LibGuides: Accounting Resources: Financial & Economic Datasets

Multidisciplinary Data Finders

ProQuest Statistical Insight
1973-present. Huge database of citations to statistical publications from U.S. federal and state governments, international agencies, nonprofit and educational institutions, and private publishers including trade and industry groups. Full text of the publication or report is often included, and many tables are downloadable in Excel. Particularly good for demographic and country-level information. Previous name Statistical Universe.
Fitch Country Risk & Industry Research
Fitch is leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts. Formerly Business Monitor. Login in with campus Single Sign On (SSO) credentials.
DataCite
Search for datasets across over 1000 different major data centers and repositories including ICPSR, Harvard Dataverse, Data-Planet, the California Digital Library, Figshare, Dryad, the Center for Open Science, UC San Diego Library Digital Collections, etc.

ICPSR Data Archive [UCSD Only]
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. World's largest archive of social science data. Election data, opinion polls, more. Special collections on Health, Education, Aging, Crime, Substance Abuse. Raw data; no tables.
UC San Diego Social Sciences Data Collection
Miscellaneous datasets purchased for the UC San Diego community. Includes:
Data on Terrorist Suspects (DOTS)
Field (California) Poll, 1956 - [Latest Release]
International Country Risk Guide: Table 3B: Political Risk Points by Component
International Terrorism: Attributes of Terrorist Events (ITERATE), 1968 - [most recent]
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) 1978-2003 [Repository Data]
POLIDATA Presidential Results by Congressional District (PRCD)
Dataverse (Harvard)
Access the world's largest collection of social science research data here by searching across or browsing through one of the virtual data archives (called "dataverses") listed below. Data is uploaded by researchers from around the world.
Odum Institute Dataverse Network - data catalog
Data catalog for the Odum Institute, which maintains one of the oldest and largest catalog of machine-readable data in the U.S., plus harvest data catalogs for the Dataweb, NARA, IQSS, Roper, and ICPSR.
re3data.org
Registry of research data repositories
Population Reference Bureau
A database with hundreds of variables for the US and the world.

Consumer Geospatial Data

SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) and Simmons LOCAL data packages. (formerly known as SimplyMap).

ArcGIS Business Analyst
ArcGIS Business Analyst provides location-based intelligence for planning, site selection, and customer segmentation. Combine demographic, lifestyle, and spending data with map-based analytics for accurate reports and dynamic presentations. It is available as a web browser SaaS solution or as a desktop-based tool. First you should register for an ArcGIS account here.

Multi-Subject Data Sources

The sources in this category span several disciplines, however, include economic data. These sources may also be listed under more specific topics in this guide.

Global Financial Database
Financial and economic data covering over 150 countries and over 6,500 historical and current data series. Bonds, T-bills, unemployment, GDP, commodity prices, exchange rates, and more, some dating back to 1900. Note: To access, use the “Login Anonymously” option and choose GFDatabase in the left nav bar.

SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) and Simmons LOCAL data packages. (formerly known as SimplyMap).
CEIC Data
CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused.
Four databases are included in this package:
• China Premium Databases
The China Premium Database offers over 415,000 time-series records on macroeconomic, sector, industry and regional data dating back to 1949. The China Premium Database is available in both English and Chinese.
• Brazil Premium Databases
The Brazil Premium Database covers 13 macroeconomic and 13 industry growth sectors with unmatched coverage of the energy, biofuel, and automobile sectors. Regional data are also available for Brazil's 5 regions, all 27 states, and 6000 municipalities.
• Global Database
CEIC Data’s Global Database provides access to granular macroeconomic data covering both developed and emerging markets covering over 200 economies and is ideal for business students, professors and lecturers for macroeconomic research projects and course assignments.
• Daily Database

