Mexican Studies: Statistics/DataSets/Public Opinion

Guide to Resources for Research on Mexico at UCSD and the greater San Diego-Baja Region and beyond

Public Opinion/Poll Data

Latinobarómetro Data
Annual public opinion survey conducted since 1995 by Latinobarómetro Corporation, a non-profit NGO based in Santiago, Chile. Each survey consists of approximately 19,000 interviews and represents over 400 million inhabitants and, since 2004, covers all 18 Latin American countries. To access the surveys, click on Base de Datos/Data Bank. Files are available from 1995 to 2016.

For more information about this resource, see the page dedicated to it on the Finding Data and Statistics Research Guide

Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
The Latin American Public Opinion Project has produced over sixty surveys analyzing public perceptions of the role of government, political tolerance, citizen participation, and corruption among other issues. Uniquely, it includes The Americas Barometer, which is viewed as the most comprehensive survey of democratic public opinion and behavior that covers the Americas. Data is available for 2004, 2006 and 2008.
LAPOP's System for Online Data Analysis (SODA)
Analyze LAPOP data online (free for anyone).
LAPOP Datasets (2004-current) Licensed by UCSD
Download the 2004 - current datasets directly from LAPOP (UC San Diego students, faculty, staff only)
LAPOP Datasets repository (1978-2003) Licensed by UCSD
Download the repository data (pre-2004) from the UC San Diego Dataverse (UC San Diego students, faculty, staff only)

Latin American Databank at Roper
Acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms. To date, the LAD collection holds nearly twelve hundred studies from 16 countries, with the largest contributions coming from Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela.

Online Resources for Data and Statistical Resources

There are vast numbers of datasets and databases providing quantitative information on many, many themes. This is a list of resources all over the (information and geographical) map. There are additional resources mentioned on thematic pages on this Research Guide, Such as Immigration and Refugees. Please reach out to me for a research consultation, or also to our Data Librarian, Stephanie Labou!

CECHIMEX Statistics on China, Mexico and the US
Provided by the UNAM, includes statistics on Chinese investment in Latin American and the Caribbean

CEIC Data
CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused.
Four databases are included in this package:
• China Premium Databases
The China Premium Database offers over 415,000 time-series records on macroeconomic, sector, industry and regional data dating back to 1949. The China Premium Database is available in both English and Chinese.
• Brazil Premium Databases
The Brazil Premium Database covers 13 macroeconomic and 13 industry growth sectors with unmatched coverage of the energy, biofuel, and automobile sectors. Regional data are also available for Brazil's 5 regions, all 27 states, and 6000 municipalities.
• Global Database
CEIC Data’s Global Database provides access to granular macroeconomic data covering both developed and emerging markets covering over 200 economies and is ideal for business students, professors and lecturers for macroeconomic research projects and course assignments.
• Daily Database

Centro Regional de Estrategias Economicas Sostenibles (CREES) Official Statsitics by (Latin American and Caribbean) Country
Council on Hemispheric Affairs
Founded in 1975, the Council on Hemispheric Affairs (COHA), a nonprofit, tax-exempt independent research and information organization, was established to promote the common interests of the hemisphere, raise the visibility of regional affairs and increase the importance of the inter-American relationship, as well as encourage the formulation of rational and constructive U.S. policies towards Latin America. Produces quality research-based literature.

