Find Encyclopedias & Handbooks - STEM - General Research Guide - LibGuides at University of California San Diego

Encyclopedias and Other Reference Works

The articles in these encyclopedias, written by experts in the their respective disciplines, provide good overviews of science and engineering topics, with bibliographies to key research articles. These are a source for background information rather than the most recent research. For that, you would consult the databases to find articles.

Multidisciplinary Science and Engineering Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Access Science
General science and technology encyclopedia and dictionary. Only 2 people can use this encyclopedia at the same time, so try again later if you get "access denied."
Springer (Encyclopedias and Handbooks)
Multidisciplinary ebook and journal publisher with an extensive collection of encyclopedias and handbooks, particularly for science and engineering disciplines. You can search across the collection and limit results to Reference Work Entries, or start by browsing a subject and then select Reference Works.

You can also search Wiley and Elsevier/Science Direct directly, then limit your results to reference works or encyclopedias..

Discipline-Specific Science and Engineering Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Here are some of our more specialized reference works, with more listed on the subject guides. Mouse over the titles for more information.

Engineering, Nanotechnology

Encyclopedia of Robotics
Comprehensively explains the scientific, application-based, interactive, and socio-ethical parameters of robotics, as a complement to the Springer Handbook of Robotics [2020]
Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology
Multi-disciplinary reference to the many fields relevant to the general field of nanotechnology. [2020]
Comprehensive Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of every aspect of modern nanoscience and nanotechnology, including nanomaterials, nanochemistry and nanofabrication, biological nanoscience, spectroscopy and microscopy, and nanoscience applications. [2nd ed, 2019]
Handbook of Graphene
Wiley multi-volume series covering these aspects of graphene: Growth, Synthesis and Functionalization; Physics, Chemistry, and Biology; Graphene‐Like 2D Materials; Composites; Graphene in Energy, Healthcare, and Environmental Applications; Biosensors and Advanced Sensors; Biomaterials; Graphene Technology and Innovation [2019]
Springer Handbook of Nanotechnology
Covers all aspects of nanotechnology, including nanofabrication, nanodevices, nanomechanics, bionanotechnology, nanorobotics, (bio)MEMS/NEMS, and scanning probe & force microscopies.
Comprehensive Energy Systems
Covers a spectrum of energy topics: fundamentals, materials, production, conversion, and management. [2018]
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook
Articles on Materials and Engineering Mechanics, Instrumentation and Controls, Manufacturing and Management, and Energy and Power. [2014]
Springer Handbook of Nanomaterials
Descriptions and data about nanomaterials and their structure, properties, processing and applications. Divided into sections: NanoCarbons, NanoMetals, NanoCeramics, NanoComposits, Nanoporous Materials, Organic and Materials, Applications and Impact. [2013]

Chemistry, Materials Science, and Earth Science

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Comprehensive chemical encyclopedia covering all aspects of chemistry and chemical engineering. Good complement to Ullmann's. [Adds/updates articles quarterly]
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Comprehensive chemical encyclopedia covering all aspects of chemistry and chemical engineering. Good complement to Kirk-Othmer. [Adds/updates articles quarterly]
Treatise on Geomorphology
Comprehensive introduction to the large and diverse discipline of geomorphology, including techtonic, fluvial, anthropogenic, coastal/submarine, GIscience, and remote sensing. [2nd ed, 2022]
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
Covers fundamentals, technology and applications of atomic, electronic, high energy, magnetic, mass, vibrational and raman spectroscopy. [3rd ed., 2017]
Handbook of Solid State Chemistry
Articles on the chemistry of solids, nanoparticles, and hybrid materials. Covers: materials and structure of solids, synthesis, characterization, nano and hybrid materials, theoretical description, and functional materials. [2017]
Treatise on Geophysics
This is a comprehensive, 11 volume, online encyclopedia that covers such topics as earthquake seismology, geodesy, mantle and core dynamics, evolution of the Earth, and physics of terrestrial planets and moons [2nd ed, 2015].
Treatise on Geochemistry
This is a comprehensive, 15 volume, online encyclopedia that covers such topics as meteorites, planets, earth’s mantle, crust and core, surface & groundwater, marine geochemistry, sediments & sedimentary rocks, and organic geochemistry. [2nd ed, 2014]
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
Articles on biochemical topics in bioenergetics; cell architecture/function; lipids, carbohydrates, membranes, and proteins; metabolism, vitamins, and hormones; molecular biology; protein/enzyme structure function and degradation; and signaling. [2013]

Life, Health, and Marine Sciences

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Comprehensive life science encyclopedia that covers biochemistry, molecular biology, structural biology, and other topics of interest. [Updates monthly]
Encyclopedia of Inland Waters
Covers topics on inland waters: distribution, properties of water, the hydrologic cycle, the physics of water movement in lakes and rivers, as well as waterborne diseases, the metabolism of aquatic ecosystems, pollution conservation, biodiversity, pollution and cycling of chemicals. [2nd ed, 2022]
Encyclopedia of Virology
Content explores viruses present in the environment and the pathogenic viruses of humans, animals, plants and microorganisms. Key areas and concepts concerning virus classification, structure, epidemiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, treatment and prevention are discussed. [4th ed, 2021]
Encyclopedia of Microbiology
Covers all aspects of microbiology: Historical
Microbial Diversity, Physiology and Genomics, Ecology and Evolution, Pathogenesis and Immunology, Technological Advances and Applied Microbiology. [4th ed. 2019]
Encyclopedia of Ecology
Covers all aspects of ecology, from organisms, to populations, to communities and ecosystems. Laboratory, field, simulation modelling, and theoretical approaches are presented to show how living systems sustain structure and function in space and time. New areas of focus include micro- and macro scales, molecular and genetic ecology, and global ecology [2nd ed, 2019]
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
This comprehensive resource is a good place to start your research on all aspects of oceanography. For example, it includes authoritative information on ecology, ecosystems, fisheries, geology, geosciences, marine chemistry, and paleoceanography. [3rd ed, 2019]
Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences
Articles on atmospheric science and related subjects, including clouds, aerosols and global change. [2nd ed, 2015]

STEM - General Research Guide: Find Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Encyclopedias and Other Reference Works

Engineering, Nanotechnology

Chemistry, Materials Science, and Earth Science

Life, Health, and Marine Sciences