Political Science: Presidential elections + Data

''''Newly updated to include the 2004 presidential election, America at the Polls remains the definitive source for authoritative reporting on the most closely watched of all U.S. voting contests. ''Arranged in a cumulative format, America at the Polls tells the story of U.S. presidential elections through extensive, informative, and well-organized statistics gathered from hundreds of official sources. ''Each volume begins with a set of historical tables and lists summarizing the state-by-state popular vote, the Electoral College vote, and minority candidates for each election. Following this are chapters for each state that include:''''Summary tables of the state popular vote and state electoral vote for president from 1920-2004;''''Current state map with county boundaries;''''Tables of state county popular vote for each election from 2004 back to 1960, including plurality and percentage of vote calculations;''''Information on sizable votes for third party candidates;''''Election notes with additional information on other candidates and parties;''''Presidential primaries data and chronologies conclude the ''volume.''''

The first volume of America at the Polls covers elections from Warren G. Harding's landslide in 1920 through Dwight D. Eisenhower's second term. The front section contains national summary tables of the state-by-state and Electoral College vote for each election. A chapter for each state follows, beginning with a summary of the statewide vote and Electoral College, a county outline map, and the county-by-county details of each election. Sizable votes for third party candicates are also provided, as are summaries of presidential elections.

Looking beyond the individual office holders to the office itself, this Fourth Edition of Vital Statistics on the Presidency covers George Washington's tenure through the 2012 election. The book's expansive view of the presidency allows readers to recognize major themes across administrations and to reach overall conclusions about the nature of the institution and its future. The illuminating data is put into context by thoughtful essays explaining key statistical patterns, making this edition an intriguing and comprehensive reference to important patterns throughout the history of the presidency. Tables are downloadable in csv.
Chapter 1 Presidents of the United States
Table 1-1 U.S. Presidents and Vice Presidents, Washington to Obama 18
Table 1-2 Personal Backgrounds of U.S. Presidents, Washington to Obama 21
Table 1-3 Political Careers of U.S. Presidents Prior to Their Presidencies, Washington to Obama 23
Table 1-4 Presidents' Previous Public Positions, Washington to Obama 25
Table 1-5 Presidents Who Died in Office 26
Table 1-6 Ratings of U.S. Presidents, Washington to Obama 27
Table 1-7 Presidents' Ratings from Best to Worst, Washington to Obama 30
Table 1-8 American First Ladies 31
Chapter 2 Presidential Selection
Table 2-1 Democratic National Conventions, 1832–2012 44
Table 2-2 Republican National Conventions, 1856–2012 45
Table 2-3 The Growth of Presidential Primaries, 1912–2012 46
Table 2-4 Presidential Nomination Methods, by State, 1968–2012 47
Table 2-5 Types of Presidential Nomination Methods, 1968–2012 51
Table 2-6 Presidential Candidates' Delegate Strength from Caucus States and Primary States, 1968–2012 52
Table 2-7 Leading Candidates in Presidential Primaries, 1968 54
Table 2-8 Leading Candidates in Presidential Primaries, 1972 55
Table 2-9 Leading Candidates in Presidential Primaries, 1976 57
Table 2-10 Leading Candidates in Presidential Primaries, 1980 59
Table 2-11 Leading Candidates in Presidential Primaries, 1984 61
Table 2-12 Leading Candidates in Presidential Primaries, 1988 63
Table 2-13 Leading Candidates in Presidential Primaries, 1992 65
Table 2-14 Leading Candidates in Presidential Primaries, 1996 67
Table 2-15 Leading Candidates in Presidential Primaries, 2000 69
Table 2-16 Leading Candidates in Presidential Primaries, 2004 71
Table 2-17 Leading Candidates in Presidential Primaries, 2008 73
