LibGuides: Finance Research: Datasets

Datastream's ESG Data

The Refinitiv ESG data is hosted on Refinitiv Workspace. Once you register, go to the Apps Library and type ESG to see what is available to use.

Refinitiv Workspace
- This link opens in a new window
Although Workspace primarily provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis, it also features unique content about companies’ ESG performance, sustainable leadership monitoring (SLM), and peer analysis. First-time users register here, https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html (ESG data is in the basic license, called “Workspace for Students”).
RW is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.

Multidisciplinary Data Finders

ProQuest Statistical Insight
- This link opens in a new window
1973-present. Huge database of citations to statistical publications from U.S. federal and state governments, international agencies, nonprofit and educational institutions, and private publishers including trade and industry groups. Full text of the publication or report is often included, and many tables are downloadable in Excel. Particularly good for demographic and country-level information. Previous name Statistical Universe.
As of 2020, subscription includes:
Statistical Insight Tables
Statistical Insight Statistical Reference Index Full Text
Statistical Insight American Statistics Index Abstracts and Indexing ONLY (no current full text)
ProQuest Statistical Insight IIS Abstracts and Indexing Web Service (no current full text)
ProQuest Statistical Insight SRI Abstracts and Indexing Web Service

UC San Diego Social Sciences Data Collection
Miscellaneous datasets purchased for the UC San Diego community. Includes:
Data on Terrorist Suspects (DOTS)
Field (California) Poll, 1956 - [Latest Release]
International Country Risk Guide: Table 3B: Political Risk Points by Component
International Terrorism: Attributes of Terrorist Events (ITERATE), 1968 - [most recent]
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) 1978-2003 [Repository Data]
POLIDATA Presidential Results by Congressional District (PRCD)

DataCite
Search for datasets across over 1000 different major data centers and repositories including ICPSR, Harvard Dataverse, Data-Planet, the California Digital Library, Figshare, Dryad, the Center for Open Science, UC San Diego Library Digital Collections, etc.

Dataverse (Harvard)
Access the world's largest collection of social science research data here by searching across or browsing through one of the virtual data archives (called "dataverses") listed below. Data is uploaded by researchers from around the world.
Odum Institute Dataverse
This public opinion database maintained by the University of North Carolina contains more than 230,000 questions from surveys conducted since 1958. It is the repository for all Louis Harris public opinion data and Roper Center nonproprietary poll data as well as state-level polling organizations from 22 states, with strong coverage of Southern states. Questions are searchable by keyword, date, study number, study title, or state.
re3data.org
Registry of research data repositories
Population Reference Bureau
A database with hundreds of variables for the US and the world.

Resources for...

Financial data:

Finance
Social Data, Numeric & Text Mining

Other resources:

Multi-Subject Data Sources
Behavioral/Experimental Economics
Economic Development
Environmental & Resource Economics
GIS & Mapping Data/Software
International Economics
Urban & Regional Economics

Finance

Data that is represented here includes: stocks/equities; bonds; mutual funds; market indices; commodities; derivatives; foreign exchange; interest rates and company financials.

Global Financial Database [UCSD Only]
Financial and economic data covering over 150 countries and over 6,500 historical and current data series. Bonds, T-bills, unemployment, GDP, commodity prices, exchange rates, and more, some dating back to 1900. Note: To access, use the “Login Anonymously” option and choose GFDatabase in the left nav bar.

Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports.

