Political Science: State and Local elections + Data

Gubernatorial Election Data

Algara, Carlos; Sharif Amlani, 2021, "Replication Data for: Partisanship & Nationalization in American Elections: Evidence from Presidential, Senatorial, & Gubernatorial Elections in the U.S. Counties, 1872-2020"
This directory contains two data resources. First, this directory contains raw U.S. county-level electoral data of: 1) presidential elections from 1868-2020, 2) U.S. Senate elections from 1908-2020, and 3) gubernatorial elections from 1865-2020. Secondly, this directory contains all replication files for the manuscript "Partisanship & Nationalization in American Elections: Evidence from Presidential, Senatorial, & Gubernatorial Elections in the U.S. Counties, 1872-2020" published in Electoral Studies.Data is in Rdata format.

Social Explorer
1790-present. This site combines data from the U.S. Census of Population and Housing & the American Community Survey (ACS) with a user friendly interface, allowing the creation of maps & statistical tables. Census Tract boundaries are available back to 1940. Now also includes data on U.S. elections, business pattern, environmental summary, health, religion, and crime; the UK and Canadian censuses; Irish religious data; World Development Indicators, and EuroStat. Presidential, senatorial, congressional and gubernatorial election data comes from Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections and is available for map presentation only.

ICPSR: United States Historical Election Returns Series
The United States Historical Election Returns series was developed by ICPSR and was supported by grants from the National Science Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities. ICPSR's holdings of historical election data cover the years 1788-1990 and consist of several discrete datasets that contain county- and state-level returns for all elections to the offices of president, governor, United States senator, and United States representative. ICPSR distributes three major general election data collections: United States Historical Election Returns, 1824-1968 (ICPSR 0001), General Election Data for the United States, 1950-1990 (ICPSR 0013), and United States Historical Election Returns, 1788-1823 (ICPSR 0079). ICPSR 0001 contains state files that list county- level returns for over 90 percent of all elections to the offices of president, governor, United States senator, and United States representative for all parties and candidates from 1824 to 1968, as well as special elections and regularly-scheduled contests. ICPSR 0013 consists of national files containing county-level returns for elections to the offices of president, governor, United States senator, and United States representative from 1950 to 1990. Also included in this collection are returns for one additional statewide office, usually attorney general or secretary of state, for those states that elected state offices in the period 1970-1990. ICPSR 0079 is an extension of the general election collection (ICPSR 0001) and covers the preceding years, 1788-1823, going back to the occurrence of the first elections held under the United States Constitution. This collection contains data for elections to the offices of president, governor, and United States representative for the years 1788-1823. These data, recorded chiefly at the county level, consist of only about half of the possible returns for elections in this period and are less complete than the body of returns available for the years from 1824-present. The Candidate Name and Constituency Totals, 1788-1990 (ICPSR 0002) data collection provides the names of candidates, candidates' political party name and ICPSR party ID code, and the number of votes received by each candidate for elections between 1788 and 1900. The data include county-level returns for over 90 percent of all elections to the offices of president, governor, United States representative (1824-1990), and United States senator (1912-1990). The dataset also includes returns for approximately two-thirds of all elections to the offices of president, governor, United States senator, and United States representative for the period 1788-1823. It contains returns for all parties and candidates (as well as scattering vote) contesting general elections and special elections anywhere in the nation. Information is also included on elections for which returns are available only at the constituency level and therefore not found in the county-level files of election returns in the other collections. Beginning with the 1968 elections, returns for one additional statewide office were included. Also included are 1990 data from the District of Columbia for United States senator and United States representative. Data is downloadable in ASCII, SAS, and SPSS formats. ICPSR 0013 is also available as tsv and pre-formatted for R and Stata.