Global Insight
Global Insight provides access to the 4 Basic Economics Databases covering U.S. economic, financial, and demographic statistics. Concepts available are U.S. trade, population, production, income, housing, employment, and finance. Data series are available at daily, weekly, and monthly frequencies with history from 1946. Although licensed users can search more than 100 Global Insight databases, data downloads are limited to BASIC, BASIC/D, BASIC/FX, and BASIC/W.
more...less...
DATA DOWNLOADS ARE LIMITED TO THESE FOUR GLOBAL INSIGHT BASIC DATABASES:
Basic Economics - contains approximately 6,000 monthly, quarterly, and annual time series that date back to 1946 when available.
Weekly - contains approximately 500 weekly time series that date as far back as 1959 where applicable. Whenever possible, monthly counterparts are available in the Economics database.
Daily
FX - the Daily and FX contain about 700 financial variables, commodity prices, interest rates and foreign exchange rates from various agencies.
Data Planet
Provides easy access to statistical data. Sources include: Bombay Stock Exchange, British Bankers' Association, Chicago Board Options, Exchange, China Data Center, D&B (Dun & Bradstreet), Dave Leip's Atlas of US Presidential Elections, Defense Manpower Data Center, Deutsche Börse Group, Dow Jones, Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI), Eurostat, FTSE Group, HSI Services Limited (Hong Kong), International Monetary Fund, London Bullion Market Association , London Platinum & Palladium Market, NASDAQ OMX Group, National Bureau of Economic Research, Nikkei, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Shanghai Stock Exchange, Standard & Poor's, World Bank, World Resource Institute, Xignite, and many US Federal agencies.
DataFerrett
DataFerrett is a unique data analysis and extraction tool-with recoding capabilities-to customize federal, state, and local data to suit your requirements. TheDataWeb brings together under one umbrella demographic, economic, environmental, health, (and more) datasets that are usually separated by geography and/or organization.
more...less...
"TheDataWeb is a collection of systems and software that provide data query and extract capabilities, as well as data analysis and visualization tools, i.e., the DataFerrett".

Census data
A platform to access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Statistics collected by the Census Department:
American Community Survey
American Housing Survey
Annual Surveys of Governments
Census of Governments
Annual Economic Surveys
Decennial Census
Economic Census
Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Tabulation
Population Estimates Program
Puerto Rico Community Survey

FRED - Federal Reserve Economic Data
Download, graph, and track 61,000 US and international time series from 48 sources. From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Includes a range of U.S. and international economic data (price indexes, exchange rates, interest rates, GDP, trade balances, etc.). Useful features include easy browsing for U.S. regional data (states, MSAs, counties, BEA regions, Fed districts, Census divisions) and links to Liber8, the Fed's portal to current economic indicators, research and recent reports, and GeoFRED, a data-mapping tool which displays color-coded employment data on the state, MSA, and county levels.
--> The Guide to Global Insight Guide
For more information on finding and extracting data as well as for information on downloading the former client-based version - i.e., Webstract - for more efficient extraction for time-series datasets. You will need to contact the Social Sciences DataLibrarian for the UCSD Usercode and Password.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) [UCSD Only]
1962 - present
The ICPSR, part of the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, has served social scientists since 1962 by providing a central repository and dissemination service for machine-readable social science data from over 130 countries. ICPSR holdings include over 1000 public opinion polls from around the world, including United States election exit polls. ICPSR archives the Eurobarometer series and the ISSP.
more...less...
Polling organizations represented include: ABC News, CBS News, New York Times, Washington Post.
International Financial Statistics [UCSD Only]
Economic time series data for member countries of the International Monetary Fund, covering approximately 26,000 economic concepts, including exchange rates, prices, production, trade, balance of payments, banking and financial systems, employment, and many other indicators.
NBER Online Economic Data
These pages feature links to sets constructed by National Bureau of Economic Research authors and feature historical datasets as well links to recent sets related to economic indicators, industry, trade, demographics, and more.
OECD iLibrary [UCSD Only]
Contains 200,000+ monthly, quarterly, and annual time series (from 1960) for OECD member countries, covering a range of social and economic phenomena. See the Economics section in particular.

UNdata
Single search interface for data produced and collected by various United Nations (UN) organizations. Provides 442 economic, social, cultural, health, and demographic data series for countries of the world. Data providers include UN, UNESCO, FAO, WHO, IMF, UNICEF, ITU, and World Bank. Some indicators reach back as far as the 1940s.