Cross National Time-Series (CNTS)
The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive was launched by Arthur S. Banks in the fall of 1968 at the State University of New York at Binghamton. The archive was, in part, the outcome of an effort initiated some years earlier to assemble, in machine readable, longitudinal format, certain of the aggregate data resources of The Statesman's Yearbook, published since 1864. The archive has almost 200 variables and contains data for over 200 country units, with provision for entries from 1815 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945)
Data Citation Index
Indexes research data, including data studies and data sets, and links them to the scientific literature to track data citation. Part of Web of Science.
Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet)
Provides easy access to statistical data. Data is downloadable in Excel and CSV, and shapefiles when multiple geographies are covered. Sources include: Bombay Stock Exchange, British Bankers' Association, Chicago Board Options, Exchange, China Data Center, D&B (Dun & Bradstreet), Dave Leip's Atlas of US Presidential Elections, Defense Manpower Data Center, Deutsche Börse Group, Dow Jones, Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI), Eurostat, FTSE Group, HSI Services Limited (Hong Kong), International Monetary Fund, London Bullion Market Association , London Platinum & Palladium Market, NASDAQ OMX Group, National Bureau of Economic Research, Nikkei, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Shanghai Stock Exchange, Standard & Poor's, World Bank, World Resource Institute, Sharadar, and many US Federal agencies. See Sage's Sage Data LibGuide for more detail. If you are having trouble connecting, check the status page to see if Sage Data is down.
EIU Viewpoint with China Focus City Data
This resource contains background, trends and risk analysis on countries and regions. EIU is known for its global coverage of current political, economic, and business affairs. It features worldwide industry coverage for automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare and telecommunications. This EIU Viewpoint platform also includes “China Focus City Data,” which can be accessed under the “More” tab in the upper right corner of the Viewpoint homepage. Former names: Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD portal), Access China All Cities
EMIS Next Academic Research (formerly EMIS Intelligence)
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, statistics and political news on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent coverage of Latin America.
BMI Country Risk Global & All Industry Global
BMI provides proprietary data, analyst reports, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Login path: choose SSO > Organization ID = UCSD. BMI includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts.
Global Financial Database
Financial and economic data covering over 150 countries and over 6,500 historical and current data series. Bonds, T-bills, unemployment, GDP, commodity prices, exchange rates, and more, some dating back to 1900. Note: To access, use the “Login Anonymously” option and choose GFDatabase in the left nav bar.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Excellent online book resource that includes essays and statistical tables on many topics. Data from government agencies of the United States going back to colonial times. Comprehensive survey and tabulation of historical statistics from government agencies and other sources, covering all aspects of US population and economy. Useful for any topic in Latin American affecting the United States.
ICPSR Data Archive
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. World's largest archive of social science data. Election data, opinion polls, more. Special collections on Health, Education, Aging, Crime, Substance Abuse. Raw data; no tables. To download data, create a personal account using your ucsd.edu email address while accessing the database from a UC San Diego computer, UCSD-PROTECTED wireless, or the VPN.

Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Geografía (INEGI)
The official mapping and GIS agency of Mexico. Their website is in Spanish and offers links to census products and GIS data. If you are a part of UC San Diego, we have own a digital collection of Mexico topo maps that you can use, so just contact us in the Geisel Library building!
Inter-American Development Bank Datasets
IMF Data
Time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators, as well as manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices used by the IMF, national governments, and others. A useful way to orient yourself on this page is to click on the info-graphic to the right, which displays prominent IMF databases and shows what kind of information they provide. From the IMF website homepage.
International Historical Statistics
Ebook bringing together historical statistics from many non-US countries -- A search for the same title will also indicate other books with particular regional foci
International Organizations and Statistics
Links to statistics from international organizations and other bodies. Not all sites are free. Maintained at UC Berkeley.
IPUMS International
World's largest archive of publicly available census samples. Data coded across countries and over time. Data is available free of charge. Includes most Latin American countries.
LANIC Statistics
This guide is a gateway to dozens of government bodies, agencies, and organizations that produce statistical data from or about Latin America. Often, the most up-to-date statistical information is available only from these web sites.
Latin American Election Statistics
by Karen Lindvall-Larson, retired Latin American Studies Bibliographer, a chronology of elections since independence at the municipal, state, and federal levels in selected Spanish-speaking Latin American countries that also lists sources of statistics for each election as identified. Other countries are added as they are completed.
Latin American Mortality Database 2 (
Provided by the University of Wisconsin-Madison, this resource compiles data from many sources from 1850 to 2019.
Military Balance
Annual publication with detailed statistical information about the world's militaries including budget, enlisted personnel, and firepower.
Montevideo Oxford Latin American Economic History Database (MOxLAD)
MOxLad contains statistical series for a wide range of economic and social indicators covering 1900 to 2000.
Pan American Health Organization
The Pan American Health Organization is a regional division of the World Health Organization (WHO)
Political Database of the Americas
Non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University in collaboration with institutions including the Secretariat for Political Affairs of the Organization of American States and FLACSO-Chile. Offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the Americas.
CEPALSTAT (United Nations ECLAC)
Demographic, social, economic, environmental, and related statistics. Includes coverage of Millennium Development Goals (MDG), gender, social cohesion, sustainable development, and information and communication technologies (ICT).

