There are many resources to use to find books at UCSD, as well as in the broader San Diego, California, and Global Community. UC Library Search (displayed and accessed at the center of the UC Library Homepage) allows users to search the local UCSD and UC wide catalogs, as well as WorldCat – which identifies holdings across the globe. UC Library Search also incorporates records from many databases (so you can search for articles at the same time that you search for books, microform, government documents, and more) and it also includes faceting, which helps you to narrow down the results of your search by format, subject, or other criteria. In addition, it is possible to expand a UC Library Search to include global results via WorldCat. See also the Keyword Search Strategies and Tools Box by Scrolling Down on the Search Strategies and Tools tab of this guide.
UC Library Search, accessible from the search box on the library's homepage, helps you locate books, film, music, maps, and various other materials at the UC San Diego Library and beyond. It also contains a limited number of online journals and newspaper articles. You may search by keyword, title, and author, and filter your search to what is available online. You can also place an interlibrary loan request through UC Library Search for materials at other UC campuses or libraries worldwide using your Single Sign-On credentials.
UC Library Search does not include all the content to which the Library subscribes. To extend your search, try a database. The database you use depends on the topic or subject you have chosen and the type of information you need to access. You may choose among broad subject areas (e.g., biology, art, political science, etc.), as well as interdisciplinary databases or ones that search across multiple disciplines.
You must also be logged into the VPN to access the information for any database with a blue lock icon.
Please see the Guide to eBooks for important information on
See also the Dissertations & Theses for Content and Templates Tab on this guide
Other resources, including HaithiTrust, Cibera, and the Handbook of Latin American Studies provide additional citations:
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and an access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and copyrighted content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. Content is full-text searchable; most items published before 1923 are full-text viewable and downloadable.
The Handbook of Latin American Studies is an annotated bibliography of Latin American Studies literature produced by research librarians at the Library of Congress.
For the print version, see:
Handbook of Latin American studies. Austin [etc.] : University of Texas Press [etc.].
Geisel Reference, Request from SRLF ; Reference, Geisel Floor2 West, Offsite (SRLF) ; F1408 .H33 ; Library Use Only, AVAILABLE
Find reporting, analysis on US Congressional issues in the news and coverage of the status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee actiity and backroom maneuvering. Includes: CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, and Supreme Court Yearbook. All include information on Latin America particularly in the context of US-Latin American relations.
The main IMF website (imf.org) also has a tab for publications, which provides a link to the e-Library as well as other publication formats.
Collection of free ebooks on many topics throughout the world