Compustat via WRDS
- This link opens in a new window
Provides annual and quarterly income statement, balance sheet, statement of cash flows, and supplemental data items on most publicly held companies. Also contains information on aggregates, industry segments, banks, market prices, dividends, and earnings. ACCESS: UC San Diego faculty, staff and students first must sign up for a WRDS account by using the Register link on the landing page. LIMITATIONS: Masters & Undergraduate students do not have access during summer or quarter breaks. UC San Diego affiliates without AD network accounts are ineligible for WRDS accounts (most Extension students are in this category). In those cases, Mergent Online and Global Financial Database are your recommended alternatives.
more...less...
Currently includes (as of 9/14/2021):
Bank Regulatory Database
Blockholders Database
CBOE (Chicago Board Options Exchange)
S&P Compustat Bank
Compustat Bank - daily updates
S&P Compustat Global
Compustat Global - daily updates
Compustat Legacy - Global
S&P Compustat North America - annual update (current + historical data)
Compustat North America - daily updates (current + historical data)
Compustat Legacy - North America
S&P Compustat North America - monthly update (current + historical data)
S&P Compustat Historical Segments
Compustat Historical Segments - daily updates
Contributed Data - Characteristic Returns
Contributed Data
Contributed Database: Intangible Value
KPSS Technological Innovation
Contributed Database: LIVA
CRSP/Compustat Merged (Annual)
CRSP Indexes (Annual)
CRSP Stock (Annual)
CRSP Treasuries (Annual)
CRSP Ziman Real Estates (Annual)
CRSP Index History Intraday (Quarterly)
Dow Jones Averages & Total Return Indexes
Direct Marketing Educational Foundation
SEC Disclosure of Order Execution Statistics
Fama-French portfolios and factors
Federal Judicial Center Linking
Federal Judicial Center Litigation
Federal Reserve Board Foreign Exchange Rates, Interest Rates, and State Composite Indexes
Macro Finance Society
MSRB - Municipal Securities Transaction Data
OTC Markets End-of-Day Pricing
Philadelphia Stock Exchange Currency Options and Implied Volatility
Publicly Available Data
The Penn World Tables Database
Research Quotient (provided to all academics with a Compustat subscription)
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1993
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1994
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1995
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1996
NYSE Trades & Quotes 2014
NYSE Trades & Quotes - Exists for FK contraint
NYSE Trades and Quotes - for website use
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2014
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2015
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2016
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2017
NYSE Short Sales 2005
NYSE Short Sales 2006
NYSE Short Sales 2007
Total q by Luke Taylor
FINRA TRACE Enhanced
FINRA TRACE corporate bond trades
WRDS Research Applications
WRDS Backtest Basic
WRDS Beta Suite
WRDS Efficient Frontier
WRDS EU Short Sales
Event Study Intl using Compustat
Event Study Intraday
Event Study Long Run
Event Study US
WRDS Financial Ratios (base)
WRDS Financial Ratios with CCM
Linking Suite: Bond - CRSP
Linking Suite: TAQ Monthly - CRSP
Linking Suite: TAQ Daily - CRSP
Linking Suite: Supply Chain
WRDS Patent Database
WRDS SAS Visual Analytics
WRDS Company Subsidiaries
WRDS World Indices
MIDAS
CRSP via WRDS
Most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. Additional files provide stock indices, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases. ACCESS: UC San Diego faculty, staff and students first must sign up for a WRDS account by using the Register link on the landing page. LIMITATIONS: Masters & Undergraduate students do not have access during summer or quarter breaks. UC San Diego affiliates without AD network accounts are ineligible for WRDS accounts (most Extension students are in this category). In those cases, Mergent Online and Global Financial Database are your recommended alternatives.
Ways to Use WRDS
Overviews of using the web interface, WRDS Cloud and connecting remotely through SSH and programming apps.
Programming @ WRDS
Find out how to access WRDS through SAS, Python, R, MATLAB, and Stata. This page includes details about the connection methods.

Refinitiv Workspace
- This link opens in a new window
Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. RW is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
RW is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.

Datastream Guide [UCSD Only]
- This link opens in a new window
Access Datastream content online via Refinitiv Workspace. Additionally, you may register for the Datastream add-on to do graphical exploration of trends and relationships between series. Datastream provides time series for over a million financial instruments, securities, and economic indicators from over 175 countries. Workspace content also includes company profiles, ESG performance, indices, bonds, commodities, interest and exchange rates, estimates, futures and options, country macroeconomics, market research and investment house reports. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html

CEIC Data
- This link opens in a new window
CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused.
Four databases are included in this package:
• China Premium Databases
The China Premium Database offers over 415,000 time-series records on macroeconomic, sector, industry and regional data dating back to 1949. The China Premium Database is available in both English and Chinese.
• Brazil Premium Databases
The Brazil Premium Database covers 13 macroeconomic and 13 industry growth sectors with unmatched coverage of the energy, biofuel, and automobile sectors. Regional data are also available for Brazil's 5 regions, all 27 states, and 6000 municipalities.
• Global Database
CEIC Data’s Global Database provides access to granular macroeconomic data covering both developed and emerging markets covering over 200 economies and is ideal for business students, professors and lecturers for macroeconomic research projects and course assignments.
• Daily Database

