Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Marine Biodiversity & Conservation - MAS Program: Books & E-Books

Library guide to resources in marine biodiveristy and conservation

UC Library Search

UC Library Search UC Library Search includes all UC Libraries and some of Worldcat

UC Library Search, accessible from the search box on the library's homepage, helps you locate books, film, music, maps, and various other materials at the UC San Diego Library and beyond. It also contains a limited number of online journals and newspaper articles. You may search by keyword, title, and author, and filter your search to what is available online. You can also place an interlibrary loan request through UC Library Search for materials at other UC campuses or libraries worldwide using your Single Sign-On credentials.

 

Search Tips 

  • Sign in to access full results lists, electronic resources, request items, and save records. To access electronic resources, you must be logged into the VPN.
  • Capitalize the operators AND, OR, NOT when combining key search terms.
  • To request items that the Library doesn't have click the Request button.
  • Click Digitalization to request scans of print book chapters or print articles.

 

UC Library Search is one part of your complete search.

 

UC Library Search does not include all the content to which the Library subscribes. To extend your search, try a database. The database you use depends on the topic or subject you have chosen and the type of information you need to access. You may choose among broad subject areas (e.g., biology, art, political science, etc.), as well as interdisciplinary databases or ones that search across multiple disciplines. 

You must also be logged into the VPN to access the information for any database with a blue lock icon. blue locked padlock

A-Z Databases

Key E-Book Collections at UCSD

Guide for E-Books and Database for Dissertations & Theses

  • Please use our eBooks Guide for a general guide covering a lot of information on locating, searching, and troubleshooting eBook collections.
  • To find UC San Diego dissertations and theses search the specialized ProQuest database Dissertations and Theses for UCSD and other institutions. Almost all UC dissertations from 1996 to present are available online, in full text, and others can be requested using the UCSD Library's Interlibrary Loan service.

HathiTrust for Scripps Digital Collection

Use HathiTrust to browse & search over 111,810 items digitized from the former Scripps Library collection. This digitized collection in HathiTrust includes books, technical reports, & series in oceanography, earth & marine sciences, and atmospheric sciences fields, plus Scripps Institution of Oceanography publications. Search this collection in HathiTrust, and use your UCSD login to gain access to more full text content.