Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mexican Studies: Early Latin American Books (16th to 19th Century)

Guide to Resources for Research on Mexico at UCSD and the greater San Diego-Baja Region and beyond

A Note on the Importance of Mexico in Early Latin American Publication

The printing press arrived in Mexico City in 1539, followed by Lima in 1581.  Succeeding presses did not exist until 1640 in Puebla and 1660 in Guatemala.  Presses in did not appear anywhere but the Viceroyalties of New Spain or Peru until the eighteenth century.  (Calvo, Hortensia.  “The Politics of Print: The Historiography of the Book in Early Spanish America.” Book History 6 (2003) 277-305. Doi:10.1353/bh.2004.0003).

Digital Exhibits on Early Mexican Books

Southern Methodist University's Bridwell Library: Faith and Devotion in Mexico 

Curated exhibit on Catholic devotional beliefs and practices in Mexico in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as documented in images, novenas, sacred poetry, historical accounts, and a variety of other sources.

Southern Methodist University's Bridwell Library: "Heresy and Error": The Ecclesiastical Censorship of Books, 1400-1800 

See especially the section on censorship in Mexico

Microfilm Collections of Early Latin American Books With Mexican Material

[Spanish America] Spanish historical writing about the New World, 1493-1700, from the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University [microform] 

Publication Date: Marlborough : Adam Matthew, 2006

See also the exhibition guide for this collection; record is linked here and can be accessed online through CRL.

Digital Resources (Libraries and Finding Aids/Collection Guides) Featuring Early Latin American Books

Primeros Libros de las Americas 

Collaborative project among international libraries which allows researchers to search for digitized versions of 16th c. Latin American books by owning institution (library), language, year, printer, author or keyword. There are also bibliographies available.

James Carter Brown [Brown University] Library Digital Book Collections 

Collections Include:
+ Indigenous Languages Collection
+ Portugal and Brazil Collection
+ Spanish American Collection

Catálogo Colectivo de Marcas de Fuego 

Collaborative Project of Mexican Libraries to help readers identify the Marcas de Fuego (brands) various institutions and printers used on early colonial Mexican books.

Texas A&M University Libraries Digital Book Reader 

Digitized copies of 16th century texts at Texas A&M University Libraries

Southern Methodist University's Bridwell Library Dios y Su Pueblo 

Guide to Bridwell Library's collection of nearly 400 Mexican religious imprints.

Ibero-American Electronic Text Series 

Project developed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison devoted to Latin American and Iberian works in the Humanities. Digitizes Latin American and Iberian texts from the Middle Ages to the present.

Latin American History and Culture : An Archival Record (Microfilm Project)

This is a Six-Series Project to microfilm imprints from major Latin American Collections in Latin America and Beyond.  Different Series (parts) of the collection are held at different libraries. Only those parts with Mexican Content are listed here.

If not indicated below, the best way to identify how/where you can access different series of this project is by using WorldCat (OCLC)'s consortial global catalog.  From the UCSD Library Homepage, go to Research Tools > Databases A-Z > "W" for WorldCat > and search by the accession/OCLC Numbers indicated below by typing or pasting in the number and then selecting "Accession Number" from the drop-down menu on the right.

Latin American history and culture an archival record. Series I, The Yale University collection of Latin American manuscripts 

At UCSD, access is provided through the Database World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean
OCLC/WorldCat Accession Number: 785645835

more...

Latin American history and culture an archival record. Series II, Serials and printed materials from Harvard University 

133 Reels Stored Offsite at the Southern UC storage facility (SRLF) F1760 .L38 2000
Accession No: OCLC: 45811515

more...

Latin American history and culture an archival record. Series III, The Mexican pamphlet collection, 1605-1888, Sutro Library, California State Library. 

OCLC/WorldCat Accession Number: 56099356

more...

Latin American history and culture an archival record. Series 4, The Mexican rare monograph collection, 1548-1861 

OCLC/WorldCat Accession Number: 54108910

more...

Latin American history and culture Series 6, Spanish and Latin American imprints to 1800 : selections from the bibliographies of José Toribio Medina 

246 Reels held at UC Berkeley