EMIS Emerging Markets [UCSD Only]
Foreign business intelligence service covering macroeconomic analysis, companies, industries, finance, and news in Asia, Latin America, and Central/Eastern Europe. Includes full-text news articles, research reports, and online data.
Global Insight [UCSD Only]
Global Insight provides access to the 4 Basic Economics Databases covering U.S. economic, financial, and demographic statistics. Concepts available are U.S. trade, population, production, income, housing, employment, and finance. Data series are available at daily, weekly, and monthly frequencies with history from 1946. Although licensed users can search more than 100 Global Insight databases, data downloads are limited to BASIC, BASIC/D, BASIC/FX, and BASIC/W.
more...less...
DATA DOWNLOADS ARE LIMITED TO THESE FOUR GLOBAL INSIGHT BASIC DATABASES:
Basic Economics - contains approximately 6,000 monthly, quarterly, and annual time series that date back to 1946 when available.
Weekly - contains approximately 500 weekly time series that date as far back as 1959 where applicable. Whenever possible, monthly counterparts are available in the Economics database.
Daily
FX - the Daily and FX contain about 700 financial variables, commodity prices, interest rates and foreign exchange rates from various agencies.

Key Business Ratios
- This link opens in a new window
This online version of Dun & Bradstreet's Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios includes current benchmarking data for U.S. public and private businesses using parameters of solvency, profitability and efficiency for 800 lines of business. Features include importing and exporting of data. For historical ratios (older than current five years), use the Mergent Archives.

Social Data, Numeric & Text Mining

TDM Studio
- This link opens in a new window
More than 200 licensed ProQuest content products, including government, archival, dissertation, and news databases, are available for analysis with R or Python through ProQuest TDM Studio. Contact Stephanie Labou (slabou@ucsd.edu) for additional assistance. Includes the ability to text mine the Wall Street Journal.
To create an account:
1. Go to https://tdmstudio.proquest.com
2. Click “Create an account” button
3. Use your UCSD email address to create your account.

NDL: Nexis Data Lab
- This link opens in a new window
NDL contains text of content in LexisNexis, focusing on news (newspapers, newswires, industry trade press, magazines, etc.), company and financial, and dockets. NDL allows for cloud access to search, analysis, and visualization; and it provides ways to export your findings. The platform provides a Jupyter Notebook environment, supporting both R and Python code. UC San Diego currently has a small number of Nexis Data Lab accounts for use by faculty and students. To request access to an account, contact Data Science Librarian Stephanie Labou
- Explore NDL
- Watch a demo of NDL
.

Gale Digital Scholar Lab
- This link opens in a new window
Explore UCSD holdings from Gale Primary Sources using digital humanities tools. Rediscover and interpret the past through analysis and visualization of historical texts, including newspapers, books, archival collections, and more. (Create your personal DSL account online to begin selecting and analyzing materials. Be sure to be on VPN if off campus for account to work properly.) Learn more via tutorials and recorded webinars

Multi-Subject Data Sources

The sources in this category span several disciplines, however, include economic data. These sources may also be listed under more specific topics in this guide.

Census data
A platform to access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Statistics collected by the Census Department:
American Community Survey
American Housing Survey
Annual Surveys of Governments
Census of Governments
Annual Economic Surveys
Decennial Census
Economic Census
Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Tabulation
Population Estimates Program
Puerto Rico Community Survey
DataCite
Search for datasets across over 1000 different major data centers and repositories including ICPSR, Harvard Dataverse, Data-Planet, the California Digital Library, Figshare, Dryad, the Center for Open Science, UC San Diego Library Digital Collections, etc.
CEIC Data
- This link opens in a new window
CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused.
Four databases are included in this package:
• China Premium Databases
The China Premium Database offers over 415,000 time-series records on macroeconomic, sector, industry and regional data dating back to 1949. The China Premium Database is available in both English and Chinese.
• Brazil Premium Databases
The Brazil Premium Database covers 13 macroeconomic and 13 industry growth sectors with unmatched coverage of the energy, biofuel, and automobile sectors. Regional data are also available for Brazil's 5 regions, all 27 states, and 6000 municipalities.
• Global Database
CEIC Data’s Global Database provides access to granular macroeconomic data covering both developed and emerging markets covering over 200 economies and is ideal for business students, professors and lecturers for macroeconomic research projects and course assignments.
• Daily Database
Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to statistical data. Data is downloadable in Excel and CSV, and shapefiles when multiple geographies are covered. Sources include: Bombay Stock Exchange, British Bankers' Association, Chicago Board Options, Exchange, China Data Center, D&B (Dun & Bradstreet), Dave Leip's Atlas of US Presidential Elections, Defense Manpower Data Center, Deutsche Börse Group, Dow Jones, Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI), Eurostat, FTSE Group, HSI Services Limited (Hong Kong), International Monetary Fund, London Bullion Market Association , London Platinum & Palladium Market, NASDAQ OMX Group, National Bureau of Economic Research, Nikkei, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Shanghai Stock Exchange, Standard & Poor's, World Bank, World Resource Institute, Xignite, and many US Federal agencies. See the Data-Planet Libguides for more detail.

