LibGuides: Anti-Racism Guide: Resources for Education and Action: Antiracism Curricula, Syllabi, Courses, and Pedagogy : Teach

Library Research Guides

Finding Guides on Topics
Guides on Anti-Racism and Related Topics

Many libraries, research and academic organizations use "Libguides" to create topical and subject specific research guides for their communities. This libguide is one of many created by UC San Diego librarians. You can discover others by searching using a term or search string and "libguide." Some examples of search terms to try include:

antiracism
oppression
Black Lives Matter
whiteness or white supremacy

See some good examples on the next tab.

Race, Racial Relations , and the Black Experience - UC Santa Barbara Library
Anti-Oppression Guide - Simmons University Library
Sections on different types of anti-ness, basics, privilege and intersectionality. Tools include definitions, pedagogy, and activism.
Black Lives Matter - Princeton University Library
Systemic Racism and Activism Libguide
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Recommended Books and Articles: Educational Resources and Articles- McGoogan Library of Medicine
CSUSM Black Lives Matter Guide
Cal State San Marcos Black Lives Matter Guide
CSUSM Stop Asian Hate Guide

Resources for Higher Education Classrooms

Information Literacy & EDI for Graduate Medical Education

Check out Clinical Conversations

The lesson plan on Social Determinants of Health could be easily adapted to many subjects.

Recognize prominent themes in the EDI & medicine research space

Diversity and inclusion
Health disparities
Social determinants of health
See AJPH special issue on health disparities research – frameworks and methods

Question formulation

Use checklists/frameworks to apply an EDI lens to your topic (or PICO question)

Literature searching

Search non-medical databases (since health EDI research is often multidisciplinary)
- Public health databases
- Psychology databases
- Nursing and Allied Health databases
- Social sciences databases
- Multidisciplinary databases such as Web of Science
- Global health databases
Search grey literature databases (since EDI research may be underfunded or experience publication bias)
- MedNar
- TRIP
- Funding databases like RePORT
Recognize other types of publications in the health disparities and equity research space
- Public policy papers
- Qualitative research studies
- Health statistics
Utilize our data and GIS lab to discover issues related to urban planning (for example) and the correlation between issues such as asthma and geography

Teaching Search Strategies

Avoid “canned searches” and pre-identified search terms

PubMed no longer updates its special queries and recommends a “do-it-yourself model”
- Emerging disciplines may not have standardized terms yet
But if you’re curious, try:
- PubMed query for health disparities (archived)
- Teach with boolean operators and truncations to discover specific issues, ie: [topic] AND (Diversity OR Inequalit* OR Equal* OR Equity OR Disparit* OR Discriminat* OR Inclusiv* OR Exclusiv*)
Learn ways to generate terms for health topics
Harvest terms from:
- related article search results
- cited reference search results

USC Anti-Racist Pedagogy Guide
This guide, a joint effort of the USC Libraries and the Anti-Racist Pedagogy Organizing Committee, provides resources for developing anti-racist pedagogical strategies and syllabi. With resources to use in the classroom, methods and challenges, pedagogy & whiteness and antiracism and allyship in the academy.
Teaching Computer Science Students About Algorithm Bias
As the information universe becomes increasingly dominated by algorithms, librarians have a role in partnering with other information scientists to ensure that libraries can be spaces where communities can optimize their search for information.
more...less...
Link to recording.
Decolonizing the Classroom
While these resources are intended for younger students, they can absolutely be applied in higher education classrooms.

Teaching for Black Lives book cover with two young black children leaping against sky and grass

Teaching For Black Lives: Black students' minds and bodies are under attack. We're fighting back.

Edited By Dyan Watson, Jesse Hagopian, Wayne Au

Teaching for Black Lives grows directly out of the movement for Black lives. We recognize that anti-Black racism constructs Black people, and Blackness generally, as not counting as human life. Throughout this book, we provide resources and demonstrate how teachers connect curriculum to young people’s lives and root their concerns and daily experiences in what is taught and how classrooms are set up. We also highlight the hope and beauty of student activism and collective action.