Table 2-18 Leading Candidates in Presidential Primaries, 2012 75
Table 2-19 Content of Television News Coverage of Primary Campaigns, 1988–2012 77
Table 2-20 Positive Television News Coverage of Presidential Candidates, 2000–2012 Primaries 79
Table 2-21 Television Coverage and Viewership of National Party Conventions, 1952–2012 81
Table 2-22 Profile of National Party Convention Delegates, 1968–2008 83
Table 2-23 The 1968 National Political Party Conventions 84
Table 2-24 The 1972 National Political Party Conventions 86
Table 2-25 The 1976 National Political Party Conventions 88
Table 2-26 The 1980 National Political Party Conventions 90
Table 2-27 The 1984 National Political Party Conventions 93
Table 2-28 The 1988 National Political Party Conventions 96
Table 2-29 The 1992 National Political Party Conventions 98
Table 2-30 The 1996 National Political Party Conventions 100
Table 2-31 The 2000 and 2004 National Political Party Conventions 102
Table 2-32 The 2008 National Political Party Conventions 105
Table 2-33 The 2012 National Political Party Conventions 108
Chapter 3 Presidential Elections
Table 3-1 Major-Party Popular and Electoral Votes for President, 1789–2012 125
Table 3-2 Candidates Who Won Presidency without Popular Vote Majorities, 1824–2012 128
Table 3-3 Comparison of Popular and Electoral Vote Mandates, 1824–2012 129
Table 3-4 Significant Third-Party Presidential Candidates, 1824–2012 131
Table 3-5 Electoral College Anomalies, 1789–2012 131
Table 3-6 Faithless Electors, 1789–2012 132
Table 3-7 Party Winning Presidential Election, by State, 1789–2012 133
Table 3-8 Percentage of Popular Votes for President, by State, 1968 and 1972 136
Table 3-9 Percentage of Popular Votes for President, by State, 1976 and 1980 138
Table 3-10 Percentage of Popular Votes for President, by State, 1984 and 1988 140
Table 3-11 Percentage of Popular Votes for President, by State, 1992 and 1996 142
Table 3-12 Percentage of Popular Votes for President, by State, 2000 and 2004 144
Table 3-13 Percentage of Popular Votes for President, by State, 2008 and 2012 146
Table 3-14 Electoral Votes, by State, 1968 148
Table 3-15 Electoral Votes, by State, 1972, 1976, and 1980 150
Table 3-16 Electoral Votes, by State, 1984 and 1988 152
Table 3-17 Electoral Votes, by State, 1992, 1996, and 2000 154
Table 3-18 Electoral Votes, by State, 2004 and 2008 156
Table 3-19 Electoral Votes, by State, 2012 158
Table 3-20 Representation of the President's Party in the Two-Party House Vote, 1824–2012 160
Figure 3-1 State Turnout in Presidential Elections, by Region, 1920–2012 163
Table 3-21 State Voter Turnout in Presidential Elections, by State, 1824–1876 164
Table 3-22 State Voter Turnout in Presidential Elections, by State, 1880–1932 166
Table 3-23 State Voter Turnout in Presidential Elections, by State, 1936–1984 168
Table 3-24 State Voter Turnout in Presidential Elections, by State, 1988–2012 170
Table 3-25 Personal Characteristics of Major-Party Candidates, 1980–2012 172
Table 3-26 Emotional Responses to Major-Party Presidential Candidates, 1980–2012 173
Figure 3-2 Voter Perceptions of Candidates' Handling of Issues, 2012 174
Table 3-27 Content of Television News Coverage of General Elections, 1988–2012 175
Table 3-28 Positive Television News Coverage of Presidential and Vice Presidential Candidates during the General Elections, 1988–2012 177
Table 3-29 Election Year Presidential Preferences, 1948–2012 179
Table 3-30 Demographic Groups' Support of Presidential Candidates, 1952–2012 181
Table 3-31 Presidential Campaign Receipts, 1996–2012 184
Table 3-32 Spending Limits in Presidential Elections, 1976–2012 185
Chapter 4 Public Appearances
Table 4-1 Description of Major Presidential Speeches by President, Coolidge to Obama, I 199
Table 4-2 Major Presidential Speeches, by Term, Coolidge to Obama, I 209
Table 4-3 Major Presidential Speeches, by Subject Category, Coolidge to Obama, I 211
Table 4-4 Presidential News Conferences, by Year, Coolidge to Obama, I 212
Table 4-5 White House Press Secretaries, Hoover to Obama, I 214
Table 4-6 Foreign Appearances by President, Truman, I to Obama, I 215
