Market Research & Entrepreneurship: Analysts' Reports

Your guide for entrepreneurship & market research resources for Lab-to-Market classes & other activities using UC San Diego Library resources.

Private Sources: Analysts, Pre-packaged Risk Analysis

These resources cover background on industries or companies from a risk analysis perspective.

IBISWorld Industry Intelligence
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. IBISWorld’s market analysis includes industry overviews, performance and outlook, competitive and regulatory environment, major competitors, operational conditions and key statistics. The U.S. risk reports discuss market risk, including industry life cycle, growth potential, economic sensitivity, etc. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
EMIS Intelligence (formerly ISI Emerging Markets)
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, statistics and political news on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage. NOTE: new interface coming mid-August, 2024!
Refinitiv Workspace
Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. RW is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
RW is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.

NOTE: When you register for Refinitiv Workspace to do market research and company research, here are the licenses to ask for: Workspace for Students; AMR add-on for Students. (AMR="advanced market research" package).

Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
Passport GMID is a product from Euromonitor International that provides reports and statistics on international consumers and markets, including details about consumer market segmentation, industry forecasts, consumer spending and attitudes, and macroeconomic and business trends. It's also a great source to download demographic information to show timeline trends. Coverage is global (200+ countries).

Global Insight
Useful resource for same-day news analysis of country risk. Our subscription includes the automotive module, plus the U.S. macroeconomic dataset and global country risk research & data..

Fitch Country Risk & Industry Research
Fitch is leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts. Formerly Business Monitor. Login in with campus Single Sign On (SSO) credentials.

EIU.com
Economist Intelligence Unit provides news analysis and country risk articles. Some may prefer the look and navigation of http://www.eiu.com/ucsd.

RKMA Market Research
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) compiles handbooks of market research in business to business, healthcare and consumer markets. The reports include market size, sector analysis, forecasts and other statistics. Annually/biennially updated.
The latest reports include:
Business Source Complete
These reports include industry overviews, SWOT analysis, competitor analyses, and much more for selected industries.
Gale Business Insights
- This link opens in a new window
These reports include industry overviews, SWOT analysis, competitor analyses, and much more for selected industries.
Mergent Online
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports.
Winmo (formerly Advertising RedBooks)
This database contains background information on advertisers and advertising agencies and fields related to applied marketing. Topic Search leads to current awareness articles by leaders in the field. Access from on campus is limited to two at a time. If you are on campus and get the 'login' screen, try again in a few minutes.
Sports Market Analytics (formerly SBRnet)
Sports Market Analytics provides "one-stop" access to market research, consumer demographics, and industry news related to a broad range of sporting activities, events and facilities. Coverage includes US and international sport, along the dimensions of professional and college sports, leagues, events, athletes, fans, sponsorship, branding and merchandise (apparel, footwear, equipment), broadcast and social media, mobile sports, attendance and trends. There are some directories with links to sports management education programs and employment resources.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Includes reports, news sources, and other in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, global economies and industries, and trends.
SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) and Simmons LOCAL data packages. (formerly known as SimplyMap).

e-books with Technology Background

SpringerLink
This e-book collection frequently has academic titles that explain technologies and their implications.

Taylor & Francis Collection
Includes the CRC Press and other e-book collections are primarily based in the sciences, and are great for getting up to speed quickly on a technology. Note: Not all CRC titles are licensed by UCSD.

IEEE Xplore 1988-present [+ archives for select publications.] Full-text access to IEEE & IEE/IET transactions, journals, magazines & conference proceedings, IEEE standards, and IEEE e-books (later titles on Wiley). Browse by journal title, conference name, author. Citing articles of IEEE papers is a feature.
Tip: The default in IEEE Xplore is to search metadata only, which includes abstracts, indexing terms, and bibliographic citation information. To do a full-text search, go to the Advanced Search page and select "Full text & Metadata" from the drop-down list.

MIT Press Direct
3K+ e-books on a wide range of disciplines

O'Reilly for Higher Education O’Reilly for Higher Education includes more than 38K computer science, engineering, business book titles from 200+ publishers. Plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, expert playlists, audio books, and more. Includes pre-publication titles published by O'Reilly. Access with Single Sign On after choosing University of California San Diego from the list of institutions. Note: Access is limited to current students, staff, and faculty at the University of California campuses. No community use.
Titles are html only.
Replaces the Safari Tech Books Online collection.
ScienceDirect Full-text searching across the ebooks, journals, and major reference works published by Elsevier. Note: We don't license everything from Elsevier. If the article or chapter is not accessible, check UC Library Search for a print copy, or to request the item from another library.

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry Articles on all topics in chemistry and chemical engineering, including production, uses and economic aspects for many important chemicals. Good complement to Kirk-Othmer.
Very Short Introductions
This 700+ title e-book collection from Oxford University Press is renowned for getting to the point on a variety of topics.

Wiley Online Library Full-text searching across the ebooks, journals, and major reference works published by Wiley. Note: We don't license everything from Wiley. If the article or chapter is not accessible, check UC Library Search for a print copy, or to request the item from another library.

Direct link to UC Library Search
Use this to look across any topic and any e-book platform and print format.

Commercializing successful biomedical technologies: basic principles for the development of drugs, diagnostics, and devices, 2nd ed. by Shreefal S. Mehta
Call Number: Cambridge e-book
ISBN: 1108186696
Publication Date: 2023
The second edition of the popular title, covers drugs, devices and diagnostics. This book provides a step-by-step introduction to the process of commercialization, offering a vision of how to create a realistic business plan that can develop your ideas into approved biomedical technologies.

Looking for more?

Try these subject searches in UC Library Search:

The Economics of Big Science: Essays by Leading Scientists and Policymakers by Hans Peter Beck & Panagiotis Charitos, eds.
Call Number: e0book
ISBN: 3030523918
Publication Date: 2021
The essays in this open access volume identify the key ingredients for success in capitalizing on public investments in scientific projects and the development of large-scale research infrastructures.

Market Research & Entrepreneurship: Analysts' Reports

Hoover's Company Reports

Associations

Market Research Highlights

Private Sources: Analysts, Pre-packaged Risk Analysis

e-books with Technology Background

Looking for more?