GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
Industry and company news and reports covering technology, telecom, electric power, oil and gas, mining, infrastructure, banking, insurance, water, and privatization sectors across Latin America. **IMPORTANT ACCESS INFORMATION for BN AMERICAS: (1) The first time you login, you need to use the passwordless login – put in your email, and click on send magic link. (2) The magic link will probably go to your Junk Mail/Spam – and, if you have that set so that you get a daily digest, by the time you get it, it will probably have expired. Here’s how to get it more quickly and unblock it for the future. (3) Search your inbox or junk mail or deleted mail for: UCSD Spam Quarantine noreply@ucsd.edu (4) Click on “Request New End User Digest” – which will bring up a digest of your most recent spam alerts (5) Find the message from bnamericasnews.com (likely in your junk mail) and click on “Release and Allow Sender” – so that that this email will go into your inbox and, in the future, any emails from BNAmericas will not be blocked. Once you get in, you will be able to reset your password for continued use.
Restricted to UCSD email addresses
Provides detailed coverage of political, economic, and commercial developments covering all countries from 1952 to 1995. Comprehensive quarterly overviews allow researchers to gain a thorough understanding of an event, policy, or development. In addition to the highly regarded, impartial insight from EIU researchers, each report contains tables with detailed country-level statistics downloadable to Excel.
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, economic and industrial statistics, and political news with a focus on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.
Financial and economic data covering over 150 countries and over 6,500 historical and current data series. Bonds, T-bills, unemployment, GDP, commodity prices, exchange rates, and more, some dating back to 1900. Note: To access, use the “Login Anonymously” option and choose GFDatabase in the left nav bar.
Country reports, risk ratings, industry analysis, daily alerts, and data. **First time users should follow the Create a New Account link, and use your @ucsd.edu email to register. An activation code will be sent to your @ucsd.edu email in order for you to complete the registration. Once your account is activated, login happens via UCSD’s Single Sign On.
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports. **This resource will be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas in June 2025.
Keyword searching in UC Library Search for these phrases/keywords may be effective, particularly for historical material:
These searches may lead you to the International directory of company histories -- a very useful resources which is part of Gale Business Insights
The following authors have produced useful serials and reports:
Industry and company news and reports covering technology, telecom, electric power, oil and gas, mining, infrastructure, banking, insurance, water, and privatization sectors across Latin America. **IMPORTANT ACCESS INFORMATION for BN AMERICAS: (1) The first time you login, you need to use the passwordless login – put in your email, and click on send magic link. (2) The magic link will probably go to your Junk Mail/Spam – and, if you have that set so that you get a daily digest, by the time you get it, it will probably have expired. Here’s how to get it more quickly and unblock it for the future. (3) Search your inbox or junk mail or deleted mail for: UCSD Spam Quarantine noreply@ucsd.edu (4) Click on “Request New End User Digest” – which will bring up a digest of your most recent spam alerts (5) Find the message from bnamericasnews.com (likely in your junk mail) and click on “Release and Allow Sender” – so that that this email will go into your inbox and, in the future, any emails from BNAmericas will not be blocked. Once you get in, you will be able to reset your password for continued use.
Restricted to UCSD email addresses
The News Sources on Mexico tab lists many general and regionally/subject-specific news sources which are useful for historical and contemporary business research.
In addition, there are many important business-specific news resources to be aware of. These include:
