all engineering disciplines, but heaviest in chemical, electrical, materials, mechanical, and structural engineering. Includes standard reference works like Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, and the Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, as well as the Civil Engineering PE Exam Guide and Practice Exams, and about 30 Schaum's Outlines. (Also called AccessEngineering)
O'Reilly for Higher Education
48,000+ computing and IT ebooks, videos, case studies, and interactive tutorials from O'Reilly, plus books from additional IT and engineering publishers. Covers business, desktop/web applications, data science/management, digital media, engineering, information technology/software development & architecture, math & science, and personal/professional development. ** To connect, select UCSD from the institutions, then login with your AD username/password. ** Students in some programs like non-concurrently enrolled Extension courses may be ineligible to access OHE.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley's ebook/journal platform, with a heavy STEM focus. Easy to limit results to books or reference works. Access to older books more limited; check for the green Full Access note.
Platform for the Elsevier, Academic Press and related imprints (ebooks and journals). Can limit results to book chapters and encyclopedia entries. Access to reference works and older books limited, so check for Full Text Access next to the entry.
Collection of engineering and chemistry books from multiple publishers. Searchable by full text, but you can also search chemicals or materials for specific properties, and export that data.
CRC / Taylor and Francis
Platform to search the CRC collections of science and engineering books.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
Includes Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science and Colloquium Biomedical & Life Sciences - 2 collections of ~200-page "lecture" style ebooks.
Cambridge University Press's platform for their journals and ebooks.
IET Digital Library (Institution of Engineering and Technology)
Engineering/technology collection, covering circuits, devices and systems; Control engineering; Electrical technology; Electromagnetic waves; History of technology; Management of technology; Manufacturing; Power and energy; Professional applications of computing; Radar, sonar, navigation and avionics; Renewable energy; Telecommunications