Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Credit Risk by
Call Number: CRC e-book
Publication Date: 2020
This book focuses on analysis of credit risk, derivatives, equity investments, portfolio management, quantitative methods, and risk management. In terms of application, these contents can be used as an important tool to explain how to generate data rows of expected exposure to counterparty credit risk. The book also directs the reader on how to visualize, in real time, the results of this data, generated with a java tool.
Probability & Finance: Game-Theoretic Foundations for Probability and Finance by
Call Number: Wiley e-book
Publication Date: 2019
This updated edition of a groundbreaking book that describes how probability theory can open the way to new methods of prediction and testing and makes many statistical methods more transparent and widely usable. Its contributions to finance theory include purely game-theoretic accounts of Ito's stochastic calculus, the capital asset pricing model, the equity premium, and portfolio theory.
A Dictionary of Finance and Banking, 6th ed. by
Call Number: Oxford e-book
Publication Date: 2018
This comprehensive A-Z defines terms from all aspects of personal and international finance, including money markets, private investments and borrowing, central banking, foreign exchanges, monetary policy, and public and government finance. Now with expanded international coverage to reflect the on-going globalization of financial markets and the growing importance of development finance.
Introduction to the Mathematics of Finance by
Call Number: AMS e-book
Publication Date: 2006
The modern subject of mathematical finance has undergone considerable development, both in theory and practice, since the seminal work of Black and Scholes appeared a third of a century ago. This book is intended as an introduction to some elements of the theory that will enable students and researchers to go on to read more advanced texts and research papers.
Geisel also has the print edition
. UC San Diego author
The Handbook of International Financial Terms by
Call Number: Oxford e-book
Publication Date: 2005
This Handbook is a comprehensive reference book of financial terms and jargon, and includes numerous examples showing how particular calculations and instruments are used. Also, it covers acronyms, and details about currencies and major markets.
Financial Decision-Making for Engineers by
Call Number: in process
Publication Date: 2018
A much-needed practical guide, particularly suited for readers with engineering or science backgrounds, that provides the financial decision-making skills needed in the business world For engineers with little or no business background this book provides the financial decision-making skills necessary for a management career. Based on materials used by students in a Masters of Engineering and Management program at Case Western Reserve University and informed by both classroom and industry experience, this essential guide can be used in courses or independent study. The chapters introduce and integrate key concepts relevant to basic management, accounting, and finance that will enhance the critical thinking and confidence necessary for success as a chief technology officer or in any business career.
What if you find a reference in the bibliography of one of these background sources, and want to find out where it is in our collections in order to read the original?
Use the UC-eLinks Citation Linker!
Find topics and/or reviews of research
The resources on this page give you theoretical background, point to models,and provide definitions.
Elsevier Handbooks of Economics
These handbooks contain thorough background on the research and theory of a multitude of economics topics written and edited by experts in the field.
Wiley Online Library - Books on Finance and Investments
This publisher offers many books in finances, such as Wiley Handbooks in Financial Engineering and Econometrics
. California Digital Library has licensed most of the Wiley Interscience books for 2011, and UCSD Libraries purchased selected individual volumes from prior years, including major reference works.
CRC Press produces reference & regular books in the sciences. This subset points to the online statistics resources in business finance and economics, including Introduction to Spatial Econometrics, Linear Model Methodology and Diagnostic Checks in Time Series. Example:
Springer Electronic Books in finance
This Springer site includes over 28,000 books from every scientific discipline plus economics and some social sciences published in English and German from 2005 to 2010 plus selected older series back to volume 1.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Over 3,800 articles spread over 99 subject areas; a key research tool for overviews of research on social sciences topics.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
This longstanding, scholarly publication is the go-to place for background on any topic in economics, because its articles are written by experts who provide for each entry an overview of theory and the current state of research.
AR provides scholarly review articles that may serve as starting points for research, or to keep up with research trends in a field. Each article attempts to convey the research output of a discipline or topic, and reports the nature of the research, in terms of its empirical findings, theoretical development, methodology or historical development.
Other Useful Resources
The Oxford Handbook of Banking and Financial History by
Call Number: Oxford E-book
Publication Date: 2016
This volume approaches the banking and financial world from four distinct but interrelated angles: financial institutions, financial markets, financial regulation, and financial crises.