Skip to main content
A Dictionary of Economics, 5th ed. by
Call Number: Oxford e-book
Publication Date: 2017
This authoritative and comprehensive dictionary contains clear, concise definitions of approximately 3,500 key economic terms covering all aspects of the field.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by
Call Number: Oxford e-book
Publication Date: 2005
Due to the interdisciplinary nature of the field, the Encyclopedia is divided not only by chronological and geographic boundaries, but also by related subfields such as agricultural history, demographic history, business history, and the histories of technology, migration, and transportation. The articles, all written and signed by international contributors, include scholars from Europe, Latin America, Africa, and Asia. Covering economic history in all areas of the world and segments of economies from prehistoric times to the present,
What if you find a reference in the bibliography of one of these background sources, and want to find out where it is in our collections in order to read the original?
Use the UC-eLinks Citation Linker!
Find topics and/or reviews of research
AR provides scholarly review articles that may serve as starting points for research, or to keep up with research trends in a field. Each article attempts to convey the research output of a discipline or topic, and reports the nature of the research, in terms of its empirical findings, theoretical development, methodology or historical development.
Elsevier Handbooks of Economics
These handbooks contain thorough background on the research and theory of a multitude of economics topics written and edited by experts in the field.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
This longstanding, scholarly publication is the go-to place for background on any topic in economics, because its articles are written by experts who provide for each entry an overview of theory and the current state of research.
Routledge Handbooks for Economics Topics
This well-regarded series includes titles such as:
Wiley Online Library - Books in Economics
This publisher offers reference titles and other books. California Digital Library has licensed most of the Wiley Interscience books for 2011, and UCSD Libraries purchased selected individual volumes from prior years, including major reference works. Suggest a purchase if a desired title doesn't display the unlocked icon via http://bit.ly/i8bPfU.
Springer Electronic Books in Economics
This Springer site includes over 28,000 books from every scientific discipline plus economics and some social sciences published in English and German from 2005 to 2010 plus selected older series back to volume 1.
CRC Press produces reference & regular books in the sciences. This subset points to the online statistics resources in economics, including Introduction to Spatial Econometrics, Linear Model Methodology and Diagnostic Checks in Time Series. Example:
Other Useful Resources
Handbook of Field Experiments, Volume 2 by
Call Number: PQ e-book
Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Field Experiments, V2 explains how to conduct experimental research, presents a catalog of research to date, and describes which areas remain to be explored. The new volume includes sections on field experiments in education in developing countries, how to design social protection programs, a section on how to combat poverty, and updates on data relating to the impact and determinants of health levels in low-income countries. This ongoing series will be of particular interest to scholars working with experimental methods. Users will find results from politics, education, and more.
International Handbook on Teaching and Learning Economics by
Call Number: HB74.5 .I57, Geisel 6th fl.
Publication Date: 2012
This handbook provides a comprehensive resource for instructors and researchers in economics, both new and experienced. Learn more about course content design, pedagogic techniques, and the scholarship of the teaching.
Topics covered are wide-ranging, including:
- Pedagogy - teaching techniques, technology use, assessment, contextual techniques, and K-12 practices
- Research - principles courses, measurement, factors influencing student performance, evaluation, and the scholarship of teaching and learning
- Institutional/administrative issues - faculty development, the undergraduate and graduate student, and international perspectives
- Teacher development initiatives - foundations, organizations, and workshops.
This compendium is a reference tool for all involved in the teaching of economics: graduate students, new teachers, lecturers, faculty, researchers, chairs, deans and directors.
Panel Data Econometrics with R by
Call Number: Wiley ebook
Publication Date: 2018
This tutorial covers using R in the field of panel data econometrics. Illustrated throughout with examples in econometrics, political science, agriculture and epidemiology, it presents classic methodology and applications as well as more advanced topics and recent developments in this field including error component models, spatial panels and dynamic models. The authors have developed the software programming in R and host replicable material on the book's accompanying website.
Introduction to the Mathematics of Finance by
Call Number: AMS e-book
Publication Date: 2006
The modern subject of mathematical finance has undergone considerable development, both in theory and practice, since the seminal work of Black and Scholes appeared a third of a century ago. This book is intended as an introduction to some elements of the theory that will enable students and researchers to go on to read more advanced texts and research papers.
Geisel also has the print edition
. UC San Diego author
Marketing Scales Handbook, Volume 8 by
Call Number: (ebook)
Publication Date: 2015
"The Marketing Scales Handbooks are the longest-running series that provide reviews of multi-item measures used in scholarly studies of consumer behavior. This volume picks up where Volume 7 ended and has reviews of 392 new scales that were reported in top marketing journal articles published in 2012 and 2013. Each review has information about a scale's source, its psychometric quality, who has used it, and the questions/statements that compose the measure. The bulk of the scales in Volume 8 have to do with topics typical to the series such as brands, advertising, shopping, emotion, e-commerce, and health. Other topics in this volume were less covered in previous volumes and have to do with environmental issues (recycling and green products), word-of-mouth activity, international commerce issues (fair trade and off-shoring), and game-playing.The book is a valuable resource to researchers in a variety of fields who want reliable measures for use in their studies of consumers or similar types of participants such as viewers, clients, patients, or citizens. Instead of using simplistic measures of dubious quality or, at the other extreme, having to build and refine measures from scratch, researchers can use the book's contents to learn from the experts who have already vetted the quality of the measures. By using better scales, accuracy is increased and should improve the decisions based upon the results."