Datastream Guide [UCSD Only]
- This link opens in a new window
Access Datastream content online via Refinitiv Workspace. Additionally, you may register for the Datastream add-on to do graphical exploration of trends and relationships between series. Datastream provides time series for over a million financial instruments, securities, and economic indicators from over 175 countries. Workspace content also includes company profiles, ESG performance, indices, bonds, commodities, interest and exchange rates, estimates, futures and options, country macroeconomics, market research and investment house reports. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html

Fitch Country Risk & Industry Research
- This link opens in a new window
Fitch is leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts. Formerly Business Monitor. Login in with campus Single Sign On (SSO) credentials.

FRASER - Data & Statistics
From the St. Louis Fed: Data Publications, as well as Statistical Releases from several sources such as the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, and government agencies such as the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
FRED - Federal Reserve Economic Data
Download, graph, and track 61,000 US and international time series from 48 sources. From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Includes a range of U.S. and international economic data (price indexes, exchange rates, interest rates, GDP, trade balances, etc.). Useful features include easy browsing for U.S. regional data (states, MSAs, counties, BEA regions, Fed districts, Census divisions) and links to Liber8, the Fed's portal to current economic indicators, research and recent reports, and GeoFRED, a data-mapping tool which displays color-coded employment data on the state, MSA, and county levels.
Global Financial Database [UCSD Only]
Financial and economic data covering over 150 countries and over 6,500 historical and current data series. Bonds, T-bills, unemployment, GDP, commodity prices, exchange rates, and more, some dating back to 1900. Note: To access, use the “Login Anonymously” option and choose GFDatabase in the left nav bar.
Global Insight [UCSD only]
Global Insight provides access to the 4 Basic Economics Databases covering U.S. economic, financial, and demographic statistics. Concepts available are U.S. trade, population, production, income, housing, employment, and finance. Data series are available at daily, weekly, and monthly frequencies with history from 1946. Although licensed users can search more than 100 Global Insight databases, data downloads are limited to BASIC, BASIC/D, BASIC/FX, and BASIC/W.
more...less...
DATA DOWNLOADS ARE LIMITED TO THESE FOUR GLOBAL INSIGHT BASIC DATABASES:
Basic Economics - contains approximately 6,000 monthly, quarterly, and annual time series that date back to 1946 when available.
Weekly - contains approximately 500 weekly time series that date as far back as 1959 where applicable. Whenever possible, monthly counterparts are available in the Economics database.
Daily
FX - the Daily and FX contain about 700 financial variables, commodity prices, interest rates and foreign exchange rates from various agencies.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) [UCSD Only]
1962 - present
The ICPSR, part of the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, has served social scientists since 1962 by providing a central repository and dissemination service for machine-readable social science data from over 130 countries. ICPSR holdings include over 1000 public opinion polls from around the world, including United States election exit polls. ICPSR archives the Eurobarometer series and the ISSP.
more...less...
Polling organizations represented include: ABC News, CBS News, New York Times, Washington Post.
International Financial Statistics [UCSD Only]
Economic time series data for member countries of the International Monetary Fund, covering approximately 26,000 economic concepts, including exchange rates, prices, production, trade, balance of payments, banking and financial systems, employment, and many other indicators.
National Longitudinal Surveys
A set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women. For more than 4 decades, NLS data have served as an important tool for economists and other researchers.
NBER Online Economic Data
These pages feature links to sets constructed by National Bureau of Economic Research authors and feature historical datasets as well links to recent sets related to economic indicators, industry, trade, demographics, and more.
OECD iLibrary [UCSD Only]
Contains 200,000+ monthly, quarterly, and annual time series (from 1960) for OECD member countries, covering a range of social and economic phenomena. See the Economics section in particular.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
- This link opens in a new window
1973-present. Huge database of citations to statistical publications from U.S. federal and state governments, international agencies, nonprofit and educational institutions, and private publishers including trade and industry groups. Full text of the publication or report is often included, and many tables are downloadable in Excel. Particularly good for demographic and country-level information. Previous name Statistical Universe.
As of 2020, subscription includes:
Statistical Insight Tables