Table 4-7 Minor Presidential Speeches, by Year, Hoover to Obama, I 217
Table 4-8 Public Appearances in Washington, DC, by Year, Hoover to Obama, I 219
Table 4-9 U.S. Public Appearances, by Year, Hoover to Obama, I 221
Table 4-10 Political Appearances, by Year, Hoover to Obama, I 223
Table 4-11 Political Appearances in Election and Nonelection Years, Hoover to Obama, I 225
Table 4-12 Level of Public Activities of Presidents, Hoover to Obama, I 226
Figure 4-1 Presidents' Domestic Public Appearances, Hoover to Obama, I 230
Chapter 5 Public Opinions
Table 5-1 Presidential Approval, by Month since Inauguration, Truman to Obama 241
Table 5-2 Presidential Approval Average, by Year of Term, Truman to Obama 245
Table 5-3 Aggregate Public Approval, F. Roosevelt, II to Obama 246
Figure 5-1 Popularity Trends, Truman to Obama 277
Table 5-4 Quarterly Presidential Approval, by Party, Region, and Income, Eisenhower, I to Obama, I 278
Table 5-5 Annual and Term Average of Presidential Approval Ratings, by Party, Region, and Income, Eisenhower, I to Obama, I 288
Table 5-6 Quarterly Presidential Approval, by Race and Sex, Eisenhower, I to Obama, I 292
Table 5-7 Annual and Average Presidential Approval, by Race and Sex, Eisenhower, I to Obama, I 298
Table 5-8 Quarterly Presidential Approval, by Age and Education, Eisenhower, I to Obama, I 301
Table 5-9 Annual and Term Average Approval, by Age and Education, Eisenhower, I to Obama, I 311
Table 5-10 Public Approval of Presidents' Handling of the Economy and Foreign Policy, Nixon to Obama, I 315
Table 5-11 The Public's Most Important Problem, 1935–2012 327
Table 5-12 The Party Best Able to Handle the Most Important Problem, 1945–2012 329
Table 5-13 Confidence in Leaders of Major Institutions, 1966–2012 332
Chapter 6 Presidential Organization and the Executive Branch
Table 6-1 Size of Executive Office of the President, Coolidge to Obama, I 349
Figure 6-1 Number of Employees in the Executive Office of the President, Office of Management and Budget, and White House Office, Coolidge to Obama, I 355
Table 6-2 Average Expenditures for Selected Units in the Executive Office of the President, by Term, Coolidge to Obama, I 356
Table 6-3 Budget Authority and Outlays for White House Staff, Coolidge to Obama, I 357
Table 6-4 Budget Authority and Outlays for Key Executive Office Units, F. Roosevelt, II to Obama, I 361
Figure 6-2 Expenditures by the Executive Office of the President, Office of Management and Budget, and White House Office, Coolidge to Obama, I 366
Table 6-5 “Funds Appropriated to the President” 367
Table 6-6 Units in the Executive Office of the President, 1939–2012 371
Table 6-7 Executive Office of the President, 2013 373
Table 6-8 Units of the White House Office, Obama, 2013 374
Table 6-9 Top Level Staff Not Assigned to Specific White House Office Subunits, 1939–2012 375
Table 6-10 Office of Management and Budget Review of Agency Rules, 1981–2012 377
Table 6-11 Office of Management and Budget Review Decisions on Matters of Economic Significance, Reagan, I to Obama, I 382
Table 6-12 Chiefs of Staff, F. Roosevelt to Obama 384
Table 6-13 Size of Executive Departments and Various Independent Agencies for Selected Years 385
Table 6-14 Total Executive Nominations Submitted for Senate Confirmation, Truman, I to Obama, I 387
Table 6-15 Presidential Appointments Confirmed by Senate, Kennedy to Obama, I 390
Table 6-16 Presidential Cabinet Nominations Rejected or Withdrawn 392
Chapter 7 Presidents in War and Diplomacy
Table 7-1 Declared Wars by the United States, 1787–2012 413
Table 7-2 Military Engagements Authorized by Congress, 1787–2012 414
Table 7-3 Presidential Military Action without Congressional Authorization, Washington to Obama, I 416
Table 7-4 Summary of Instances of American Use of Force without Congressional Authorization, 1788–2012 432
Table 7-5 Presidential Notifications under the War Powers Resolution, Ford to Obama, I 433
Table 7-6 The Costs of War 434
Table 7-7 War-Related Appropriations for Defense, Iraq and Afghanistan, 2002–2012 435
Figure 7-1 Public Attitudes toward the Korean, Vietnam, and Iraq Wars, 1950–2012 436