United States Gubernatorial Elections, 1776-1860: the official results by state and county by Michael J. Dubin
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West JK2447 .D83 2003
ISBN: 0786414391
Publication Date: 2003-01-10
This reference work provides complete returns for the gubernatorial elections by state and county for the period 1776 to 1860. This information is nowhere else available in one volume, and much of it has been pieced together through years of research of original sources of many kinds.One section contains the statewide returns by year. The next section, arranged alphabetically by state and then by year, provides the election returns, along with each candidate's name, party, number of votes and percentage of votes. Explanatory footnotes and source information accompany the returns. Researchers familiar with Mr. Dubin's massive work on Congressional elections (a Booklist Editors' Choice) will understand the scope, detail, accuracy and uniqueness of this new work.

Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
Aggregated Official Results of Past Elections (Maps & Data) with state-level data tables for President back to 1824 and Senator and Governor back to 1990. Detailed national results for major and minor candidate for U.S. presidential election from 1789 to present. Also has state-level data tables for Presidential primaries back to 1992. Site also has information on candidates, parties, electoral vote total, maps, charts, and more.

American Governors and Gubernatorial Elections, 1979-1987 by Marie Marmo Mullaney (Compiled by); Roy R. Glashan
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West JK2447 .M85 1988
ISBN: 9780887363160
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Updated ed. of: American governors and gubernatorial elections, 1775-1978 / compiled by Roy R. Glashan.
American Governors and Gubernatorial Elections, 1775-1978 by Roy R. Glashan (Compiled by)
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West JK2447 .G53
ISBN: 9780930466176
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
This book "contains facts about the nearly 2,300 individuals who have served as chief executive of the states and territories since the Revolutionary times, plus statistics for past gubernatorial elections in all 50 states.

OurCampaigns
OurCampaigns is a crowdsourced, comprehensive political data resource whose mission is to collect and make available information about all official elections, historical, current and ongoing. Our primary focus is on the United States, but we also intend to collect all international election data as well.

MIT Election Data and Science Lab (MEDSL) Election Returns Dataverse (MIT)
Includes precinct-level data for Presidential, Senate, House, state, and local elections starting with 2016. Also includes constituency-level Presidential, Senate, and House returns back to 1976 and county-level returns for the Presidency back to 2000. Also available via website and Github. Data is in .tab format.
Harvard Election Data Archive Dataverse
Includes Precinct-level election data for U.S. State for elections from 2002 to 2012 and 2014
Record of American Democracy (ROAD), 1984-1990
provides precinct-level election data for all federal and state races at and above State House for 1984-1990.
OpenElections
Project in process, with some data available. "Our goal is to create the first free, comprehensive, standardized, linked set of election data for the United States, including federal and statewide offices."

Daily Kos Elections' statewide election results by congressional and legislative districts
In this repository, you’ll find Daily Kos Elections’ complete collection of statewide election results by congressional district and state legislative district. At the top are two summary tables: the first for districts that will be used starting with the 2022 elections, and the second for districts that were in use from 2011 through 2021. Below that, you'll find tables with links to detailed calculations for each state.

State Legislative Elections

State Legislative Election Returns, 1967-2016: Restructured For Use
Restructures the State Legislative Election Returns (1967-2016) dataset so that the contest is the unit of analysis. Collected by Carl Klarner of Klarnerpolitics.
State Legislative Election Returns, 1967-2016
Dataset contains state legislative general election returns from 1967 through 2016 for all 50 states. There are 378,345 observations, each of which represents an individual candidate. The years 1967 to 2010 contained in the last edition of the dataset have been extensively cleaned, and 2011 to 2016 has been added. Collected by Carl Klarner of Klarnerpolitics.
State Legislative Elections, 1971 - 2018
This repo contains results of general elections to the lower house of the state legislatures over the last five decades, from 1971 to 2018. Candidate information from Carl Klarner's State Legislative Election Returns dataset was used to compile these election results from 1971 - 2012. For each state, we only extract elections using Single Member districts
State Legislative Historical Elections prior to 1970
Collected by the Harvard Election Data Archive.
State Legislative Election Returns in the United States Series (ICPSR)
The State Legislative Election Returns series was developed by ICPSR and was supported by grants from the National Science Foundation. A major purpose of this data series was to extend detailed study of electoral and governmental processes in the United States to the state and local levels, and to encourage comparative analyses of voting patterns, political party competition, and partisan control between different states or regions. ICPSR's holdings of state legislative election returns data cover the years 1968-1989 (ICPSR 8907), and 1993-1994 (ICPSR 2019). The datasets include election returns at the district, county, constituency, and candidate levels for state legislative races contested in all 50 states in the United States. Included also are special election returns, when provided as part of the official returns for the states (ICPSR 2019), and primary election returns for 16 southern and border states in the period 1968-1989 (ICPSR 8907).