UNdata
Single search interface for data produced and collected by various United Nations (UN) organizations. Provides 442 economic, social, cultural, health, and demographic data series for countries of the world. Data providers include UN, UNESCO, FAO, WHO, IMF, UNICEF, ITU, and World Bank. Some indicators reach back as far as the 1940s.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics
United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) statistical institute website. Includes statistical data sets of world education and literacy indicators, and selected data from the UNESCO Statistical Yearbook.
UN: Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)
Provides access to reports, publications, news, and statistics with individual and comparative country information on agricultural, livestock, and fish production, water management, food consumption, particular crops and commodities, population and demographics, and agricultural policies
UN Human Development Index
The HDI was created to emphasize that people and their capabilities should be the ultimate criteria for assessing the development of a country, not economic growth alone. It thus provides an alternative way to measure quality of life and "wealth" than GDP. Provides access to Data/Statistics, Literature including _The Annual Development Report, News, and Publications, and Country Profiles.
World Bank DataBank
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them. Includes World Development Indicators...
more...less...
Statistical Capacity Indicators, Education Statistics, Gender Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Poverty and Equity, Doing Business, IDA Results Measurement System, Millennium Development Goals, Quarterly Public Sector Debt, Joint External Debt Hub, Job, Global Economic Prospects, Africa Development Indicators, Population estimates and projections, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics by Wealth Quintile, Landmine Contamination Casualties and Clearance (LC3D), Enterprise Surveys, Global Economic Monitor (GEM), Exporter Dynamics Database, Arica Development Entrepreneurship, Remittance Prices Worldwide, Sustainable Mobility for All, PPPs Regulator Quality, Human Capital Index, World Bureaucracy Indicators, Logistics Performance Index (LPI), Health Equality and Financial Protection Indicators (HEFPI), Global Financial Inclusion and Consumer Protection Survey, Economic Fitness, Environment Social and Governance (ESG) Data, MIX Market, Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), International Comparison Program (ICP) 2011, Wealth Accounts, Economic Fitness, Africa Infrastructure, International Debt Statistics (formerly Global Development Finance), Global Bilateral Migration, UNCTAD - Trade Analysis Information System (TRAINS), International Comparison Program (ICP) 2005, Global Financial Inclusion, The Atlas of Social Protection: Indicators of Resilience and Equity, Country Policy and Institutional Assessment, Global Partnership for Education, Global Financial Development, G20 Financial Inclusion Indicators, ESCAP World Bank: International Trade Costs, Sustainable Energy for All, Service Delivery Indicators, Adjusted Net Savings, Indonesia Database for Policy and Economic Research, Subnational Malnutrition, LAC EQUITY LAB, India Power Sector Review Database, Country Partnership Strategy for India (FY2013-17), Agriculture in Africa – Telling Facts from Myths, National Poverty Line - Subnational Poverty, Quarterly External Debt Statistics GDDS, Quarterly External Debt Statistics SDDS, Subnational Population
World Development Indicators (WDI)
The primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources is now augmented with external debt and financial flows statistics. This Contains over 1200 series dating as far back as 1960.

Print Statistical Abstracts with Mexican Information

Latin American marketing data and statistics

Call Number: Geisel Reference Floor2 West HA751 .L38
Publication Date: London: Euromonitor International, 2003

Anuario estadístico de América Latina = Statistical yearbook for Latin America

Call Number: Geisel Floor 6 HA755 .A68
Publication Date: Santiago, Chile: United Nations, Economic Commision for Latin America, 1973-1984.

Anuario estadístico de América Latina y el Caribe = Statistical yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean

Call Number: Geisel Reference Floor 2 West and Floor 6 HA755 .A68
Publication Date: [Santiago, Chile]: Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, 1986-

Issues since 1998 available online available at https://www.un-ilibrary.org/content/periodicals/16841379

Search for Statistical abstract of Latin America" as a keyword in UC Library Search to find various publications by the Committee on Latin American Studies/Latin American Studies Center at UCLA.

Statistical abstract of Latin America for .. by prepared by Committee on Latin American Studies, UCLA

Call Number: Most Recent: Geisel Reference Floor2 West Earlier Issues 6th Floor HA935 .S8
Publication Date: Los Angeles : The University, 1956-2002
Vols. 1-38 (1955-2002) In SRLF. Request it through interlibrary loan by clicking the link, signing in and using the Request feature.

Mexican Census Material

There are several resources held by UCSD Library and beyond to find Mexican Census Material:

1. The Family Search Digital Library, provided by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints in Salt Lake City, is increasingly digitizing its microflm materials to make them freely accessible available online.

To search for and access material for a particular region, create an account and go to the Family Search Research Wiki.

Use the Map or "Search by Place and Topic" box. This will bring you to a country specific page where you can search for a more specific term or use the facet menu on the right to identify particular kinds of records and collections (church, census, etc.)

For example, to get to Mexico's first census (the Padrones, gathered between 1752-1865) as well as additional Mexican Census Material:

From the Famiy Search Research Wiki

> Search for Mexico, which will take you to the Mexico Genealogy Page

> Click on "Census" under record type on the left (Please note that you can also search for other formats and collections of vital statistics) OR Search for Padrones

(Either search brings you to the Mexico Census Page)

> Scroll down and click on: Padrones, 1752-1865

> Scroll down and click on the camera icon to the right of the documents you want to consult

2. The UCSD Library has purchased Datasets for relatively recent censuses in a number of Latin American Countries, including

Mexico, 2010, Population Census, GCA-GIS

All of these can be found in the "Latin American Census Collection" and accessed with AD login on the X: drive in the GIS Lab.

3. Mexico's Instituto Nacional de Informacion Estadistica y Geografica: INEGI) holds a wide range of census materials