LibGuides: Finance Research: Media & Video

Video

Below are the video collections that include business-related contents, as well as having the major feature film and documentary collections. For the complete list of what's available through the Library, see the Film, Video and Streaming Collections Guide.

Kanopy Streaming Video
Kanopy contains a variety of on-demand content, including 500+ videos that cover finance & accounting topics, marketing, leadership, business communications, ethics, economics, & case studies. Some videos are introductory, others advanced, and several feature interviews with key leaders. Use the subject menu on the landing page to navigate to topics you'd like to browse, or use this shortcut to go right to the business offerings.. Kanopy also includes feature films and documentaries.

Note: if you have a device like AppleTV, Roku, etc., you can set Kanopy up to stream from there. First you need to sign up for an account within Kanopy's website, then complete set up on your streaming device.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection
Discover, access, license, stream and share over 1500 documentary and social issues films and videos. This database provides educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, MediaStorm, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV, Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films. Topics covered include business and economics, health care, humanities, performing arts, and social sciences. Docuseek2 supports the ability to create clips, playlists, and save searches of the films and videos available through this website.
Films on Demand - Master Academic Collection
Digital video streaming service which offers access to educational videos from a variety of producers including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more. The Master Academic Collection brings together over 25,000 videos from many areas of study, including health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, science & mathematics, business & economics, as well as archival films & newsreels.
Films on Demand - World Cinema Collection
This unique collection includes the best of the silent era, groundbreaking international directors, masterpieces from the mid-20th century, and contemporary films from around the world, including Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, the Caribbean, the Middle East, and North America.
American History in Video
Coverage of historical events through documentaries, commercial and government newsreels, and archival and public affairs footage.
more...less...
AHV is one of the largest and richest collections of video available online for the study of American history, and its collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

World History in Video
Online collection of streaming video, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Upon completion the collection will include more than 1750 documentaries that offer a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. World history in video covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.
March of Time
From 1935-1967, American theatergoers and television watchers were witness to Time Inc.'s unique and controversial film series, The March of Time. This series is now available in online streaming video in a single, cross-searchable collection designed specifically to meet the needs of researchers, teaching faculty, and students.
Vanderbilt Television news archive
1968-present. Browse or search summaries of evening network news programs for ABC, CBS and NBC from 1968, CNN from 1995, Fox News from 2004. Streaming video for CNN and NBC only. The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. From the videotape archives maintained by Vanderbilt University.
World Newsreels Online 1929-1966
A collection of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. The collection is semantically indexed, allowing users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places 546 English, French or Japanese with English transcripts.

Images

Below is a selection of the image collections that could be useful for business-related research. For the complete list of what's available through the Library, see the full Images Collections and Copyright Guide, which has a special section with links to medical and science images, and art/architectural images. There are also more image collections listed on the U.S. History Guide.

Robert Mosher UC San Diego Image Collection
The Robert Mosher collection includes photographs of the interior and exterior of architectural structures as well as plans, drawings, elevations, models, studies, and materials samples of UC San Diego buildings and spaces.
Stuart Collection Photographs
Included here are selections of photographs of all the works currently in the collection as well as documentation of the construction process, installations and re-installations, models and maquettes, proposed and design drawings, photos of artists, in-studio images, site-planning and sites before construction, details, restorations, people interacting with artworks, and events incorporating artworks.
Agricultual Research Service (ARS) Image Gallery
This database has 6500+ high-quality, digital images from the U.S. ARS Office of Communications. They are copyright-free, public domain images unless otherwise noted. Broad categories of coverage are people, plants, animals, insects, crops, natural resources, food , field research and photographic illustrations.

AP Newsroom
With millions of images dating back more than 150 years, this is one of the world's largest archives of historical & current imagery. Updated every minute. Includes news, entertainment, arts, business, and sports coverage from AP and selected partners. The content includes top news stories, photos, audio clips and print graphics.
ARTstor
Library of over 2.5 million digital images and their corresponding metadata. Covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. The a href="https://ucsd.libguides.com/artstor" target="_blank">full guide to Artstor answers questions about copyright, downloading to PowerPoint and more.
Images of America: a History of American Life in Images and Texts
This collection features images and texts assembled by local community experts that attempts to portray everyday people, places and events in American local history. Drawn from the award-winning print series by Arcadia Publishing.

Getty Images
Stock photos
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Includes a browse by subject option.

Making of the Modern World
Online primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world. Full-text searching across 12 million pages of works published 1450-1914. Great starting place for primary source material from this period.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is a scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels.

San Diego History Center Photographs
Images that document the rise and decline of the California fishing industry. These historical photographs from the 1870s to the 1980s represent the work of many important San Diego photographers.1880-1980
Los Angeles Public Library Photo Collection
The Los Angeles Public Library visual collections include both local history collections and other historical collections.

Featured Content

Python for Finance: Investment Fundamentals and Data Analytics by Packt Publishing
Call Number: O'Reilly courese
ISBN: 9781789618976
Publication Date: 2021
This video course will take you on a journey where you will learn how to code in Python. It teaches how to use Python in a real working environment and explore how Python can be applied in the world of finance to solve portfolio optimization problems. Approx. 7 hours to complete.

Local and Regional Maps

UCSD Campus Mapping (Facilities Information Systems)
Alexandria Digital Library
California Geographical Survey
SANDAG Open Data Portal This San Diego county website links to data on population characteristics, such as demographics and employment, as well as transportation and crime statistics, land use, and population and employment estimates and forecasts.

Online Music Audio and Video

AUDIO

Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) Icon
American music from 19th century to contemporary compositions, electronic music, folk, jazz, Native American music, and more.

Electro:thèque : online electroacoustic music streaming Icon

Approximately 1200 works culled from the empreintes DIGITALes catalogue and its composers. Here you can discover new recordings as well as some timeless “classics” of electroacoustics.

Ethnomusicology: Global field recordings

Presenting content from across the globe, this diverse and comprehensive resource features thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study, including sites in West Africa, North America, South East Asia and more.

M usic Online: American Music Icon
Songs from the past about Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

Music Online : Classical Music Library Icon
Provides streaming access to more than 766,000 tracks, including almost 50,000 recordings from EMI, and is growing monthly.

Music Online: Contemporary World Music Icon
Includes reggae, acoustic folk, Afro-Cuban, belly dance, banda, dub, hip-hop, world beat, and more.

Music Online: Jazz Music Library Icon
Over 900,000 tracks from a wide variety of genres and labels.

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries Icon
Documents the world's folk and ethnic musical traditions, also spoken word recordings such as political speeches, also nature sounds.

Naxos Jazz Icon
Over 100,000 tracks that span the history of jazz and include blues, R&B, and more.

Naxos Music Library Icon
Primarily classical music from more than 650 record labels. Contains more than 1,460,600 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire and is growing monthly.

UC San Diego Library Digital Collections: Music Collection Icon

This set of collections includes a range of Music-related materials from UC San Diego students and faculty, as well as prominent figures of the contemporary music scene in Southern California.

VIDEO

Medici.TV Icon

Over 1,800 classical music performances (3000 original works), including concerts and archived historical concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries,and master classes.

Music Online: C lassical Music in Video Icon

Over 1,500 videos, including performances by leading orchestras,chamber music, and recitals, along with masterclasses and interviews from world renowned musicians.

Music Online: O pera in Video Icon

465 hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

Score Follower Icon

Videos of contemporary music scores that turn pages along with accompanying recordings. Over 1000 works from 1912 onward, with an emphasis on music of the past 10 years.