Almanac of State Legislative Elections by Kari L. Ramsby; William Lilley III; Laurence J. DeFranco; Mark F. Bernstein
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West JK1967 .A77 2008
ISBN: 0872895513
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
The Almanac of State Legislative Elections, Third Edition combines detailed, state-by-state, district-by-district election results for the nation's 6,744 state legislative districts with a wide range of socioeconomic data for each district to present a comprehensive portrait of voting and demographic trends across the nation. This new edition features data from 2000 through 2006, covering the most recent trends and updates to district lines. It includes extensive state-by-state analyses and 290 maps of the district boundaries. Inside, researchers will find: An introductory overview of the major trends in all 50 states and their legislative districts In-depth data from each state showing the voting results and demographic changes in each of the districts from 2000 through 2006 Concise and informative essays on each state that offer context to the data presented and provide valuable historical perspective and analyze current major electoral and demographic changes Over 290 color maps showing district boundaries for state House and Senate districts, plus detail maps on urban areas and population that show how much each district has gained or lost in population during the period Statistical tables for each state, showing district-by-district population changes, along with up-to-date (2006) demographic data measuring average household income, degree of higher education, percent above/below the poverty line, and ethnic/racial mix This unique and valuable work is the only resource to bring together district maps, elections results, and demographics for all 50 states in one source.

U.S. State Legislator Gender and Race/Ethnicity Data (2005-2019)
Contains aggregate data on gender and race/ethnicity of U.S. state legislators by state/year for 2005-2019, compiled from KnowWho directory data.

MIT Election Data and Science Lab (MEDSL) Election Returns Dataverse (MIT)
Includes precinct-level data for Presidential, Senate, House, state, and local elections starting with 2016. Also includes constituency-level Presidential, Senate, and House returns back to 1976 and county-level returns for the Presidency back to 2000. Also available via website and Github. Data is in .tab format.
Harvard Election Data Archive Dataverse
Includes Precinct-level election data for U.S. State for elections from 2002 to 2012 and 2014
Record of American Democracy (ROAD), 1984-1990
provides precinct-level election data for all federal and state races at and above State House for 1984-1990.
OpenElections
Project in process, with some data available. "Our goal is to create the first free, comprehensive, standardized, linked set of election data for the United States, including federal and statewide offices."

Judicial Elections

Judicial Elections Data

Judicial Elections Data Initiative
Data for elections to state supreme courts or courts of last resort (1990–2010)

Ballot measures, referenda, and initiatives

A ballot measure is the generic term that includes initiatives, referenda, and propositions. In California, ballot measures are placed on the ballot in one of two ways:

The California legislature can pass a bill to place the measure on the ballot, which is required to amend the state constitution, approve bonds, or amend or repeal a statute passed by a previous ballot measure.
Any member of the public can place a measure on the ballot through a petition signed by the number of registered voters that is equal to 5% of the total votes cast for the governor in the last election.

An initiative is a ballot measure that seeks to pass, repeal, or amend existing statutes or Constitutional provisions.

A referendum is a ballot measure that seeks to repeal all or part of a bill enacted by the legislature within the last 90 days.

Once an initiative or referendum has been successfully met the qualifications and been placed on the California ballot, it is called a proposition.

