You can expect to use a variety of sources in your research. Some are common across all disciplines, like journal articles, while others may be more discipline-specific. Along with identifying the types of sources you need and how to find them, you will also need to understand what type of information your sources can provide in your research.
Here are some of the roles these resources can play. Many resources, including journal articles, can sometimes fill all of these roles.
| Role | Definition | Sources That Can Fill This Role | In a Research Journal Article |
|---|---|---|---|
| Background |
Provides more established, general information. Can analyze or synthesize recent research articles, but no first-time research is reported. |
Books, encyclopedias, and other reference works, handbooks. Review articles, which can be found in journals and book series (e.g. Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Chemical Society Reviews) |
Introduction section of the article |
| Argument |
Original research that you may build upon for your own research. Deeper engagement to affirm, refine, dispute, extend, etc. |
Research articles and conference proceedings | Multiple parts of the article, notably the results/discussion section(s), where the data is interpreted. |
| Methods |
Provides methods, protocols, and procedures that you may choose to replicate as part of your research. Examples:
|
Can be found in print and online sources, including books and handbooks, free websites, licensed databases. Review articles that focus on methodologies (e.g. Methods in Enzymology, Nature Reviews Methods Primers) |
Materials or methods, found either within the article and/or included in the supplemental or supporting information. |
| Data |
Provides data that can inform, support, or contradict your research. Often numerical and/or non-textual Examples include: chemical reactions, physical properties of chemicals and materials, crystallographic data (CIFs), prices of chemicals and materials, images and/or video. Possibly programming code. |
Can be found in print and online sources, including books and handbooks, free websites, licensed databases. Also data repositories
|
The data section of the article, usually with more data in the supplemental or supporting information. Data may also be posted in a repository like GitHub, or Zenodo, and linked from the article. |
Adapted from: Using a Source (DAB) and Choosing and Using Resources: A Guide to Academic Research