World Development Indicators
The World Bank
The WDI includes 1000+ indicators from 209 countries spanning from 1960 to 2010.
Topics include: Agriculture & Rural Development, Aid Effectiveness, Economic Policy and External Debt, Education, Energy & Mining, Environment, Financial Sector, Health, Infrastructure, Labor & Social Protection, Poverty, Private Sector, Public Sector, Science & Technology, Social Development, Urban Development

International Economics

IMF eLibrary data
Provides comprehensive access to International financial statistics (IFS), Balance of payments statistics (BOPS), Direction of trade statistics (DOTS), and Government finance statistics (GFS) databases. View and download predefined data reports or create and share your own views of IMF data
OECD iLibrary [UCSD Only]
"OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD... OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998."
Penn World Tables
Time-series statistics on 188 countries and over 30 subjects, including population and components of GDP, primarily for the period starting 1950.
UNCTADStat
UNCTAD compiles, validates and processes a wide range of data collected from national and international sources. Through its data dissemination system, UNCTADstat, it provides free access to comprehensive statistical time series and indicators essential for the analysis of world trade, investment, international financial flows, and development.

UNdata
Single search interface for data produced and collected by various United Nations (UN) organizations. Provides 442 economic, social, cultural, health, and demographic data series for countries of the world. Data providers include UN, UNESCO, FAO, WHO, IMF, UNICEF, ITU, and World Bank. Some indicators reach back as far as the 1940s.
World Development Indicators
Macroeconomic, social, and environmental data from the World Bank.

World Economic Outlook (International Monetary Fund)
The WEO database is created during the biannual World Economic Outlook (WEO) exercise. Selected series that are available in the WEO publication are now available on this website. Includes: GDP, investment, gross national savings, US dollar exchange rate, inflation, unemployment rate, general government balance, debt, current account balance. Annual data, from 1980, with projections to 2005.
Bureau of Economic Analysis: International Accounts Data (U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis)
China Data Online [UCSD Only]
Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks.
Indiastat.com [UCSD Only]
Comprehensive portal to economic, social, political, and related statistics about India. Over half-a-million pages of statistical data are presented in a user-friendly Web format. Our subscription permits two (2) concurrent user connections.

Cross National Time-Series (CNTS)
The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive was launched by Arthur S. Banks in the fall of 1968 at the State University of New York at Binghamton. The archive was, in part, the outcome of an effort initiated some years earlier to assemble, in machine readable, longitudinal format, certain of the aggregate data resources of The Statesman's Yearbook, published since 1864. The archive has almost 200 variables and contains data for over 200 country units, with provision for entries from 1815 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945)
EMIS Intelligence (formerly ISI Emerging Markets)
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, statistics and political news on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.
Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD Portal)
Portal to UCSD-subscribed EIU content. Includes searchable online archive (1996- ) and feed of Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong on current political, economic, and business affairs worldwide.
IBISWorld Industry Intelligence
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
Fitch Country Risk & Industry Research
Fitch is leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts. Formerly Business Monitor. Login in with campus Single Sign On (SSO) credentials.
CEIC Data
CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused.
Four databases are included in this package:
• China Premium Databases
The China Premium Database offers over 415,000 time-series records on macroeconomic, sector, industry and regional data dating back to 1949. The China Premium Database is available in both English and Chinese.
• Brazil Premium Databases
The Brazil Premium Database covers 13 macroeconomic and 13 industry growth sectors with unmatched coverage of the energy, biofuel, and automobile sectors. Regional data are also available for Brazil's 5 regions, all 27 states, and 6000 municipalities.
• Global Database
CEIC Data’s Global Database provides access to granular macroeconomic data covering both developed and emerging markets covering over 200 economies and is ideal for business students, professors and lecturers for macroeconomic research projects and course assignments.
• Daily Database

