Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latin American Studies Online: News Sources

Set up Alerts to Keep Up!

A great way to keep up with new periodical publications is to use BrowZine to create customized list of your favorite scholarly, peer-reviewed journals and News Sources (64 max), which you can access on the web (via BrowZine.com), through a mobile app, or both as it syncs your account across all devices. 

Important Open Access Online News Sites

LANIC Newspapers and News 

lists many different news sites, most offering some free content.

Latin American Newspapers (Zona Latina) 

list by country of newspaper web sites, some with free content

UN News 

San Diego News

The San Diego Union-Tribune and its predecessors are available in a mix of formats.

Online access to UCSD affiliates is available for:

Microfilm access is available for issues from 1871-present. The newspaper has gone through various name changes, but all are together at call number XF 248. Microfilm provides cover-to-cover page images of all issues. 

Historical Newspaper Content

Proquest Historical Newspapers Licensed by UCSD 

Cover to cover article text and page images of the Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851-2005), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Washington Post (1877-1992), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991).

Also includes:

Civil War Era‎
Atlanta Daily World (1931 - 2003)
The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger‎ (1857 - 1922)
The American Israelite‎ (1854 - 2000)
The Arizona Republican‎ (1890 - 2007)
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
The Austin American Statesman‎ (1871 - 1978)
The Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1992)
The Boston Globe (1872-1986)
Calgary Herald: (1883-2010)
Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832 - 1953)
The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004)
The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841 - 2009)
Cleveland Call & Post (1934 - 1991)
Communist Historical Newspaper Collection‎ (1917 - 2013)
Dayton Daily News (1898 - 1922)
Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999)
Edmonton Journal (1903-2010)
The Globe and Mail‎ (1844 - 2014)
The Guardian and The Observer‎ (1791 - 2003)
Hartford Courant (1764 - 1992)
Indianapolis Star (1903 - 2004)
The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times‎ (1859 - 2016)
The Jerusalem Post‎ (1932 - 2008)
The Jewish Advocate‎ (1905 - 1990)
The Jewish Exponent‎ (1887 - 1990)
The Korea Times‎ (1956 - 2016)
Leader-Post (Regina) (1883-2010)
Los Angeles Sentinel‎ (1934 - 2005)
Louisville Courier Journal
Michigan Chronicle (1936 - 2010)
Montreal Gazette (1857 - 2010
Minneapolis Star Tribune‎ (1867 - 2001)
The Nashville Tennessean (1812 - 2002)
Newsday (1940 - 1989)
New York Amsterdam News (1922 - 1993)
New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841 - 1962)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916 - 2003)
Ottawa Citizen (1846-2010)
The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860 - 2001)
Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2001)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911 - 2002)
Pittsburgh Post-Gazete (1786 - 2003)
The Province (Vancouver) (1898-2010)
Saskatoon Star Phoenix (1902-2009)
The Scotsman‎ (1817 - 1950)
South China Morning Post
St. Louis Post Dispatch‎ (1874 - 2003)
Times Colonist (Victoria) (1884-2010)
The Times of India
Toronto Star‎ (1894 - 2015)
Vancouver Sun (1912-2010)
Windsor Star (1893 - 2010)

Latin American Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive Licensed by UCSD 

Searchable, full-text collection of more than 200 newspapers published in the 19th early 20th century from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. Covers period 1805 through 1922 only.

The Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010) 

The Financial Times Historical Archive provides full-text searching and access to one of the world’s most authoritative sources on international business, economics, and politics, from 1888-2010.

California Digital Newspaper Project 

Coordinates preservation of California newspapers printed since 1846. Catalog shows publishing history and library locations for nearly 13,000 papers. Part of the state-by-state U.S. Newspaper Project. Based at UC Riverside.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 Licensed by UCSD 

Over 360 Spanish-language newspapers from 15 states (including California) published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Search, browse and view article and page images.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports Licensed by UCSD 

1941-1996. Translations by U.S. government of international magazine, newspaper, and newswire stories, transcripts from speeches and radio and television. Scanned from print Daily Report issues covering areas such as China, East Asia, Latin America.

Best Bets

Factiva Licensed by UCSD 

There are current access issues to Factiva -- for a workaround

1. go to the Newspapers Research Guide

2. Click on Daily Feed of NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Washington Post 

3. There is an option in the UC Newsstand drop-down menu in the upper left-hand corner to select Latin American Newspapers

Factiva.com provides access to over 8,000 sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports Factiva.com delivers content in 22 languages. You can narrow by country, language and other filters.

