LibGuides: GIS &amp; Geospatial Technologies: Field Data Collection

Survey123 for ArcGIS

Survey123 for ArcGIS is a complete, form-centric solution for creating, sharing and analyzing surveys. Use it to create smart forms with skip logic, defaults, and support for multiple languages. Set up can be done in a web app or an MS Excel form that supports more customization. Data can be collected with web applications or mobile devices, even when disconnected from the Internet. This product is available for current UC San Diego affiliates under our Esri license.

Survey123 for ArcGIS
A form-centric solution for creating, sharing and analyzing surveys with location-based data. Use it to create smart forms with skip logic, defaults, and support for multiple languages. Set up can be done in a web app or an MS Excel form that supports more customization. Data can be collected with web applications or mobile devices, even when disconnected from the Internet.
Basic Steps for Creating Survey123 (Desktop and Browser)
Provides the basic steps for creating a Survey123 in either the desktop tool called Connect or the browser-based form. Toggle between the two using the options at the top.
Learn Lessons -- Survey123
A collection of lessons from Learn ArcGIS that are real-world lessons for learning Survey123. Includes getting started, designing one in multiple languages and more.
GeoNet Survey 123
The GeoNet Survey123 group is where you can find the latest information on Survey123 for ArcGIS, ask questions, and participate in discussions.
Youtube Survey123 video playlist tutorials
A collection of short videos for creating surveys and incorporating advanced functionality into your own survey. Updated frequently with new videos.

ArcGIS FieldMaps

ArcGIS Field Maps allows supports data collection, marking up maps, and tracking location all from one app. Field Maps is available on Android and iOS. It currently incorporates the capabilities of three mobile previous apps—ArcGIS Collector, ArcGIS Explorer, and ArcGIS Tracker. This product is available for current UC San Diego affiliates under our Esri license.

ArcGIS Field Maps
Is a map-based data collection tool that also supports marking up maps and location tracking (if enabled). Field Maps is available on Android and iOS. It currently incorporates the capabilities of three mobile previous ArcGIS apps—ArcGIS Collector, ArcGIS Explorer, and ArcGIS Tracker.

Open Source

Epicollect5
A free mobile & web application that supports data collection. It works on both Android & iOS devices. Data collection supports GPS locations and media attachments using multiple devices. Data can be exported in csv and json format.
QField
An open source app that supports data collection. It is based on QGIS. It allows for the collection of points, lines and polygons. Currently works with Android, iOS, and Windows systems. Linux and MacOX are in Beta.
KoboToolbox
An open source platform for the collection, management, and visualization of data. Free for nonprofits, government agencies, UN organizations, and educational institutions; however, there are limitations on number of monthly submissions and file storage. The webforms run on any mobile device and computer, the KoboCollect app is Android only.
ODK
Lets you build powerful offline forms to collect the data that include photos, GPS locations, skip logic, calculations, external datasets, multiple languages, and more. Supports mobile apps or web apps and submissions are synced when an internet or mobile connection is available. Requires either technical expertise to setup the Central server on your own infrastructure or you can pay to leverage the ODK Cloud.