Statistical Insight Statistical Reference Index Full Text
Statistical Insight American Statistics Index Abstracts and Indexing ONLY (no current full text)
ProQuest Statistical Insight IIS Abstracts and Indexing Web Service (no current full text)
ProQuest Statistical Insight SRI Abstracts and Indexing Web Service
SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) and Simmons LOCAL data packages. (formerly known as SimplyMap).
UNdata
Single search interface for data produced and collected by various United Nations (UN) organizations. Provides 442 economic, social, cultural, health, and demographic data series for countries of the world. Data providers include UN, UNESCO, FAO, WHO, IMF, UNICEF, ITU, and World Bank. Some indicators reach back as far as the 1940s.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) [UCSD Only]
WRDS provides access to selected datasets in the fields of finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing and public policy. ACCESS: UC San Diego faculty, staff and students first must sign up for a WRDS account by using the Register link on the landing page. LIMITATIONS: Masters & Undergraduate students do not have access during summer or quarter breaks. UC San Diego affiliates without AD network accounts are ineligible for WRDS accounts (most Extension students are in this category). In those cases, Mergent Online and Global Financial Database are your recommended alternatives.
more...less...
Currently includes (as of 9/14/2021):
Bank Regulatory Database
Blockholders Database
CBOE (Chicago Board Options Exchange)
S&P Compustat Bank
Compustat Bank - daily updates
S&P Compustat Global
Compustat Global - daily updates
Compustat Legacy - Global
S&P Compustat North America - annual update (current + historical data)
Compustat North America - daily updates (current + historical data)
Compustat Legacy - North America
S&P Compustat North America - monthly update (current + historical data)
S&P Compustat Historical Segments
Compustat Historical Segments - daily updates
Contributed Data - Characteristic Returns
Contributed Data
Contributed Database: Intangible Value
KPSS Technological Innovation
Contributed Database: LIVA
CRSP/Compustat Merged (Annual)
CRSP Indexes (Annual)
CRSP Stock (Annual)
CRSP Treasuries (Annual)
CRSP Ziman Real Estates (Annual)
CRSP Index History Intraday (Quarterly)
Dow Jones Averages & Total Return Indexes
Direct Marketing Educational Foundation
SEC Disclosure of Order Execution Statistics
Fama-French portfolios and factors
Federal Judicial Center Linking
Federal Judicial Center Litigation
Federal Reserve Board Foreign Exchange Rates, Interest Rates, and State Composite Indexes
Macro Finance Society
MSRB - Municipal Securities Transaction Data
OTC Markets End-of-Day Pricing
Philadelphia Stock Exchange Currency Options and Implied Volatility
Publicly Available Data
The Penn World Tables Database
Research Quotient (provided to all academics with a Compustat subscription)
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1993
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1994
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1995
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1996
NYSE Trades & Quotes 2014
NYSE Trades & Quotes - Exists for FK contraint
NYSE Trades and Quotes - for website use
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2014
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2015
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2016
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2017
NYSE Short Sales 2005
NYSE Short Sales 2006
NYSE Short Sales 2007
Total q by Luke Taylor
FINRA TRACE Enhanced
FINRA TRACE corporate bond trades
WRDS Research Applications
WRDS Backtest Basic
WRDS Beta Suite
WRDS Efficient Frontier
WRDS EU Short Sales
Event Study Intl using Compustat
Event Study Intraday
Event Study Long Run
Event Study US
WRDS Financial Ratios (base)
WRDS Financial Ratios with CCM
Linking Suite: Bond - CRSP
Linking Suite: TAQ Monthly - CRSP
Linking Suite: TAQ Daily - CRSP
Linking Suite: Supply Chain
WRDS Patent Database
WRDS SAS Visual Analytics
WRDS Company Subsidiaries
WRDS World Indices
MIDAS
World Development Indicators
The World Bank
The WDI includes 1000+ indicators from 209 countries spanning from 1960 to 2010.
Topics include: Agriculture & Rural Development, Aid Effectiveness, Economic Policy and External Debt, Education, Energy & Mining, Environment, Financial Sector, Health, Infrastructure, Labor & Social Protection, Poverty, Private Sector, Public Sector, Science & Technology, Social Development, Urban Development

Behavioral /Experimental Economics

The focus here is on capturing data that supports behavioral economics, with an emphasis on consumer surveys, economic attitudes and bahavior as well as public opinion poll and election data.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of public opinion and survey research. The Search for Datasets includes only those surveys for which the Roper Center holds the datasets (microdata or individual level), with brief descriptions of each. These include national, state, and foreign surveys, as well as special samples such as leaders or youth. iPOLL contains the aggregated question-level results from the US national surveys in the catalog, as well as a great deal of additional survey data from news releases and survey reports.