*To search Factiva effectively, IT IS ESSENTIAL TO (IE MAKE MAKE SURE THAT) YOU USE BOOLEAN SEARCH TERMS!!!

Economist.com Licensed by UCSD 

Publisher portal to articles in Economist magazine (1997- ) plus related content. Our URL provides access to the restricted "premium content" inside. (Longer online runs of Economist articles are available via other databases; see Help Links.)

 The Financial Times 

Access to the Financial Times from 1999 on is provided through Business Insights Global. In order to search in the Financial Times only, put in Financial Times in a separate search field (with your keyword search terms in one search field, and Financial Times as Publication Title in another.

FULL TEXT NEWS DATABASES

Access World News Licensed by UCSD 

Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.

AP Images Licensed by UCSD 

With millions of images dating back more than 150 years, this is one of the world's largest archives of historical & current imagery. Updated every minute. Includes news, entertainment, arts, business, and sports coverage from AP and selected partners.

 Business News Americas 

Industry and company news and reports covering technology, telecom, electric power, oil and gas, mining, infrastructure, banking, insurance, water, and privatization sectors across Latin America.  Consequently, also useful for following news on the ways that various "development" projects affect the environment and peoples living in the affected area.  Important Access Information:

IMPORTANT ACCESS INFORMATION for BNA AMERICAS(1) The first time you login, you need to use the passwordless login – put in your email, and click on send magic link. (2) The magic link will probably go to your Junk Mail/Spam – and, if you have that set so that you get a daily digest, by the time you get it, it will probably have expired.  Here’s how to get it more quickly and unblock it for the future. (3) Search your inbox or junk mail or deleted mail for: UCSD Spam Quarantine noreply@ucsd.edu (4) Click on “Request New End User Digest” – which will bring up a digest of your most recent spam alerts (5) Find the message from bnamericasnews.com (likely in your junk mail) and click on “Release and Allow Sender” – so that that this email will go into your inbox and, in the future, any emails from BNAmericas will not be blocked.  Once you get in, you will be able to reset your password for continued use.

The Economist (1997-Present) Licensed by UCSD 

Economist Intelligence Unit Portal Licensed by UCSD 

Searchable online archive (1996- ) and feed of Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong on current political, economic, and business affairs worldwide.

EMIS Intelligence Licensed by UCSD 

Foreign business intelligence service covering macroeconomic analysis, companies, industries, finance and news in Latin America and other regions. From the main page, select country or countries then news sources. Selected full text of many important newspapers.

 Ethnic NewsWatch Licensed by UCSD 

1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

Factiva Licensed by UCSD 

Provides access to over 1000 global and local newspapers, 3000 journals and magazines, in 22 languages. Includes selected full text of some major Latin American newspapers. You can limit your search to newspapers by world region and country.

The Financial Times (1999-) 

Access to the Financial Times from 1999 on is provided through Business Insights Global. In order to search in the Financial Times only, put in Financial Times in a separate search field (with your keyword search terms in one search field, and Financial Times as Publication Title in another.

 Keesing's World News Archive Licensed by UCSD 

1931-present. More than 75 years of international news reports, with summaries of political, economic and social events. Search by subject or browse by country. UCSD users ignore logon prompt. May be down for regular maintenance 8-9pm California time

Latin America Data Base  

Searchable database of weekly newsletters covering Latin American political and economic affairs. 1986-2018.

LatinNews Licensed by UCSD 

Online archive and feed of the Latin American Newsletters (London) family of political economic news and analysis publications - also known as Latin American Intelligence Service. Earliest coverage reaches back to 1967.

more...  

Los Angeles Times (1881-Present)

Military & Government Collection Licensed by UCSD 

Offers current news on all branches of the military and government through a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.

New York Times (1999-present) Licensed by UCSD 

Nexis Uni Licensed by UCSD 

thousands of full-text sources, including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, trade journals, and some legal information. Coverage dates vary. Includes partial full text from some Latin American news sources and magazines

 World News Connection Licensed by UCSD 

Online news service obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, newswires, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Coverage 1994-2013. Successor to FBIS.

World Newsreels Online 1929-1966 Licensed by UCSD 

A collection of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. The collection is semantically indexed, allowing users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places 546 English, French or Japanese with English transcripts.