Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GLBH 150A: Global Health Senior Capstone: Getting Full-Text Articles

This Guide is designed to assist undergraduate students writing senior theses on topics involving intersections of Anthropology and Global Health

Getting to Full Text through Get it at UC

Getting to Articles Online

Many databases are citation databases - they have the citation information and an abstract, but do not offer the article in full-text. 

The Library has a special tool to help you get from the database to the article, often with just one click.  If the article isn't available full-text within the database itself (if available, you will see the PDF icon), click on the Get it at UC button Get it at UC logo  to check for your full text options (see the image below). 

From nearly all UCSD databases (and even in Google Scholar), you should see the Get it at UC button. 

Get it at UC makes it easy to:

  1. Check for online access.
  2. See if we have the print version.
  3. Use Request options to have us get a copy from another library (known as interlibrary loan).  Now sign-in with SSO instead of needing your barcode.   
  4. Format the citation information in one of 5 styles (a numbered style will be available soon) to easily copy & paste into a document or email. 

Screenshot of full text options in UC Library Search

Help! I cannot Login 

As we work out the kinks in the new UC Library Search, we have found that a few people have trouble logging in using SSO.  This login is not required to access full text - you need the VPN for that.  The login is for requesting articles or books that we do not have in our collection.  Here are some steps to get around that problem.

  • Use the second option to sign in with your email.  
    • If that is a problem, please contact us via our Ask Us service.
  • Don't have time right now to fix this?  Simply place your request for interlibrary loan using the online Request Form.