STEM - General Research Guide: Find Journal Articles

Search for journal articles across multiple database and ejournal collections.. To limit results journal articles, select Peer-reviewed Journals under Show Only in the search results.

A better alternative to searching Google because it searches the scholarly literature rather than "everything." Very limited tools for refining searches, but you can go into the advanced search to limit a word or phrase be found in the title only. Indexes at the full text article level so it may identify articles not found in other databases. Using Google Scholar Advanced Search (1-min video)

Single platform for cross searching Compendex and Inspec for finding journal articles, conference papers, and other documents. Covers all aspects of engineering, including electrical, computer, structural, mechanical, aerospace, chemical, ocean, biomedical, and environmental engineering, as well as physics and related disciplines. Duplicate references between the two databases can be removed.

Full-text access to IEEE & IEE/IET transactions, journals, magazines & conference proceedings, standards, and ebooks for computer science, electrical engineering, and related disciplines. 1988-present, with selected archive coverage.

Covers journals and other sources in chemistry and related sciences--including nanotechnology, materials science, and chemical engineering. Can search by substances and reactions (including chemical structures). You are required to register to use SciFinder. You will need to run VPN if accessing this page from off campus. Students must have a ucsd.edu email address to sign up for SciFinder.

Excellent for biochemistry and other bio- topics like bionano-, biomaterials, and biomedical engineering.

Full text searching and access to journals and proceedings from the Association for Computing Machinery

Indexes journals and conference proceedings in engineering and physics (including physical chemistry).

Cover journals and other sources in chemistry and related sciences--including nanotechnology, materials science, and chemical engineering. You are required to register to use SciFinder. You will need to run VPN if accessing this page from off campus. Students in some programs like non-concurrently enrolled Extension courses may be ineligible to access SciFinder.

Excellent for biochemistry, biophysics, and other bio- topics like bionano-, biomaterials, and biomedical engineering.

The major index to mathematical literature for articles, books, and edited book chapters.

Indexes journals and conference proceedings in engineering and physics (including physical chemistry).

Pre-prints of articles in physics (including astrophysics) mathematics, and computer science

Database of millions of chemical compounds (with property data) and reactions, all with associated journal article references. Complementary to SciFinder.

Indexes journals and conference papers in astronomy, with additional coverage of physics and astrophysics

Indexes the biological literature (genetics, microbiology, zoology, etc) as well as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology

Core index to the biomedical literature, covering 5,500 journals in medicine and related sciences. Excellent for biochemistry and other bio- topics like bionano-, biomaterials, and biomedical engineering.

Covers articles and other sources in earth, atmospheric/climate science, and aquatic/marine sciences. Good for ecology and environmental science.

The GeoRef database contains over 3 million references from around 3,500 journals, technical reports, books, and theses. Use GeoRef to find journal articles in geology, seismology, marine geology, geophysics, paleontology, petrology and geological maps, going as far back as 1669 for some topics.

Extensive coverage of animal biology from 1864-present. Indexes over 4,500 journals, books, conference papers, & selected dissertations in zoology, and includes a very good subject vocabulary and helpful taxonomic hierarchies.