Urban & Regional Economics

FRED - Federal Reserve Economic Data
This website includes a range of U.S. and international economic data (price indexes, exchange rates, interest rates, GDP, trade balances, etc.). Useful features include easy browsing for U.S. regional data (states, MSAs, counties, BEA regions, Fed districts, Census divisions) and links to Liber8, the Fed's portal to current economic indicators, research and recent reports, and GeoFRED, a data-mapping tool which displays color-coded employment data on the state, MSA, and county levels.
GeoFRED
Part of the Federal Reserve Economic Data website, GeoFRED is a data-mapping tool which displays color-coded employment data on the state, MSA, and county levels.
SANDAG Data Warehouse
This San Diego county website links to data on population characteristics, such as demographics and employment, as well as transportation and crime statistics, land use, and population and employment estimates and forecasts.
SANDAG Annual Demographic Estimates
Selected population and housing estimates from 1990-1998 for San Diego County, at the city, subregional, and census tract levels.
San Diego, California Historical Census Machine-Readable Data
San Diego Census data for 1950, 1960, 1970, 1990, and 2000.

UCLA Anderson Forecast
This long-standing quarterly publication forecasts U.S. and California economies, that strives to be unbiased in its approach. Online back to 2011, and in print back to 1997. Partner publications from this site include:
- Allen Matkins’ California Commercial Real Estate Survey (which covers San Diego and the rest of the large metro areas of California)
- City Human Capital Index (which covers Los Angeles, the Bay Area and zip codes in California),
- Los Angeles City Monthly Employment Estimate.

Finance

Data that is represented here includes: stocks/equities; bonds; mutual funds; market indices; commodities; derivatives; foreign exchange; interest rates and company financials.

Compustat via WRDS
Provides annual and quarterly income statement, balance sheet, statement of cash flows, and supplemental data items on most publicly held companies. Also contains information on aggregates, industry segments, banks, market prices, dividends, and earnings. ACCESS: UC San Diego faculty, staff and students first must sign up for a WRDS account by using the Register link on the landing page. LIMITATIONS: Masters & Undergraduate students do not have access during summer or quarter breaks. UC San Diego affiliates without AD network accounts are ineligible for WRDS accounts (most Extension students are in this category). In those cases, Mergent Online and Global Financial Database are your recommended alternatives.
CRSP via WRDS
Most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. Additional files provide stock indices, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases. ACCESS: UC San Diego faculty, staff and students first must sign up for a WRDS account by using the Register link on the landing page. LIMITATIONS: Masters & Undergraduate students do not have access during summer or quarter breaks. UC San Diego affiliates without AD network accounts are ineligible for WRDS accounts (most Extension students are in this category). In those cases, Mergent Online and Global Financial Database are your recommended alternatives.
Datastream Guide [UCSD Only]
Access Datastream content online via Refinitiv Workspace. Additionally, you may register for the Datastream add-on to do graphical exploration of trends and relationships between series. Datastream provides time series for over a million financial instruments, securities, and economic indicators from over 175 countries. Workspace content also includes company profiles, ESG performance, indices, bonds, commodities, interest and exchange rates, estimates, futures and options, country macroeconomics, market research and investment house reports. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
Global Financial Database
Financial and economic data covering over 150 countries and over 6,500 historical and current data series. Bonds, T-bills, unemployment, GDP, commodity prices, exchange rates, and more, some dating back to 1900. Note: To access, use the “Login Anonymously” option and choose GFDatabase in the left nav bar.
EMIS Emerging Markets
Foreign business intelligence service covering macroeconomic analysis, companies, industries, finance, and news in Asia, Latin America, and Central/Eastern Europe. Includes full-text news articles, research reports, and online data.
IMF eLibrary data
Provides comprehensive access to International financial statistics (IFS), Balance of payments statistics (BOPS), Direction of trade statistics (DOTS), and Government finance statistics (GFS) databases. View and download predefined data reports or create and share your own views of IMF data

Mergent Online
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports.

FRASER - Data & Statistics
From the St. Louis Fed: Data Publications, as well as Statistical Releases from several sources such as the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, and government agencies such as the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Key Business Ratios
This online version of Dun & Bradstreet's Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios includes current benchmarking data for U.S. public and private businesses using parameters of solvency, profitability and efficiency for 800 lines of business. Features include importing and exporting of data. For historical ratios (older than current five years), use the Mergent Archives.