Teachingforblacklives.org

Socially just pedagogies : posthumanist, feminist and materialist perspectives in higher education / edited by Vivienne Bozalek, Rosi Braidotti, Tamara Shefer and Michalinos Zembylas
Chapter 7: Me Lo Dijo Un Pajarito -- Neurodiversity, Black Life and the University As We Know It: Neurodiversity in the University

Project READY: Reimagining Equity & Access for Diverse Youth
This site hosts a series of free, online professional development modules for school and public youth services librarians, library administrators, and others interested in improving their knowledge about race and racism, racial equity, and culturally sustaining pedagogy. The primary focus of the Project READY curriculum is on improving relationships with, services to, and resources for youth of color and Native youth.
more...less...
Project READY is funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Racial Justice Syllabus
From Duke University Press, available freely until September 30th, 2020

Scaffolding the Skills to Build an Anti-racist Future: How to Use a “Navigational Log” in the Literature Classroom
There is an urgent need to confront issues of race, inequality, and social justice, and to build a deeper awareness that promotes empathy and understanding. Critical issues must be faced, steps must be taken, and changes must be made in order to effectively address the underlying, systemic issues which give rise to social injustice.
more...less...
Copyright: Coursera
HASTAC Blog post: Scaffolding the Skills to Build an Anti-racist Future: How to Use a “Navigational Log” in the Literature Classroom
This blog post provides a detailed account of how I implement the “Navigational Log” in my courses to scaffold the skills of close reading, critical thinking and reflection, listening, and dialogue. It builds on the snapshot provided in the “progressive pedagogy” post. - Molly Appel, June 1, 2020
Open Yale Courses: African American History: From Emancipation to the Present
The purpose of this course is to examine the African American experience in the United States from 1863 to the present. Prominent themes include the end of the Civil War and the beginning of Reconstruction; African Americans’ urbanization experiences; the development of the modern civil rights movement and its aftermath; and the thought and leadership of Booker T. Washington, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, W.E.B. Du Bois, Marcus Garvey, Martin Luther King Jr., and Malcolm X. Warning: Some of the lectures in this course contain graphic content and/or adult language that some users may find disturbing.
Hollaback! Bystander Intervention Training
Hollaback! teaches bystander intervention using our proven 5D’s methodology: Distract, Delegate, Document, Delay, and Direct. Exit polls show that 98% of people we train leave confident they will intervene next time they witness disrespect or harassment. Here are specific trainings in this space that we offer:

Anti-Racism reading list
This anti-racist resource guide was crafted amidst the anger of the latest black body turned hashtag #AhmaudArbery. It is consistently being updated to address the current climate of our country and the personal growth needed to sustain this life-long journey.
more...less...
Tasha K
Email/Paypal:antiracismresourceguide@gmail.com
Venmo: @tatortash
Ca$hApp: $tatortash
Disrupting Whiteness in Libraries and Librarianship: A Reading List
This bibliography contains citations and links (when available) to resources focused on race, racism, and disrupting whiteness and white supremacy in libraries. Particular emphasis is placed on the field of library and information science and librarianship as a profession. The resources are organized by topic; non-LIS-specific resources can be found at the bottom of the list. Updates to the list will be highlighted at the top with the date. “New” indicates a new addition to this guide, not necessarily a newly-published resource.
The 1619 Project - The New York Times Magazine
The 1619 Project is an ongoing initiative from The New York Times Magazine that began in August 2019, the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery. It aims to reframe the country’s history by placing the consequences of slavery and the contributions of black Americans at the very center of our national narrative.

Talking about Race
Resources for educators and students by audience and on the resources page by the National Museum of African American History and Culture.
Dr. Kathy Obear: The Center for Transformation and Change
Resources and Links for white accountability groups.
Anti-Racist Educator Self-Examination Questionnaire and Rubric
The Anti-racism Digital Library and Thesaurus (ADL/T)
A research and development initiative that serves as a clearinghouse for anti-racism related resources. By Dr. Anita Coleman.
All collections emerge from the research and bring together information resources created by diverse people, groups and projects that are adapting anti-racism to help and build inclusive and caring communities. The goal of the Thesaurus is to help in the indexing and cataloging of information resources about anti-racism.
Cite Black Women: A Critical Praxis
We do not need mediators. We do not need interpreters. It's time to disrupt the canon. It's time to upturn the erasures of history. It's time to give credit where credit is due.

#1 - Read Black women's work
#2 - Integrate Black women into the CORE of your syllabus (in life & in the classroom).
#3 - Acknowledge Black women's intellectual production.
#4 - Make space for Black women to speak.
#5 - Give Black women the space and time to breathe.
Heterodox Academy
Heterodox Academy is a group of 4,200+ educators, administrators, & graduate students who believe diverse viewpoints & open inquiry are critical to research & learning. Tools, resources, and conversation.

Anti-Racism Guide: Resources for Education and Action

Teach page

Teachers for Black Lives