California Quick Guide to Propositions from the Secretary of State
California Ballot Proposition Guides - UC Berkeley Institute of Governmental Studies
These guides contain concise descriptions of ballot measures including non-partisan analyses, official voter information, background materials, pro-and-con websites, newspaper articles and editorials, opinion polls, political endorsements, and financial contribution records.
California Ballot Propositions
Full-text of California ballot propositions from 1911 to present. It provides the summary of the proposition, title, years and voting results.
San Francisco Ballot Propositions Database
Searchable database of San Francisco ballot propositions back to 1907. From the San Francisco Public Library
San Francisco Voter Pamphlets
Full text pdf, from 1907 - present.
California Constitution Article II - Voting, Initiative and Referendum, and Recall
California Attorney General: Ballot Initiatives
The ballot initiative process gives California citizens a way to propose laws and constitutional amendments without the support of the Governor or the Legislature. Provides a simplified explanation and an initiative search by Initiative Number, Title, Proponent, Official Ballot Number, word or phrase. Also includes links of Active Measures, Inactive Measures, and measures that have Qualified for Ballot.

A ballot measure is the generic term that includes initiatives, referenda, and propositions. In California, ballot measures are placed on the ballot in one of two ways:

The California legislature can pass a bill to place the measure on the ballot, which is required to amend the state constitution, approve bonds, or amend or repeal a statute passed by a previous ballot measure.
Any member of the public can place a measure on the ballot through a petition signed by the number of registered voters that is equal to 5% of the total votes cast for the governor in the last election.

An initiative is a ballot measure that seeks to pass, repeal, or amend existing statutes or Constitutional provisions.

A referendum is a ballot measure that seeks to repeal all or part of a bill enacted by the legislature within the last 90 days.

Once an initiative or referendum has been successfully met the qualifications and been placed on the California ballot, it is called a proposition.

San Diego Office of the City Clerk: Election Results (Historical to Date)
Includes: Candidate Races and Results by Office; Propositions: Ballot Questions and Results by Decade (from 1900 forward); Voter Pamphlets and Election Results by Election Date (from 1970 forward)

A ballot measure is the generic term that includes initiatives, referenda, and propositions. In California, ballot measures are placed on the ballot in one of two ways:

The California legislature can pass a bill to place the measure on the ballot, which is required to amend the state constitution, approve bonds, or amend or repeal a statute passed by a previous ballot measure.
Any member of the public can place a measure on the ballot through a petition signed by the number of registered voters that is equal to 5% of the total votes cast for the governor in the last election.

An initiative is a ballot measure that seeks to pass, repeal, or amend existing statutes or Constitutional provisions.

A referendum is a ballot measure that seeks to repeal all or part of a bill enacted by the legislature within the last 90 days.

Once an initiative or referendum has been successfully met the qualifications and been placed on the California ballot, it is called a proposition.

NCSL Statewide Ballot Measures Database
NCSL’s Statewide Ballot Measures Database includes all statewide ballot measures in the 50 states and the District of Columbia, starting over a century ago. New measures are added as they are certified and identified by NCSL staff. Each entry contains the ballot number, title, type (legislative referendum, initiative, popular referendum, other), status, and summary. Covers all states and goes back as far as 1902.
Referenda and Primary Election Materials (ICPSR 6)
This data collection contains election returns at the county and state levels from the mid-nineteenth century to the late twentieth century for primary and general elections on statewide referenda, constitutional amendments, state House/Senate joint resolutions, and initiated measures. The ballot language of each measure is also included. County-level returns for most gubernatorial, senatorial, and congressional primary elections from 1910 to the present are documented as well.
Initiative & Referendum Institute - Direct Democracy Data
The database lists all statewide initiatives to appear on the ballot since the first statewide initiative in Oregon in 1904. This list does not contain information on issues placed on the ballot by state legislatures, commonly referred to as "legislative measures."

