Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Handbook of Management Accounting Research, Vols 1-3 by
Call Number: Elsevier e-books
Publication Date: 2008-present
Elsevier handbooks summarize the research in a field, and are good for quickly getting a solid background on research in a discipline. Vol 1 of this title sets the context. Vol 2 provides insights into research on different management accounting practices. Vol 3 features contributions from some of the most influential researchers in various areas of management accounting research, consolidates the content of volumes one and two, and concludes with examples of management accounting research from around the world.
The Routledge Companion to Qualitative Accounting Research Methods by
Call Number: Routledge e-bookhttps://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/9781315674797
Publication Date: 2017
Selecting from the wide range of research methodologies remains a dilemma for all scholars, not least those looking to study the world of accounting. Covering a selection of qualitative methodological issues, research strategies and methods, this comprehensive compilation provides an essential guide to the choice and execution of qualitative research approaches in this field.
Accounting and Auditing Research: tools & strategies by
Call Number: HF5630 .W39, Geisel 6th fl. (print only)
Publication Date: 2013
This 8th Edition builds upon previous issues with a continued focus on major accounting curriculum topics, including intermediate accounting, government and non-profit accounting, tax, advanced accounting, and accounting theory. It also focuses on how to perform accounting, auditing, tax, and business research in an ever-changing accounting and auditing landscape. Furthermore, the text provides information, insights, and more research opportunities to develop effective skills in research and analysis. We have 7th edition (2009) as an e-book
Accounting and Auditing Research and Databases by
Call Number: O'Reilly e-book
Publication Date: 2012
Accounting professionals and practitioners need to understand the various major research databases in order to do their work. Although the database interfaces and product names have changed since its publication, this book highlights still useful step-by-step guidance about process and how to approach the underlying research resources published by RIA, CCH, AICPA, FASB, GARS, and IFRS, enabling you to better navigate your accounting and auditing research.
The Essentials of Finance and Accounting for Nonfinancial Managers by
Call Number: O'Reilly e-book
Publication Date: 2016
This popular crash course for managers helps you make sense of financial data and assessing performance. Packed with the latest information on federal regulations, pertinent GAAP rules, global trends that can impact the financial picture, expanded case studies, and new practice exercises that reinforce the lessons and strengthen skills.
Find topics and/or reviews of research
The resources on this page give you theoretical background, point to models,and provide definitions.
Wiley Online Library - Books on Accounting
This publisher offers reference titles and other books. California Digital Library has licensed most of the Wiley Interscience books for 2011, and UCSD Libraries purchased selected individual volumes from prior years, including major reference works. Suggest a purchase if a desired title doesn't display the unlocked icon via http://bit.ly/i8bPfU.
Springer Electronic Books in Accounting and Auditing
This Springer site includes over 28,000 books from every scientific discipline plus economics and some social sciences published in English and German from 2005 to 2010 plus selected older series back to volume 1. Examples:
AR provides scholarly review articles that may serve as starting points for research, or to keep up with research trends in a field. Each article attempts to convey the research output of a discipline or topic, and reports the nature of the research, in terms of its empirical findings, theoretical development, methodology or historical development.
Elsevier Handbooks of Economics
These handbooks contain thorough background on the research and theory of a multitude of economics topics written and edited by experts in the field.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Over 3,800 articles spread over 99 subject areas; a key research tool for overviews of research on social sciences topics.
Other Useful Resources
The Routledge Companion to Accounting History, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: Routledge e-book
Publication Date: 2020
This item is a single-volume synthesis of the research, exploring and analyzing accounting from ancient civilizations to the modern day. This revised and updated volume moves beyond the history of accounting technologies, accounting theories and practices and the accountants who applied them. Expert contributors from around the world explore the interfaces between accounting and the economy, society, culture and the polity.
International Transfer Pricing by
Call Number: Now e-book
Publication Date: 2015
Taxable income for a multinational enterprise (MNE) is determined on the basis of accounting for the incomes of a U.S. parent and its foreign subsidiaries. This guide reviews the literature on the range of issues that impact transfer pricing, emphasizing what’s of most of interest to accounting and tax researchers while incorporating important contributions from the fields of economics and legal research. The author provides historical context and introduces contemporary topics like the disagreements between U.S. Treasury Regulations and the OECD Guidelines, factors that affect corporate income shifting, transaction costs, tax compliance, and comparison of apportionment vs. separate accounting. The publication also identifies potential areas for future research.
Tax History Project
The Tax History Project is a public service initiative from Tax Analysts. Established in 1995, the Project provides scholars, policymakers, journalists, and the general public with information on the history of U.S. public finance. Components include “The Tax History Museum,” “The Price of Civilization,” “Presidential Tax Returns,” “Taxing Federalism,” an image gallery and article archive.
A Dictionary of Accounting, 5th ed. by
Call Number: Oxfore Reference Online
Publication Date: 2016
This best-selling dictionary includes more than 3,800 entries covering all aspects of accounting, including financial accounting, financial reporting, management accounting, taxation, auditing, corporate finance, and accounting bodies and institutions. Its international coverage includes important terms from UK, US, Australia, India, and Asia-Pacific. With its authoritative and accessible definitions and its wide-ranging coverage, this dictionary is essential for students and professionals in accounting and finance. It is also an ideal source of reference for anyone seeking a clear guide to the often-confusing world of accountancy terms.
Statistics in a Nutshell, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: Safari e-books
Publication Date: 2013
This book provides a clear and concise introduction and reference for anyone new statistics. Each chapter presents easy-to-follow descriptions, along with graphics, formulas, solved examples, and hands-on exercises. Good for reviewing methods and getting up-to-speed quickly.
When you want to find the full text of a reference in one of these background sources, use the Citation Linker to find and read the original.
UC-eLinks Citation Linker!