This introduction is geared towards upper level undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty, and researchers. English and Chinese language resources are included.
Contains over 25,900 volumes of Chinese gazetteers, covering 31 provinces and autonomous regions. Provides detailed geographic and historical records of provinces, prefectures, cities, and smaller district administration units. Coverage since 1949.
Pre 1949. Contains geographical works known as “gazetteers”, dating from Qin dynasty until the Republic era. Gazetteers included are grouped by type such as temples and mountains, as well as jurisdiction: national and comprehensive level (总志, 一统志), provincial level (省), district level (府, 州), county level (县), township (镇) and village (村) level.
On the login page, select “愛如生古籍數據庫,” then click “Login.” On the new page, click on the image with the wording, 中國方志庫. From the table of contents page, click on the one with “合集” to connect to the entire database. Remember to click “exit” from the homepage/gateway when done, otherwise the next user will have to wait at least 15 minutes). Contains geographical works known as “gazetteers”, dating from Qin dynasty until the Republic era. Gazetteers included are grouped by type such as temples and mountains, as well as jurisdiction: national and comprehensive level (总志, 一统志), provincial level (省), district level (府, 州), county level (县), township (镇) and villege (村) level.
The open dataset consisting of data selected from the ULS collection of Chinese village gazetteers. Village gazetteers record statistical data on individual villages, covering the years from 1949 to the present showing the history and development of Chinese villages (the village is the most basic administrative unit in China). The CCVG Data project, the first of its kind, offers scholars a dataset based on the ULS East Asian Library’s growing collection of Chinese village gazetteers, which currently numbers over 2,500. The initial dataset covers 500 villages and was uploaded in September 2019.