Table 7-8 Presidential Determinations (Foreign Assistance Funds), Kennedy to Obama, I 437
Table 7-9 Foreign Assistance Authorized by Presidential Waivers, Kennedy to Obama, I 439
Table 7-10 Presidents' Foreign Assistance Fund Transfers, Kennedy to Obama, I 441
Table 7-11 Presidential Use of Drawdown Authority, Kennedy to Obama, I 444
Table 7-12 Treaties and Executive Agreements, Washington, I to Truman, I 448
Table 7-13 Treaties and Executive Agreements, Truman, II to Obama, I 456
Figure 7-2 International Agreements, 1949–2012 460
Table 7-14 Senate Action on Treaties, Protocols, and Conventions, Truman, II to Obama, I 461
Table 7-15 Treaties Killed by the Senate, 1789–2012 464
Table 7-16 Major Arms Control Agreements, Eisenhower to Obama, I 465
Chapter 8 Presidential Policymaking
Table 8-1 Executive Orders of Presidents, Washington, I to Obama, I 479
Table 8-2 Executive Orders, by Policy Type, Truman, II to Obama, I 487
Table 8-3 Presidential Signing Statements, Hoover to Obama, I 493
Table 8-4 Presidential Tax Proposals and Congressional Enactments, Truman to Obama, I 496
Table 8-5 Differences in Appropriations Proposed by President and Passed by Congress, Truman to Obama, I 498
Figure 8-1 Budget Deficit or Surplus, Eisenhower to Obama, I 499
Table 8-6 Federal Budget Receipts and Outlays, 1924–2012 500
Table 8-7 Outlays for Major Spending Categories as a Percentage of Gross Domestic Product, 1968-2012 502
Figure 8-2 Federal Outlays by Category, 1950–2020, by Decade 504
Chapter 9 Congressional Relations
Table 9-1 Political Parties of Presidents and Congress, 1789–2012 516
Table 9-2 Size of the Office of Legislative Affairs, Reagan, I to Obama, I 520
Figure 9-1 The Legislative Clearance Process 521
Figure 9-2 The Enrolled Bill Process 521
Table 9-3 Number of Presidential Requests of Congress in State of the Union Messages, Truman, I to Obama, I 522
Table 9-4 First-Year Requests for Legislation, Truman, II to Obama, I 525
Table 9-5 Presidential Position Taken on House Roll Calls, Eisenhower, II to Obama, I 526
Table 9-6 Presidential Position Taken in the House, by Issue Area, Eisenhower, II to Obama, I 528
Figure 9-3 Congressional Concurrence with Presidents, Eisenhower to Obama, I 531
Table 9-7 House and Senate Concurrence with Presidents, Eisenhower to Obama, I 532
Table 9-8 House and Senate Concurrence with Presidents, by Party, Eisenhower, I to Obama, I 535
Table 9-9 Presidential Vetoes, Washington to Obama, I 537
Table 9-10 Annual Number of Presidential Vetoes, by Issue Area, Truman, I to Obama, I 539
Table 9-11 Congressional Challenges to Presidential Vetoes, Truman, I to Obama, I 543
Figure 9-4 Presidential Policy Behavior, Eisenhower, II to Obama, I 547
Figure 9-5 Presidential Behavior on Foreign Policy, Eisenhower, II to Obama, I 548
Figure 9-6 Presidential Behavior on Defense Policy, Eisenhower, II to Obama, I 549
Figure 9-7 Presidential Behavior on Domestic Policy, Eisenhower, II to Obama, I 550
Chapter 10 The Presidency and the Judiciary
Table 10-1 Presidents and Supreme Court Justices, Washington to Obama, I 559
Table 10-2 Supreme Court Nominees with Senate Problems, Washington to Obama, I 565
Table 10-3 Presidential Nominations to the Lower Courts, Kennedy to Obama, I 567
Table 10-4 Presidential Appointments to the U.S. District Courts, by Political Party, Cleveland to Obama, I 569
Table 10-5 Presidential Appointments to the U.S. Courts of Appeal, by Political Party, Cleveland to Obama, I 570
Table 10-6 Characteristics of District Court Appointees, L. Johnson to Obama, I 571
Table 10-7 Characteristics of Circuit Court Appointees, L. Johnson to Obama, I 573
Table 10-8 Women and Minorities Appointed to Judgeships, L. Johnson to Obama, I 575
Figure 10-1 Total Number of Judicial Appointments, F. Roosevelt to Obama, I 576
Table 10-9 Success Rate of the United States as a Party to a Case before the Supreme Court, Truman, I to Obama, I 577
Table 10-10 Success Rate of the Solicitor General as an Amicus Curiae in Cases before the Supreme Court, Eisenhower to Obama, I 580
Table 10-11 Supreme Court Rulings against Presidents, Washington to Obama, I 581