It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Special Resources: Regional "Books of LIsts" & Business News Sources
Many North American regional business publications have list features in their weekly publications that are devoted to the top companies or organizations on a particular topic or industry, like top women-owned businesses, top accounting firms, largest employers in... (name a city)., etc.These weekly lists are compiled annually into a Book of Lists for a city or region.
There are two main publishers of these weeklies, and their contents are incorporated into at least one of two of our subscription resources, Regional Business News and Business Insights: Global. Southern CA local publications are listed below. You'll have to experiment to find similar publications in another region.
1984-present. Full text (but no images) of the Union-Tribune, and before the 1990 merger, of the separate San Diego Union and Evening Tribune. For page images, library has on microfilm 1992-present and 1922-91.
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
Factiva.com provides access to over 8,000 sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports Factiva.com delivers content in 22 languages.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
LNA also covers news and academic content. It also contains Hoover's company reports, company financials, industry news, legal research, biographical information, and news transcripts. Successor product Nexis Uni now active.
Popular source of global business news, commentary and analysis on business, finance, and related topics for executives, students and researchers. Stay up-to-date on the world's economic changes. We have several options for you: FT.com(most current coverage; for Rady graduate programs only). All others should use one of these: Financial Times via Newsbank, (1982-current minus latest 30 days; power searching features, text only) or Financial Times via Business Insights: Global(1999-current - 30 days; power search, downloadable audio format for each article; also offers a link to browse by daily issue). For deep historical content use Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2020).
Barron's front page is under the news pages tab in Factiva, plus you can search for Barron's articles in the main search screen. Rady graduate students have special subscription access via these instructions.
This ProQuest site includes coverage of WSJ Eastern Edition, 1984-present; WSJ Online, 2010-present; and WSJ: The Magazine, 2011-present. This PQ version has a powerful and precise search engine for finding specific items or topics.
1994-present. Translations and summaries by U.S. government of international magazine, newspaper, and newswire stories, transcripts from speeches and radio and television broadcasts, and nonclassified technical reports.
This database contains background information on advertisers and advertising agencies and fields related to applied marketing. Topic Search leads to current awareness articles by leaders in the field. Access from on campus is limited to two at a time. If you are on campus and get the 'login' screen, try again in a few minutes.
Sports Market Analytics provides "one-stop" access to market research, consumer demographics, and industry news related to a broad range of sporting activities, events and facilities. Coverage includes US and international sport, along the dimensions of professional and college sports, leagues, events, athletes, fans, sponsorship, branding and merchandise (apparel, footwear, equipment), broadcast and social media, mobile sports, attendance and trends. There are some directories with links to sports management education programs and employment resources.
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, equity research reports, and industry reports.
Includes research reports on key business topics; annual surveys entitled Top executive compensation, Corporate contributions, Directors' compensation and Board practices, and CEO challenge.
backfiles of data from 1998 and selected earlier reports; Executive action series of topical reports on issues of current concern; StraightTalk which is in-depth analysis of critical economic topics and forecasts of the U.S. economy, interest rates, and foreign exchange rates; Topline data on business ex
Latest Wall Street Journal feed via ProQuest
Click the link to display the latest news
Company Directories & Lists
These resources help you do quick company look-ups and/or create lists based on criteria like 'give me all the companies in San Diego that have under 250 employees.'