Use the yellow UC-eLinks button to find the online full text or print articles when the article isn't automatically available full text in the database.
Databases marked with a blue lock must be accessed from either on the UC San Diego campus network or else via Remote Access.
Put some thought into choosing your search terms and consider synonyms or alternative terms. AND, OR, and NOT can be used to combine or exclude search terms. Check the subject terms listed on your results for additional words to search.
For some topics, you may want to repeat your search in additional databases.
Most databases have a help link in the upper right-hand corner. The help screens will usually explain how to enter in keywords for the best search results.
Take advantage of additional database features such as citation formatting and limiting to academic journals.
News sources can be particularly useful as primary sources that describe events as they unfold. They may cover sitautions or events that are newer or more specific than than one might find in scholarly articles. The Library subscribe to a number of online sources for international news.
Search Tip: Melvyl now also includes citations to articles from many (but definitely not all) of UC San Diego's article databases.
Bonus search tip: Google Scholar is a useful tool because it searches within the full text of articles. It's most useful when your topic is so narrow that you don't find much using the subject-specific databases.
Need a quick snapshot of major historic news stories from around the world?