It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide gathers in one place the links to company financial datasets, industry ratios, background information, news on finance topics and academic research articles for corporate finance and financial markets.
Welcome to this curated and changing virtual bookshelf of new or recent titles, where I attempt to highlight the broad range of topics covered by 'business' and "finance" and provide reading options for those browsing for something interesting.
This publication focuses on analysis of credit risk, derivatives, equity investments, portfolio management, quantitative methods, and risk management. In terms of application, this book can be used as an important tool to explain how to generate data rows of expected exposure to counterparty credit risk. The book also directs the reader on how to visualize, in real time, the results of this data, generated with a java tool.
Navigate equity investments and asset valuation with confidence. This edition blends theory and practice to paint an accurate, informative picture of the equity asset world. The most comprehensive resource on the market, this text supplements your studies for the third step in the three-level CFA certification program by integrating both accounting and finance concepts to explore a collection of valuation models and challenge you to determine which models are most appropriate for certain companies and circumstances.
The author shows readers tried-and-true trend trading methodologies. This book includes in-depth and comprehensive treatments of topics like: Why trend trading is so appealing; popular and effective trend trading strategies; how to measure risk; and common trend trading mistakes and how to avoid them. Investors and readers will also discover the importance of risk, and how to judge outcomes and strategies on a risk-adjusted basis.
In in the 20 years since its successful first edition, the economy has changed, the investment world has evolved, and the discipline of value investing has adapted to this new environment. This 2nd edition extends and refines an approach to investing that began with Benjamin Graham and David Dodd during the Great Depression and was adapted by Warren Buffett, Charlie Munger, and others to earn returns in an environment in which the opportunity to buy a stock worth a dollar for 50 cents is no longer waiting in plain sight. .
The financial services industry is being transformed by heightened regulation, technological disruption, and changing demographics. These structural forces have lowered barriers to entry, increasing competition from within and outside the industry. While this industry is continuously evolving, the speed and breadth of changes over the past decade have been unprecedented. This increased competition is forcing the financial incumbents to improve their product offerings and customer service. This edited volume outlines the strategic implications for financial services firms in North America, Europe, and other advanced economies.
Bringing to bear more than thirty years of experience working closely with farmers, agricultural researchers and food system activists, he explores the eclipse of food ethics during the rise of nutritional science, and examines the reasons for its sudden re-emergence in the era of diet-based disease. Thompson discusses social injustice in the food systems of developed economies and shows how we have missed the key insights for understanding food ethics in the developing world.
Microfinance began with the noble aim of alleviating poverty through the extension of small loans to poor borrowers, and has grown to now serve approximately 200,000,000 people - the majority of whom are female. In a thorough-going ethical assessment of the industry, this book examines the central microfinance model and whether or not it is effective, the extent to which the practice creates the conditions for exploitation and coercion to occur, and whether the distribution of the benefits and burdens of microfinance is likely to be an ethical one.
The key to advancing gender equality? Men. In this important book, they show that men have a crucial role to play in promoting gender equality at work and this book explains why, and how they can do it.
Recent advances in digital technology and big data have allowed FinTecleh nding to emerge as a potentially promising solution to reduce the cost of credit and increase financial inclusion. However, machine learning (ML) methods that lie at the heart of FinTech credit have remained largely a black box for the nontechnical audience. This publication examines the central role of data in ML-based analysis, and argues that data relevance should be ensured, especially in situations when a deep structural change occurs, when borrowers could counterfeit certain indicators, and when agency problems arising from information asymmetry could not be resolved, as well as to avoid digital financial exclusion and redlining, variables that trigger discrimination should not be used to assess credit rating.
Fair Shot: rethinking inequality & how we earn by Chris Hughes (Contribution by)
Call Number: HC110.I5 H84, Geisel 6th fl.
Publication Date: 2018
Facebook co-founder Chris Hughes argues for guaranteed basic income. This book, grounded in Hughes's personal experience, is intended to start a frank conversation about how we earn in modern America, how we can combat income inequality, and ultimately, how we can give everyone a fair shot.
Why do stock and housing markets sometimes experience amazing booms followed by massive busts and why is this happening more and more frequently? In order to answer these questions, the authors take us on a riveting ride through the history of financial bubbles, visiting, among other places, Paris and London in 1720, Latin America in the 1820s, Melbourne in the 1880s, New York in the 1920s, Tokyo in the 1980s, Silicon Valley in the 1990s and Shanghai in the 2000s.