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) [UCSD Only]
1962 - present
The ICPSR, part of the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, has served social scientists since 1962 by providing a central repository and dissemination service for machine-readable social science data from over 130 countries. ICPSR holdings include over 1000 public opinion polls from around the world, including United States election exit polls. ICPSR archives the Eurobarometer series and the ISSP.
more...less...
Polling organizations represented include: ABC News, CBS News, New York Times, Washington Post.
California Field Polls [UCSD Only]
The Field (California) Poll, founded in 1947, has operated continuously as a California statewide survey of opinions and attitudes on social and political issues.
more...less...
Through its regularly scheduled surveys, The Field Poll tracks voter preferences in all major statewide candidate and proposition election contests, assesses California public opinion about elected officials and major issues facing the state, obtains reaction to political and social developments, and covers topical news stories of general public interest.
Odum Institute Dataverse
This public opinion database maintained by the University of North Carolina contains more than 230,000 questions from surveys conducted since 1958. It is the repository for all Louis Harris public opinion data and Roper Center nonproprietary poll data as well as state-level polling organizations from 22 states, with strong coverage of Southern states. Questions are searchable by keyword, date, study number, study title, or state.
California: Public Policy Institute of California
The Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC) is a private nonprofit organization dedicated to informing and improving public policy in California through independent, objective, nonpartisan research.
American National Election Studies (ANES) [Public]
ANES releases times series, panel and pilot study data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to facilitate an understanding of the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.
Nielsen Marketing Data Sets
UC San Diego subscribes to Nielsen marketing data from the Chicago Booth School of Business. The James M. Kilts Center for Marketing at Chicago Booth and the Nielsen Company have partnered to make four datasets available to US-based academic researchers. There are special restrictions on data access and use. Read the instructions before requesting access.

Economic Development

AidData
AidData is a collaborative initiative to provide products and services that promote the dissemination, analysis, and understanding of development finance information. At the core of the AidData program is the AidData web portal, which is a gateway to nearly 1 million records of development finance activities from donors around the world.
Enterprise Surveys
An Enterprise Survey is a firm-level survey of a representative sample of an economy’s private sector. The surveys cover a broad range of business environment topics including access to finance, corruption, infrastructure, crime, competition, and performance measures. The World Bank has collected this data from face-to-face interviews with top managers and business owners in over 130,000 companies in 125 economies.
Key Development Data & Statistics (World Bank)
The data presented here are the most widely-used, official-source development data from the World Bank and other international agencies, including external debt, GDP, and GNI per capita.
OECD iLibrary [UCSD Only]
Under Statistics see OECD International Development Statistics and OECD International Direct Investment for information on external debt, financial flows to aid recipients, and direct investment.
World Bank Private Participation in Infrastructure (PPI) Project Database
has data on almost 5,000 infrastructure projects in 139 low- and middle-income countries. The database is the leading source of PPI trends in the developing world, covering projects in the energy, telecommunications, transport, and water and sewerage sectors.

World Development Indicators
Macroeconomic, social, and environmental data from the World Bank.

GIS and Mapping Data/Software

SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) and Simmons LOCAL data packages. (formerly known as SimplyMap).

ArcGIS
The predominate software in GIS is ArcGIS by Esri. It can be expensive and has a learning curve for users, but is extremely robust and as noted, is predominate in the GIS industry. Can be used in a desktop, server or web environment.
ArcGIS Business Analyst
ArcGIS Business Analyst provides location-based intelligence for planning, site selection, and customer segmentation. Combine demographic, lifestyle, and spending data with map-based analytics for accurate reports and dynamic presentations. It is available as a web browser SaaS solution or as a desktop-based tool. First you should register for an ArcGIS account here.
ESRI Map Book Gallery
Browse these annual volumes to get ideas. They include a 'best in breed' compilation from users, and cover topics from business and economics as well as government, health, naturual resources, transportation, utilities and more.

