Building Full Stack Defi Applications: A Practical Guide to Creating Your Own Decentralized Finance Projects on Blockchain by
This book will show you how DeFi solutions are built with smart contracts running on blockchains and how they allow users to gain and earn crypto assets based on the trust of the smart contracts. The contents describe the inner workings of DeFi by guiding you through the mathematical foundations and teaching you how to build real-world DeFi products with Solidity and JavaScript.
Validation of Risk Management Models for Financial Institutions by
Since the financial crisis of 2007-2011, there has been increasing scrutiny and testing applied to such financial market models, and validation has become an essential part of model risk management at financial institutions. This book covers the major risk areas that institutions models for (market risk, interest rate risk, retail credit risk, wholesale credit risk, compliance risk, and investment management), and describes current practices and pitfalls that model users need to be aware of. It identifies areas where validation can be advanced in the future and provides a unified framework for validating risk management models.
Analytics in Finance and Risk Management by
This book presents contemporary issues and challenges in finance and risk management in a time of rapid transformation due to technological advancements. It includes research articles based on financial and economic data and intends to cover the emerging role of analytics in financial management, asset management, and risk management.
Algorithmic Approaches to Financial Technology: Forecasting, Trading, and Optimization by
In an era where algorithms underpin the very foundation of financial services, it is imperative to hold a deep understanding of the intricate web of computational finance. This book takes a comprehensive approach, spotlighting the fusion of artificial intelligence (AI) and algorithms in financial operations. The chapters explore the expansive landscape of algorithmic applications, from scrutinizing market trends to managing risks.
The Art of Quantitative Finance Vol. 3: Risk, optimal portfolios, and case studies by 
Seven Crashes: The Economic Crises That Shaped Globalization by
A leading economic historian presents a new history of financial crises. Examining seven turning points in financial history, the author shows how crashes prompted by a lack of supply, like the oil shortages of the 1970s, lead to greater globalization as markets expand and producers innovate to increase supply. By contrast, crises triggered by a lack of demand--such as the Global Financial Crisis of 2007-2008--result in less globalization as markets contract, austerity measures are imposed, and skepticism of government grows. By considering not only the times but also the observers who shaped our understanding of each crisis--from Karl Marx to John Maynard Keynes to Larry Summers--James shows how the uneven course of globalization has led to new economic thinking, and how understanding this history can help us better prepare for the future.
A Crash Course on Crises by
An incisive overview of the macroeconomics of financial crises--essential reading for students and policy experts alike. This book brings together the latest cutting-edge economic research to identify the seeds of these crashes, reveal their triggers and consequences, and explain what policymakers can do about them.
AI for finance by
This book requires no prior knowledge in AI or finance. To finance students and practitioners, this book will explain the promise of AI and its limitations. It will cover knowledge representation, modelling, simulation and machine learning. To computing students and practitioners, this book will introduce the financial applications in which AI has made an impact. This includes algorithmic trading, forecasting, risk analysis portfolio optimization and other less well-known areas in finance.
Previously-featured items:
The Econometrics of Financial Markets by
The book covers the entire spectrum of empirical finance, including: the predictability of asset returns, tests of the Random Walk Hypothesis, the microstructure of securities markets, event analysis, the Capital Asset Pricing Model and the Arbitrage Pricing Theory, the term structure of interest rates, dynamic models of economic equilibrium, and nonlinear financial models such as ARCH, neural networks, statistical fractals, and chaos theory. Assigned reading in some MFIN courses.
Switzerland and Its Banks: a short history by
Although this publication went to press before the 2023 failure of Credit Suisse, it provides background that can help interested readers better understand those developments. This book provides a history of Swiss banking not confined to stereotypical opinions about secret numbered accounts. Instead, the presented history covers other intriguing events and developments beyond the famous issue of banking secrecy and the corresponding scandals. Topics covered in the book include the early financial innovations by banks in Geneva to handle the sovereign risk on bonds issued in pre-revolutionary France, the monetary chaos that led to the creation of the Swiss franc, the nineteenth century, post WWI role as a financial safe haven, the golden age of Swiss banking when Zurich was briefly one of the largest financial centres in the world, and the recent global financial crisis.
How to Read Economic News: A Critical Approach to Economic Journalism by
Closely examining how the news media reports economic and financial matters, this book equips students with solid methodological skills for reading and interpreting the news alongside a toolkit for best practice as an economic journalist. Beginning by introducing major concepts such as financialised economic reporting, media amnesia and loss of trust, the book goes on to help students to interpret, understand and analyse existing news discourse and to identify subtle biases in news reports stemming from hegemonic belief systems. This is a key text for students and academics in the fields of financial journalism and critical discourse analysis who wish to approach the subject with a critical eye.
Portfolio management: delivering on strategy by 
Early Stage Valuation: a fair value perspective by
This book is a comprehensive review of the current methodologies used to value Early Stage Enterprises (ESEs) at fair value for financial reporting, investment, and mergers and acquisitions. It examines how to apply market analysis, discounted cash flows models, statistical techniques such as option pricing models (OPM) and Monte Carlo simulation, the venture capital method and non-GAAP metrics to ESE valuation. The text considers the most recent AICPA, Appraisal Foundation and IPEV guidance, real-world case studies, and examines developments in both academic research and venture capital investor practice.
Investment Banking: valuation, leveraged buyouts, and mergers & acquisitions, 2nd ed. by
This Second Edition includes both the technical valuation fundamentals as well as practical judgment skills and perspective. This book focuses on the primary valuation methodologies currently used on Wall Street: comparable companies analysis, precedent transactions analysis, discounted cash flow analysis, and leveraged buyout analysis.
Finance for Non-Finance People by
This book introduces, explains and demystifies essential ideas of business finance to those who do not have financial background or training. Lucid, accessible yet comprehensive, the book delineates the financial workings of businesses and offers an overview of corporate finance in the global context.
Financing Real Estate in California by
California was at the epicentre of the collapse of the real estate market in 2008, which had a devastating effect on the world economy. Taking this diverse and powerful state as a case study, this book presents a financial history of the property business, from the time Spanish Missions were established to the Great Recession.
How to browse for the latest additions to our collections:
TIPS: Don't see your favorite topic listed above? You can search your own topics and titles by using UC Library Search. For best results, sign in to UC Library Search using SSO and your @ucsd.edu email address. To limit to the most recent ebooks, choose the radio button that says "UC San Diego Library Catalog" for your search, then filter the results to online only. Changing the results order from "relevance" to "date: newest first" will show the most recent additions to the ebook collection
Our e-book content comes from a variety of vendors and each of their platforms looks and feels different. See below for options to dive into specific platforms.
O’Reilly for Higher Education includes more than 38K computer science, engineering, business book titles from 200+ publishers. Plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, expert playlists, audio books, and more. Includes pre-publication titles published by O'Reilly.
Access with Single Sign On after choosing University of California San Diego from the list of institutions.
Note: Access is limited to current students, staff, and faculty at the University of California campuses. No community use.
The Vault banking and finance guides feature background on working in financial services in general as well as in specific areas like commercial banking, sales and trading, investment banking, middle market banking, leveraged finance and actuarial careers. There are also employer rankings and interviewing preparation materials. Don't miss the special sections for profiles of banking employers and Career Advice section that covers background on more specific roles.Vault is a great resource for job hunting, internship seeking and career planning. Below are a sample of the kinds of titles you'll come across here.
Heard on the Street, 23rd ed. rev. by 
The Technical Interview Guide to Investment Banking by 
