Political Science: Elections around the world

Print archive of election return data from around the world collected by Dr. Arend Lijphart

Elections have always been an integral part of post-independence African politics and have assumed utmost importance in the course of recent democratisation processes. However, comparative research on the political development in Africa lacks reliable electoral data. Elections in Africa fillsthis cap. The handbook is the only reliable source for African elections from independence to present. In the first volume of this series, Elections in Africa presents a country-by-country study of African nations that provides a comparative introduction on elections and electoral systems. Each country chapter examines the history of the institutional and electoral arrangements, the evolution ofsuffrage and current electoral provisions. Precise and exhaustive data on national elections and referendums are presented comparatively. The book provides a definitive and comprehensive set of data on elections and electoral systems in order to facilitate comparative research. Data is presented ina systematic manner allowing for both historical and cross-national comparisons.

This two-volume work continues the series of election data handbooks published by OUP. It presents a first-ever compendium of electoral data for all 35 countries in the Americas since the introduction of universal male suffrage. Following the overall structure of the series, an initial comparative introduction on elections and electoral systems is followed by chapters on each country. Written by knowledgeable and renowned scholars, the contributions examine the evolution of constitutionaland electoral arrangements and provide systematic surveys of the up-to-date electoral provisions and electoral rules. These widely differing rules exert considerable influence on party systems and political processes. Exhaustive statistics on all national elections and referendums are given in each chapter. Together with the other books of this series, Elections in the Americas is a highly reliable resource for historical and cross-national comparisons of elections and electoral systems worldwide.

Includes CD-ROM that contains the systematic and standaridized collection of general election results at the level of single constituencies for 18 Western European countries since the nineteenth century, accompanied by thorough documentation. CD-ROM contains also the thorough documentation for each country and time period. The navigation through both election results and documentation is easy and straightforward

Elections in Europe: A Data Handbook is the eagerly awaited, concluding volume of a wider project covering electoral data worldwide. It completes a series of previous books - that focused on Africa, Asia and the Pacific, and the Americas - which were published by Oxford University Press. A comparative introduction on elections and electoral systems is followed by chapters on each European state. Applying systematic criteria and uniform concepts, each chapter explains the historical, political, and legal context in which elections take place. The chapters also provide exhaustive statistics on all national elections and referendums conducted in the respective countries. Political scientists worldwide will welcome this indispensable source of cross-national political research. There is no comparable work on the subject.

The advance of democracy in Latin America over the past quarter century has contributed significantly to ensuring respect for fundamental political freedoms, civil liberties, and human rights. Democracies in Development highlights how an effective democracy is also essential for sustainable economic and social development. The book analyzes the effects of institutions on the functioning of democratic systems, identifies regional trends in political reform, assesses the value of reforms in contributing to enhanced democratic governance, and offers conclusions about the types of reforms that may hold promise for strengthening democracy. Appendices in the book's accompanying CD-ROM outline the institutional makeup of the region's democratic systems, examine voter turnout in presidential and legislative elections from 1978 to 2004, and present election results over the same period.

This two-volume work continues the series of election data handbooks published by OUP. It presents a first-ever compendium of electoral data for all 35 countries in the Americas since the introduction of universal male suffrage. Following the overall structure of the series, an initial comparative introduction on elections and electoral systems is followed by chapters on each country. Written by knowledgeable and renowned scholars, the contributions examine the evolution of constitutionaland electoral arrangements and provide systematic surveys of the up-to-date electoral provisions and electoral rules. These widely differing rules exert considerable influence on party systems and political processes. Exhaustive statistics on all national elections and referendums are given in each chapter. Together with the other books of this series, Elections in the Americas is a highly reliable resource for historical and cross-national comparisons of elections and electoral systems worldwide.