Finance Research: Article Databases & News

This guide gathers in one place the links to company financial datasets, industry ratios, background information, news on finance topics and academic research articles for corporate finance and financial markets.

Top Picks for Finance

Accounting, Tax, & Banking Collection
This ProQuest database contains highly-ranked global and scholarly journals, current news and trade journals on topics in accounting, banking and taxation. It's useful for articles on the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day.
Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
EconLit
Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.

Additional Academic Article Databases

Critical Finance Review The CFR publishes leading academic research in all areas of financial economics. At the CFR, we believe the hallmark of a science is not replicability but actual critical replication. Although the CFR's special niche is critiques, it also publishes many non-critique papers.

America: History and Life 1895-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. Over 1,800 journals are indexed.
Applied Science & Technology & Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective AST covers 1983-present; AS&BP Index covers 1913-1983. This resource indexes almost 400 science and technology periodicals. This database is great for historical coverage of how a company, product or industry was covered in the popular business and technical press over time.
Dissertations and Theses (Proquest) Ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Where available, it provides a 24-page preview of a document. Most UC dissertations from mid-1990s forward are available for full-text PDF download.
Google Scholar Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses/dissertations, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Settings-->Library Links option to setup "University of California, San Diego - Get it at UC" and if you are searching from off campus, log in to the VPN to get full access to UC San Diego subscribed article content.
Historical Abstracts 1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includesindexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
JSTOR Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
MathSciNet The major index to mathematical literature for articles, books, and edited book chapters. Covers literature back to the early 1800s.
Mathematical Reviews (MR) from articles and books published since 1940. Bibliographic data from retro-digitized articles dates back to the early 1800s.
PsycINFO 1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly and includes an index of PsycArticles.
Web of Science Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Westlaw Campus Research Full text access to federal and state court cases, laws and regulations; law reviews, legal periodicals, and encyclopedias; European Union legal documents; and legal guides. Also includes some news sources.

Useful Business News Sources

Most Popular / Comprehensive

Gale Business Insights
GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
Factiva
Provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, news wires, television news transcripts, newsletters, magazines, and trade journals. Business sources include company information, industry news, and biographical information. Legal sources include law reviews, legal reference works, and federal and state caselaw (court decisions), statutes, and regulations. Also includes select international court opinions and municipal ordinances. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources.
LSEG Refinitiv Workspace
Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. Workspace is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
Workspace is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.

All the Rest - Alphabetical Order

Access World News
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.

Barron's (Factiva)
Barron’s is a long-standing business news publication focused on financial markets and investing. Content is international in scope, through a "Wall Street" lens. This link searches across all Barron’s content via our Factiva platform, covering the print editions (1987-present) plus the Barron’s Online content (starts 2008), blogs and podcasts (starts 2022). Alternative access points:
- Newsstand format provides the four latest editions arranged section-by-section, and browseable like the original newspaper. From the main Barron’s link, navigate to Home on Factiva’s menu, and scroll to the US Newsstand section. Barron’s is on the fourth dot of the carousel.
- Individual Factiva articles offer translate-on-demand into multiple languages, or text-to-audio for English content.
- There are direct links to Barron’s China (simplified) and Barron’s China (traditional) editions (starts 2021).
- Barron’s Archive is available on ProQuest platform (1921-2010).
- Online access also occurs via ProQuest’s Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection (1988-present). This version allows email alerts for new issues or topics.
- Current print editions are in Geisel Library’s Current Journals area, call number HG1 B3.

Conference Board Research Online Collection
Includes research reports on key business topics; annual surveys entitled Top executive compensation, Corporate contributions, Directors' compensation and Board practices, and CEO challenge.
backfiles of data from 1998 and selected earlier reports; Executive action series of topical reports on issues of current concern; StraightTalk which is in-depth analysis of critical economic topics and forecasts of the U.S. economy, interest rates, and foreign exchange rates; Topline data on business ex
The Economist
Use this link to get to the UCSD subscription to The Economist online, which covers recent contents. We also have a special link for The Economist Historical Archive (covers 1823-2015).
The Economist Historical Archive
The EHA provides a completely searchable copy of every issue of The Economist published from 1843 to 2015. Features include full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source.
EIU Viewpoint with China Focus City Data
This resource contains background, trends and risk analysis on countries and regions. EIU is known for its global coverage of current political, economic, and business affairs. It features worldwide industry coverage for automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare and telecommunications. This EIU Viewpoint platform also includes “China Focus City Data,” which can be accessed under the “More” tab in the upper right corner of the Viewpoint homepage. Former names: Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD portal), Access China All Cities
EMIS Next Academic Research (formerly EMIS Intelligence)
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, economic and industrial statistics, and political news with a focus on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.

Financial Times (Newsbank)
Popular source of global business news, commentary and analysis on business, finance, and related topics for executives, students and researchers. Stay up-to-date on the world's economic changes. We have several options for you: Most Popular is FT.com access via FT.com (latest coverage, one-time sign up); Financial Times via Newsbank, (1982-current minus latest 30 days; power searching features, text only) or Financial Times via Gale Business Insights (1999-current - 30 days; power search, downloadable audio format for each article; also offers a link to browse by daily issue). For deep historical content use Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2020).

BMI Country Risk Global & All Industry Global
BMI provides proprietary data, analyst reports, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Login path: choose SSO > Organization ID = UCSD. BMI includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts.

NYTimes.com
Go here to get access to the campus subscription to New York Times.

Regional Business News
This database covers more than 80 business journals, newspapers, and newswires covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Can be searched separately or simultaneously with Business Source Complete (national and international coverage) by using the 'Choose Databases' option from the main search screen.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This ProQuest site includes coverage of WSJ Eastern Edition, 1984-present; WSJ Online, 2010-present; and WSJ: The Magazine, 2011-present. This PQ version has a powerful and precise search engine for finding specific items or topics.

WSJ.com
The Wall Street Journal now available from their website for all UCSD students and employees with single sign-on authentication.

Browzine for Finance Topics

Use Browzine to set up your personalized virtual bookshelf of academic journals. When new issues come out, you easily can browse them.