STEM - General Research Guide: Encyclopedias by Subject

Fundamental principles, recent discoveries, and significant applications of the inorganic elements and their compounds, including main group chemistry, biological inorganic chemistry, solid state and materials chemistry, catalysis, new developments in electrochemistry and photochemistry, and NMR and diffraction methods for studying inorganic compounds. [3rd ed, 2023]

Comprehensive overview of the experimental and theoretical methods, phenomena and understanding, and applications of solid-liquid interfaces. [2023]

Encyclopedia covering the entire field of soil science, including biology, chemistry, physics, environmental management, and pedology/pedometrics. [2023]

Comprehensive chemical encyclopedia covering all aspects of chemistry and chemical engineering. Good complement to Ullmann's. [Adds/updates articles quarterly]

Comprehensive chemical encyclopedia covering all aspects of chemistry and chemical engineering. Good complement to Kirk-Othmer. [Adds/updates articles quarterly]

Comprehensive introduction to the large and diverse discipline of geomorphology, including techtonic, fluvial, anthropogenic, coastal/submarine, GIscience, and remote sensing. [2nd ed, 2022]

Covers fundamentals, technology and applications of atomic, electronic, high energy, magnetic, mass, vibrational and raman spectroscopy. [3rd ed., 2017]

Articles on the chemistry of solids, nanoparticles, and hybrid materials. Covers: materials and structure of solids, synthesis, characterization, nano and hybrid materials, theoretical description, and functional materials. [2017]

This is a comprehensive, 11 volume, online encyclopedia that covers such topics as earthquake seismology, geodesy, mantle and core dynamics, evolution of the Earth, and physics of terrestrial planets and moons [2nd ed, 2015].

This is a comprehensive, 15 volume, online encyclopedia that covers such topics as meteorites, planets, earth’s mantle, crust and core, surface & groundwater, marine geochemistry, sediments & sedimentary rocks, and organic geochemistry. [2nd ed, 2014]

Articles on biochemical topics in bioenergetics; cell architecture/function; lipids, carbohydrates, membranes, and proteins; metabolism, vitamins, and hormones; molecular biology; protein/enzyme structure function and degradation; and signaling. [2013]

Compilation on the science, engineering, and technology of electronic materials and devices. Covers organic electronics, electroceramics, complex oxides, magnetic materials; photonic materials; and sensors, energy, and nanoscale materials. [2023]

Comprehensive overview of the experimental and theoretical methods, phenomena and understanding, and applications of solid-liquid interfaces. [2023]

Comprehensively explains the scientific, application-based, interactive, and socio-ethical parameters of robotics, as a complement to the Springer Handbook of Robotics [2020]

Multi-disciplinary reference to the many fields relevant to the general field of nanotechnology. [2020]

Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of every aspect of modern nanoscience and nanotechnology, including nanomaterials, nanochemistry and nanofabrication, biological nanoscience, spectroscopy and microscopy, and nanoscience applications. [2nd ed, 2019]

Wiley multi-volume series covering these aspects of graphene: Growth, Synthesis and Functionalization; Physics, Chemistry, and Biology; Graphene‐Like 2D Materials; Composites; Graphene in Energy, Healthcare, and Environmental Applications; Biosensors and Advanced Sensors; Biomaterials; Graphene Technology and Innovation [2019]

Covers all aspects of nanotechnology, including nanofabrication, nanodevices, nanomechanics, bionanotechnology, nanorobotics, (bio)MEMS/NEMS, and scanning probe & force microscopies.

Articles on the chemistry of solids, nanoparticles, and hybrid materials. Covers: materials and structure of solids, synthesis, characterization, nano and hybrid materials, theoretical description, and functional materials. [2017]

Covers a spectrum of energy topics: fundamentals, materials, production, conversion, and management. [2018]

Articles on Materials and Engineering Mechanics, Instrumentation and Controls, Manufacturing and Management, and Energy and Power. [2014]

Descriptions and data about nanomaterials and their structure, properties, processing and applications. Divided into sections: NanoCarbons, NanoMetals, NanoCeramics, NanoComposits, Nanoporous Materials, Organic and Materials, Applications and Impact. [2013]

Covers all aspects of biodiversity (including marine biodiversity) and measures to protect it. Major themes: evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining, ecological patterns and theories, and contemporary patterns and trends. [3rd ed, 2024]

Encyclopedia covering the entire field of soil science, including biology, chemistry, physics, environmental management, and pedology/pedometrics. [2023]

Comprehensive overview of the experimental and theoretical methods, phenomena and understanding, and applications of solid-liquid interfaces. [2023]

Provides a global synthesis of the world’s imperiled species and ecosystems. It documents rarity and endangerment, the major drivers of loss, areas of conservation importance, and implementation strategies to save and restore imperiled species and ecosystems. [2022]

Explores the molecular and cellular biology, physiology and immunology that underpin normal lung function, along with the aberrations that occur in respiratory diseases, from common disorders to rarer lung diseases. [2nd ed, 2022]

Comprehensive life science encyclopedia that covers biochemistry, molecular biology, structural biology, and other topics of interest. [Updates monthly]

Covers topics on inland waters: distribution, properties of water, the hydrologic cycle, the physics of water movement in lakes and rivers, as well as waterborne diseases, the metabolism of aquatic ecosystems, pollution conservation, biodiversity, pollution and cycling of chemicals. [2nd ed, 2022]

Content explores viruses present in the environment and the pathogenic viruses of humans, animals, plants and microorganisms. Key areas and concepts concerning virus classification, structure, epidemiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, treatment and prevention are discussed. [4th ed, 2021]

Covers all aspects of microbiology: Historical
Microbial Diversity, Physiology and Genomics, Ecology and Evolution, Pathogenesis and Immunology, Technological Advances and Applied Microbiology. [4th ed. 2019]

Covers all aspects of ecology, from organisms, to populations, to communities and ecosystems. Laboratory, field, simulation modelling, and theoretical approaches are presented to show how living systems sustain structure and function in space and time. New areas of focus include micro- and macro scales, molecular and genetic ecology, and global ecology [2nd ed, 2019]

This comprehensive resource is a good place to start your research on all aspects of oceanography. For example, it includes authoritative information on ecology, ecosystems, fisheries, geology, geosciences, marine chemistry, and paleoceanography. [3rd ed, 2019]

Articles on atmospheric science and related subjects, including clouds, aerosols and global change. [2nd ed, 2015]

Open access encyclopedia with 8,000+ entries. New and updated articles, as well as original articles from the 2002 Encyclopaedia of Mathematics" published by Kluwer and Springer prior to that. [updating, so dates vary]

Springer's collection of nearly 40 encyclopedias & handbooks covering topics such as algorithms, cognitive mathematics, optimization, applied and computational mathematics.

Springer's collection of 45+ encyclopedias covering topics like cryptography, wireless networks, computer vision, machine learning, big data, biometrics, human-computer interaction, database systems, and algorithms.