This guide gathers in one place the links to company financial datasets, industry ratios, background information, news on finance topics and academic research articles for corporate finance and financial markets.
Search on and open an individual company's profile. Click on the tab named Filings. SEC filings. There are the current 90 days of filings and a filings search for older material. Why use Mergent instead of the SEC's EDGAR site? Here, the filings are downloadable as HTML, Word, Excel, and PDF format. the search form is easier to pull specific types of filings.
Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. RW is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
RW is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.
Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.
Which SEC filings give me the most relevant information for my analysis?
The 10-K is a good place to be thorough. Especially check out the footnotes to the financials and the Management Discussion.
ARS —the annual report; SC-13 changes in beneficial ownership, S-8 changes in employee benefit plans, DEF 14 proxy series. For a complete list of the forms and what they cover see http://www.sec.gov/about/forms/secforms.htm
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports.
Search here for historical annual reports (starting from 1925), business ratios (starting from 1979) and the company and industry report publications known as the Moody's/Mergent's manuals (starting from 1909, including the industrial, public utilities, transportation, banking, OTC, banking & finance, and international publications and statistical data). For current company information, use Mergent Online, and for current ratios, use Key Business Ratios.
Guides & Background Reading
Financial Statement Analysis, 5th ed. by Martin S. Fridson; Fernando AlvarezThe updated, real-world guide to interpreting and unpacking GAAP and non-GAAP financial statements. Rather than taking financial statements at face value, you'll learn practical and straightforward analytical techniques for uncovering the reality behind the numbers. This book also teaches readers the tricks that companies use to mislead, so readers can more clearly interpret statements. Learn how to read and understand financial statements prepared according to GAAP and non-GAAP standards. Compare CFROI, EVA, Valens, and other non-GAAP methodologies to determine how accurate companies' reports are. Improve your business decision making, stock valuations, or merger and acquisition strategy.
Call Number: Wiley e-book
Publication Date: 2022
Analysis of Financial Statements, 3rd ed. by Pamela Peterson Drake; Frank J. FabozziThis practical guide to understanding and interpreting financial statements for assessing a company's financial health and risks. The book covers issues of transparency, cash flow, income reporting, and much more. Whether evaluating a company's financial information or figuring valuation for M&A's, analyzing financial statements is essential for both professional investors and corporate finance executives. The Third Edition of Analysis of Financial Statements contains valuable insights that can help you excel at this endeavor.
Call Number: Wiley e-book
Publication Date: 2012
How to Read a Financial Report, 9th ed. by John A.& Tage C.TracyThis perennial favorite beginner’s guide to reading and understanding financial reports has been updated. It’s intended for investors, lenders, business leaders, analysts, and managers who want to read, analyze, and interpret financial accounting reports. Designed specifically for non-specialists, this reader-friendly resource covers the fundamentals of financial reporting in jargon-free English.
The Compustat dataset contains historical financials and content that went into the annual 10K filings.
Currently includes (as of 9/14/2021):
Bank Regulatory Database
CBOE (Chicago Board Options Exchange)
S&P Compustat Bank
Compustat Bank - daily updates
S&P Compustat Global
Compustat Global - daily updates
Compustat Legacy - Global
S&P Compustat North America - annual update (current + historical data)
Compustat North America - daily updates (current + historical data)
Compustat Legacy - North America
S&P Compustat North America - monthly update (current + historical data)
S&P Compustat Historical Segments
Compustat Historical Segments - daily updates
Contributed Data - Characteristic Returns
Contributed Database: Intangible Value
KPSS Technological Innovation
Contributed Database: LIVA
CRSP/Compustat Merged (Annual)
CRSP Indexes (Annual)
CRSP Stock (Annual)
CRSP Treasuries (Annual)
CRSP Ziman Real Estates (Annual)
CRSP Index History Intraday (Quarterly)
Dow Jones Averages & Total Return Indexes
Direct Marketing Educational Foundation
SEC Disclosure of Order Execution Statistics
Fama-French portfolios and factors
Federal Judicial Center Linking
Federal Judicial Center Litigation
Federal Reserve Board Foreign Exchange Rates, Interest Rates, and State Composite Indexes
Macro Finance Society
MSRB - Municipal Securities Transaction Data
OTC Markets End-of-Day Pricing
Philadelphia Stock Exchange Currency Options and Implied Volatility
Publicly Available Data
The Penn World Tables Database
Research Quotient (provided to all academics with a Compustat subscription)
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1993
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1994
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1995
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1996
NYSE Trades & Quotes 2014
NYSE Trades & Quotes - Exists for FK contraint
NYSE Trades and Quotes - for website use
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2014
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2015
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2016
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2017
NYSE Short Sales 2005
NYSE Short Sales 2006
NYSE Short Sales 2007
Total q by Luke Taylor
FINRA TRACE Enhanced
FINRA TRACE corporate bond trades
WRDS Research Applications
WRDS Backtest Basic
WRDS Beta Suite
WRDS Efficient Frontier
WRDS EU Short Sales
Event Study Intl using Compustat
Event Study Intraday
Event Study Long Run
Event Study US
WRDS Financial Ratios (base)
WRDS Financial Ratios with CCM
Linking Suite: Bond - CRSP
Linking Suite: TAQ Monthly - CRSP
Linking Suite: TAQ Daily - CRSP
Linking Suite: Supply Chain
WRDS Patent Database
WRDS SAS Visual Analytics
WRDS Company Subsidiaries
WRDS World Indices
Free programmatic access to stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, foreign exchange rates, financial reports from SEC filings, and over 50 derived technical indicators. Free API key allows up to 500 API calls per day by default. More information: (1) introduction to stock APIs, (2) official API documentation
This resources provide the text and detailed numeric information from all financial statements and their notes. Covers: January 2009 - March 2023. There is also a pared down dataset called Financial Statement Datasets.