Local Elections across the United States

Mayoral Elections Center (US Conference of Mayors)
Includes a database of city elections results back to 1999.
Mayoral Elections, 1950-2014 - Replication Data for: "Off-Cycle and Out of Office: Election Timing and the Incumbency Advantage"
Data on nearly 10,000 mayoral elections in cities over the past 60 years
County Government Elections, 1990-2014 - Replication Data for: Politics in Forgotten Governments: The Partisan Composition of County Legislatures and County Fiscal Policies
We assemble an original dataset of 10,708 elections in approximately 298 medium and large counties over the past 25 years.
Big-City US Mayoral Elections, 1990-2011 - Retrospective Voting in Big-City U.S. Mayoral Elections
OurCampaigns
OurCampaigns is a crowdsourced, comprehensive political data resource whose mission is to collect and make available information about all official elections, historical, current and ongoing. Our primary focus is on the United States, but we also intend to collect all international election data as well.
California Elections Data Archive
CEDA users "can access a statewide database of local election results" for California counties, incorporated cities, and school and community college districts. Includes reports for 1995-[present].
A New Nation Votes
a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy, 1787-1825.

California Elections

California Secretary of State - Elections Division
offers voter registration forms, information on absentee voting, California voting system and statewide election results from 1996 to present. Has information on current ballot initiatives plus the complete ballot pamphlets back to 1996.

Statement of Vote. General Election by State of California
Call Number: Reference CA Docs, Geisel Floor2 West S400 V6
(earlier editions in CA Docs, Geisel Floor2 West)

California Elections Data Archive
CEDA users "can access a statewide database of local election results" for California counties, incorporated cities, and school and community college districts. Includes reports for 1995-[present].
Field (California) Poll
A statewide survey regularly since 1956 of opinions and attitudes on social and political issues, including election campaigns. Conducted 4 or more times per year. Data Files suitable for analysis; no tables. See "help" below for more information.
JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California
The largest online archive of California election results. Records currently include state legislative races since 1898, and federal and the statewide offices since 1849.
Voter’s Edge California
A partnership between the League of Women Voters of California Education Fund’s Smart Voter and MapLight.. Provides past California election results from 1998 to [present], a directory of contests, information on voting registration, and contact information on California State Legislative Offices.
Follow The Money
provides data on campaign contributions in state elections. The information includes contributions by sector, by political party, labor and business. From the National Institute on Money in State Politics.
California Voter Foundation
provides voter guide for California election, information on voting registration, a directory and map of California voting system and news.
Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC)
Election Summary includes reports of big donations for each election. Site also provides information on lists of Commissioners, overviews of California campaign disclosure rules, state lobbying rules etc.
Statewide Database (SWDB)
maintained by the Institute of Governmental Studies at UC Berkeley, the redistricting database for the state of California. SWDB collects redistricting literature, copies ofcases that are related to redistricting and census enumeration, redistricting news and much more. The raw data via the Internet is free of charge
UCLA Online Campaign Literature Archive
Since the 1920s the government documents section of the UCLA Library has built and maintained a Campaign Literature Collection, containing printed ephemeral election materials distributed by campaigns for local, state, and federal offices and ballot measures affecting the Los Angeles area. In response to changes in election campaigning brought about by the internet, in 1998 the Library also began to capture and preserve copies of campaign websites.

San Diego Elections

San Diego Office of the City Clerk: Information, Elections, Lobbying & Economic Interests
offers election results, economic interests' disclosure, petition and ballot measure processes, and other election related links.
County of San Diego: Registrar of Voters
Includes past election results and
campaign finance disclosure reports;
voter Information (registration status and link to cancel registration, polling places, sample ballots, districts, request mail ballots); and pollworker information
Vote411: California
Type in your address, find your polling location and a guide to your local candidates and issues. Sponsored by the League of Women Voters Education Fund.
San Diego Office of the City Clerk: Election Results (Historical to Date)
Includes: Candidate Races and Results by Office; Propositions: Ballot Questions and Results by Decade (from 1900 forward); Voter Pamphlets and Election Results by Election Date (from 1970 forward)
San Diego Office of the City Clerk: Campaign Financial Activity
Data is derived from campaign statements on file with the City Clerk.
City of San Diego Public Portal for Campaign Finance Disclosure
The Public Portal contains financial information provided by candidates and committees. It can answer questions about who is contributing money, who is receiving money, and how it is being spent.