This original and panoramic book proposes that the underlying forces of demography and globalisation will shortly reverse three multi-decade global trends, and demonstrates how these demographic trends are on the point of reversing sharply, coinciding with a retreat from globalisation. Covering many social and political factors, as well as those that are more purely macroeconomic, the authors address topics including ageing, dementia, inequality, populism, retirement and debt finance, among others.
Entrepreneurial You: monetize your expertise, create multiple income streams and thrive by Dorie Clark
Call Number: HB615 .C647, Geisel 6th fl.
Publication Date: 2017
There are many publications in our collection from Harvard Business Review Press. This recent addition focuses on how to be more entrepreneurial and create a career you love based on your strengths. It specifically coaches you through developing a sideline and freelancing. The author, a successful entrepreneur and author, speaks from experience and provides concrete advice and shares stories from her interviews with other entrepreneurs.
Projects often fail not because of the vision, but in the articulation of that vision. With the help of this book, you'll learn how to ensure you get the results you desire as a leader and communicator including: Speak with conviction and write with impact Tailor your communication to any goal, setting, or audience. Scale your leadership through effective coaching .
The rules in business are more flexible than ever before. That means it's actually harder to know what's appropriate at any time. Fortunately the keys to conducting yourself at internal or client meetings, at any given time, are still understanding, kindness and courtesy. Make sure you know how to represent yourself and your company in any situation.
This FT.com top book of 2002 is a penetrating account of how unchecked capital mobility is damaging international cooperation, polarizing the economic landscape, and ultimately reshaping the global order. The author argues that regional restrictions will soon strengthen and a multipolar order will take shape, leading to a distinctly transformed economic landscape. Combining history, analysis, and prediction, this book provides penetrating insight into the challenges facing the international economic order.
The Deficit Myth by Stephanie Kelton
Publication Date: 2020
A New York Times Bestseller, the author’s new exploration of modern monetary theory (MMT) dramatically challenges our understanding of how we can best deal with crucial issues ranging from poverty and inequality to creating jobs, expanding health care coverage, climate change, and building resilient infrastructure.
Recently mentioned in the press or on social media
Written by leading players in a burgeoning technology revolution, this book is about the merger of finance and technology, and covers its various components and how they impact each discipline within the financial services industry
NYT bestselling author and well-known podcaster (The Tim Ferriss Show) crystallized his interviews with people who are living examples of striving for excellence in many areas of their professional and personal lives (business people, athletes, scientists, politicians, creatives). Ferriss probes into routines, philosophies, and personal experience and reports on ideas to aid self-development, financial and career success. We also have a print edition of this publication.
The author, a leading sociologist of money, examines the nature of money, in order to help the reader gain new perspective after the global financial crisis and with the emergence of new forms and systems of it, such as mobile money and Bitcoin. He covers the utopian aspects of money and the ways in which its transformation could in turn transform society, politics, and economics.
This NYT & WSJ Bestseller was ased on an in-depth analysis of over 2,600 leaders drawn and overturn the myths about what it takes to get to the top and succeed. Their groundbreaking research was the featured cover story in the May-June 2017 issue of HBR. This book provides practical advice from these findings, and is for everyone who aspires to rise up through the organization and achieve their full potential.
Finance is entering a new era, driven by data and AI. This playlist is Yves Hilpisch’s picks highlight these areas, along with other technologies revolutionizing the industry. They include videos and e-book chapters.
This book covers leading organizations and motivating all who work there through optimism, enthusiasm and positive energy. It looks at drivers of short- and long-term success and covers how to have a positive organizational culture.
Samuel B. Bacharach specifies why organizations fall into patterns of inertia and details the critical pragmatic leadership skills leaders need to regain organizational momentum. He employs case illustrations to identify clunky tendencies and inertia within organizations across a wide range of business sectors including technology, finance, banking, home entertainment, and retail. Illustrations are drawn from organizations such as Amazon, Apple, Borders, Merrill Lynch, Nintendo, Starbucks, and Unilever, among many others.
Wei Yen explores how differences in world views between Eastern and Western thought and culture have on management and leadership behaviors, and explores how these differences impact today's leadership and management practices.
The way one communicates across ethnicities and cultures can vary, leading to miscommunication and misinterpretation. In a diverse setting, communication is far more complicated than the linear model of communication. What constitutes the principles of cross cultural communication, and how these principles can be developed and applied across most cultures and countries is the focus of this book.
Cathrin Huber investigates the reputation of multinational corporations and provides novel insights and important implications for researchers and managers based on theoretical considerations and empirical analyses.