International Economics

IMF eLibrary data
Provides comprehensive access to International financial statistics (IFS), Balance of payments statistics (BOPS), Direction of trade statistics (DOTS), and Government finance statistics (GFS) databases. View and download predefined data reports or create and share your own views of IMF data
OECD iLibrary [UCSD Only]
"OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD... OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998."
Penn World Tables
Time-series statistics on 188 countries and over 30 subjects, including population and components of GDP, primarily for the period starting 1950.
UNCTADStat
UNCTAD compiles, validates and processes a wide range of data collected from national and international sources. Through its data dissemination system, UNCTADstat, it provides free access to comprehensive statistical time series and indicators essential for the analysis of world trade, investment, international financial flows, and development.

UNdata
Single search interface for data produced and collected by various United Nations (UN) organizations. Provides 442 economic, social, cultural, health, and demographic data series for countries of the world. Data providers include UN, UNESCO, FAO, WHO, IMF, UNICEF, ITU, and World Bank. Some indicators reach back as far as the 1940s.
World Development Indicators
Macroeconomic, social, and environmental data from the World Bank.

World Economic Outlook (International Monetary Fund)
The WEO database is created during the biannual World Economic Outlook (WEO) exercise. Selected series that are available in the WEO publication are now available on this website. Includes: GDP, investment, gross national savings, US dollar exchange rate, inflation, unemployment rate, general government balance, debt, current account balance. Annual data, from 1980, with projections to 2005.
Bureau of Economic Analysis: International Accounts Data (U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis)
China Data Online [UCSD Only]
Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks.
Indiastat.com [UCSD Only]
Comprehensive portal to economic, social, political, and related statistics about India. Over half-a-million pages of statistical data are presented in a user-friendly Web format. Our subscription permits two (2) concurrent user connections.

Cross National Time-Series (CNTS)
- This link opens in a new window
The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive was launched by Arthur S. Banks in the fall of 1968 at the State University of New York at Binghamton. The archive was, in part, the outcome of an effort initiated some years earlier to assemble, in machine readable, longitudinal format, certain of the aggregate data resources of The Statesman's Yearbook, published since 1864. The archive has almost 200 variables and contains data for over 200 country units, with provision for entries from 1815 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945)
EMIS Intelligence (formerly ISI Emerging Markets)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, statistics and political news on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.
Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD Portal)
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to UCSD-subscribed EIU content. Includes searchable online archive (1996- ) and feed of Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong on current political, economic, and business affairs worldwide.
IBISWorld Industry Intelligence
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
Fitch Country Risk & Industry Research
- This link opens in a new window
Fitch is leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts. Formerly Business Monitor. Login in with campus Single Sign On (SSO) credentials.
CEIC Data
- This link opens in a new window
CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused.
Four databases are included in this package:
• China Premium Databases
The China Premium Database offers over 415,000 time-series records on macroeconomic, sector, industry and regional data dating back to 1949. The China Premium Database is available in both English and Chinese.
• Brazil Premium Databases
The Brazil Premium Database covers 13 macroeconomic and 13 industry growth sectors with unmatched coverage of the energy, biofuel, and automobile sectors. Regional data are also available for Brazil's 5 regions, all 27 states, and 6000 municipalities.
• Global Database
CEIC Data’s Global Database provides access to granular macroeconomic data covering both developed and emerging markets covering over 200 economies and is ideal for business students, professors and lecturers for macroeconomic research projects and course assignments.
• Daily Database

Urban & Regional Economics

City of San Diego Open Data Portal
San Diego Regional Data Library
Indexes data from other San Diego sources as well as provides datasets processed by the organization. Includes collections: California Department of Education; Urban Planning; Homelessness; COVID-19; Police Data; and other datasets
SANDAG Demographics and Other Data
Economic, demographic, and land use data and estimates for San Diego County cities, census tracts, and planning areas, zip codes, etc.
SANDAG Open Data Portal
This San Diego county website links to data on population characteristics, such as demographics and employment, as well as transportation and crime statistics, land use, and population and employment estimates and forecasts.

UCLA Anderson Forecast
This long-standing quarterly publication forecasts U.S. and California economies, that strives to be unbiased in its approach. Online back to 2011, and in print back to 1997. Partner publications from this site include:
- Allen Matkins’ California Commercial Real Estate Survey (which covers San Diego and the rest of the large metro areas of California)
- City Human Capital Index (which covers Los Angeles, the Bay Area and zip codes in California),
- Los Angeles City Monthly Employment Estimate.

FRED - Federal Reserve Economic Data
This website includes a range of U.S. and international economic data (price indexes, exchange rates, interest rates, GDP, trade balances, etc.). Useful features include easy browsing for U.S. regional data (states, MSAs, counties, BEA regions, Fed districts, Census divisions) and links to Liber8, the Fed's portal to current economic indicators, research and recent reports, and GeoFRED, a data-mapping tool which displays color-coded employment data on the state, MSA, and county levels.

PolicyMap
- This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. University faculty, researchers, and students use it to create maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports and upload your own data to view it with ours.
SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) and Simmons LOCAL data packages. (formerly known as SimplyMap).
Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
1790-present. This site combines data from the U.S. Census of Population and Housing & the American Community Survey (ACS) with a user friendly interface, allowing the creation of maps & statistical tables. Census Tract boundaries are available back to 1940. Now also includes data on U.S. elections, business pattern, environmental summary, health, religion, and crime; the UK and Canadian censuses; Irish religious data; World Development Indicators, and EuroStat.

Access to Statistical Software and Guides

Research Methods & Tools

Sage Research Methods Includes books, reference works and journal articles from across the social sciences research methods, including a large collection of qualitative methods books. The resources cover every aspect of research skills training and can help researchers at all levels through every step of the research process, from coming up with a research question, doing a literature review, planning a project, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up a report, dissertation or thesis. Also included are SRM Cases (stories of how real research projects were conducted) and SRM Datasets (a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves).
- This link opens in a new window

Text as Data: The Promise and Pitfalls of Automatic Content Analysis Methods for Political Texts (Justin Grimmer and Brandon M. Stewart )
Neil Caren - Learning Python for Social Scientists
Includes examples from all kinds of data sources
Ryan Shaw - Text-mining as a Research Tool in the Humanities and Social Sciences

Twitter As Data by Zachary C. Steinert-Threlkeld
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781108438339
Publication Date: 2018-01-18
Text Mining and Visualization by Markus Hofmann (Editor); Andrew Chisholm (Editor) This book introduces text mining by using popular open-source tools: KNIME, RapidMiner, Weka, R, and Python. The contributors, who are experienced with text mining and open-source software, explain how text data are gathered and processed from a wide variety of sources, including books, server access logs, websites, social media sites, and message boards. Each chapter presents a case study that you can follow as part of a step-by-step, reproducible example. You can also easily apply and extend the techniques to other problems.
Call Number: O'Reilly e-book
ISBN: 9781482237573
Publication Date: 2016

APIs & buik downloads from scholarly sources

Alpha Vantage Open Stock APIs
Free programmatic access to stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, foreign exchange rates, financial reports from SEC filings, and over 50 derived technical indicators. Free API key allows up to 500 API calls per day by default. More information: (1) introduction to stock APIs, (2) official API documentation
arXiv API
API access to Cornell's open-access arXiv e-print repository, used primarily by physics, mathematics and computer science communities to share cutting-edge research.
Crossref REST API - Text and data mining for researchers
Crossref is a not-for-profit membership organization for scholarly publishing who works to make content easy to find, cite, link, and assess. The Crossref API allows researchers to easily harvest full-text documents from all participating members, regardless of whether the content is open access or subscription. Explanatory slides
Common Crawl
Open repository of web crawl data that can be accessed and analyzed by anyone.
OECD data API
The OECD dataset APIs let you programmatically access a selection of our top used datasets covering data for OECD countries and selected non-member economies. OECD datasets are dynamically updated.
UN Comtrade Web Services
Access data from the United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics database, including International Merchandise Trade Statistics (IMTS) and the work of the International Merchandise Trade Statistics Section (IMTSS) of the United Nations Statistics Division. Sign in required to access developer tools including API.
Worldbank APIs
Three APIs to provide access to different datasets: one for Indicators (or time series data), one for Projects (or data on the World Bank’s operations), and one for the World Bank financial data (World Bank Finances API).
Public Datasets
A github 'awesome' list of curated public datasets on various topics and areas including corpora and social networking data.
Finding Data & Statistics:APIs
This page covers an extensive list of API sources from the UCSD Library's full list of data sources.
Data USA
Data visualization using public US government data. More about the API here..